We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in Nha Trang, super friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ha Van Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ha Van Hotel to your Saves list
Ha Van Hotel
3/2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang 058, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great find in Nha Trang, super friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed just 1 night having arrived on the early train from HCMC and then departing just before midnight on day 2 to travel north. On arrival at around 0630 the receptionist was happy to check us in to our room so we could freshen up. Breakfast is good and included with the room, also a free welcome drink at the roof top terrace was a nice touch. Although we couldn't keep our room for a late check out we were able to use a shower before we departed, the staff were only too happy to accommodate this request. In summary, a great find, good location, staff made us feel very welcome!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    252
    67
    9
    12
See reviews for
90
315
90
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations for a beach town, and for being located close to the beach. It was clean, friendly, and a very good value, especially when contrasted with some of the many other hotels we stayed at during our two month Southeast Asian journey. The location is quite good, and while not directly on the beach, only a few minutes from the water and from the heart of food and nightlife.

And if you stay here, there's a great Vietnamese restaurant down at the end of the street next to the hospital where they grill tasty skewers of meat over charcoal every day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The best value for money hotel in Vietnam!! I stayed there a few weeks back and I was sad to leave!! The Ha Van is well located....a nice walk into town, close to the beach and just near the best cafes, restaurants and bars in Nha Trang. The rooms are simple, but very spacious, very pleasant, relaxing and clean with very comfortable beds. The rooftop bar is great to unwind in with a quiet beer or cocktail if you dont want the loud music and hurly-burly of the nearby bars. Its beautiful up there!! The breakfasts up there were absolutely delicious!! The best compliment is for the staff, especially Miss Hang, Trang and Ngoc. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always happy to help with airport transfers and day trips, or even just a chat!! I'll miss you ladies the most!! Very surprised they all havent been poached by the big Hotels further up the beach, such is their personality and professionalism!! I couldnt recommend this place more, allthough i'd hate to lose my best kept secret in Nha Trang!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed just one night for a stopover between train trips, and was so glad I booked Ha Van.
Super clean, comfortable beds, all amenities and a really good HOT power shower - just the ticket after a nine hour train ride.
Breakfast was excellent on the roof top bar, and considering the proximity to the rowdy bars, it was so quiet and secure.
Friendly, helpful staff, and thank you Nicolas for all your correspondence prior to my arrival.
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Choose a corner balcony room, so nice to sit out and get a good sea breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We absolutely loved Ha Van Hotel, as a family of 4 we stayed in 2 rooms and were impressed by the cleanliness. The rooftop bar and restaurant was a stand out, the breakfast each morning was delicious and the staff were very helpful when we asked about things to do. Thap Bar Spa was recommended to us and was very different but a fun experience, it involves mud baths, hot pools and water jets. It was a little bit out of town but well worth taking a taxi out there and having some fun and relaxation! Vinpearl Land was absolutely amazing, so much fun, awesome water park with no queues, just take the big cable car over the water to the island. The local markets are also worth a little look, you may need to bargain a bit as cruise ships often send passengers there for the 'vietnam experience' who dont mind paying 100 times the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingosuites, Owner at Ha Van Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Madame,

Thanks for your glowing review and your description of the thing to do in Nha Trang (Mud Bath - 4 Islands Boat Trip). Our team is very grateful that you took the time to review our city.

As ever, our team is trying the best we can to welcome our guests the way we would want to be welcome if it was us travelling. We not perfect all the time for all our guests, but we are trying hard! Thanks a lot!

Nicolas
Ha Van Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Fantastic location, very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are nice but a bit noisy (traffic and other bars can be heard at night time) but for the price paid you cannot complain!!
The breakfast included on the rooftop bar is amazing. Best breakfast I have had in Asia, the chocolate banana crapes are to die for!!
Would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingosuites, Owner at Ha Van Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Monsieur,

Our team have been delighted to read your review. Thanks for taking the time.

We hope that one day you will be back and Nha Trang and stay with us!

In the meantime, have a safe end of trip and please accept our best regards.

Nicolas and the fantastic team at the Ha Van Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Very comfortable room, great location closed to everything. Receptionists was very helpful and always greeted you with their smiles on face. They arranged tours very easy and quick ..never try force you at all. Very nice rooftop bar on top. The best value hotel in Viet Nam. Will highly recommend to everyone!! Thanks so much for great service!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingosuites, Owner at Ha Van Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Madame,
It’s been a long time we haven’t response to our reviews but after all those busy months (last 5 years really) with kids (3), travels, opening of new businesses (Yen’s Restaurant, La Parisienne cafés and just plain laziness (or fatigue?) we felt that our guests deserve a little bit more attention after the great reviews they have written about our hotel and our staff.

Your review has been a great joy to read. But for our staff, particularly our receptionist team, what you have written is a (re)validation of their excellent work over the years. Miss Hanh, Miss Trang and Miss Ngoc deserve so much credit for being competent, nice, quick, and efficient and, more importantly, being very friendly and understanding our guests. If our hotel has been a success in the last 5 years, my tip of the hat to them and kudos for all our team, really, each section (Rooftop Lounge, Cleaning team, our 2 repair man, the La Parisienne team in the lobby, my wife...) they all deserve high praises.

That said, our hotel is certainly not perfect. We would like to have bigger rooms and our facilities could be more modern. The only thing we can say is that when problems arise (they always problems in a 36 Room hotel) is that our staff is quick to solve them. Our philosophy is that our guests are Kings and deserve to stay in a well-run hotel. They deserve the same qualities that we looking for in a hotel when we travel. Some of our staff, when in vacation, is also traveling outside the country (a rarity in Vietnam) so, over the years, they have acquire a very acute sense of what our guests are looking for. For that, we are very grateful of all our guests staying with us, it allow us to be good, free and better humans.

Thank you Madame! You’ve make our day!

Please accept our best regards,

Nicolas
Ha Van Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ha Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ha Van Hotel

Address: 3/2 Tran Quang Khai, Nha Trang 058, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Nha Trang
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2007, the Ha Van Hotel is Nha Trang's favorite budget hotel for discerning budget travellers. Low rate, clean & comfortable rooms and the best Rooftop Lounge of Nha Trang. Party every night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ha Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ha Van Nha Trang
Hotel Ha Van

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ha Van Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.