We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Yes Yes" means Maybe or No” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Ninh Van Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Six Senses Ninh Van Bay to your Saves list
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ninh Van Bay, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 4 nights to save 25%
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Yes Yes" means Maybe or No”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

To keep ist short...

+ Very friendly service people, always recognizing and smiling
+ Chosen Hill Top Villa was superior (embedded in jungle mountains totally quiet inlc. private pool - excellent to relax)
+ Breakfast was delicious, Dinner was fairly good, not as good as expected in such a high price hotel (Choice and variation was poor for people staying longer than a week)
+ Spa is highly recommended

- Very poor English language skills with personnel (This point killed lots of advantages; Staff brought wrong beverages, cocktails and menues; Complains were noticed ("Yes Yes"), but never followed up.)
- Asian communication style (People are afraid loosing face when they have to admit something; Also escalations were not executed due to Asian reservation - bottom line: Lot's of things we asked for, were never done)
- This is not hotel's fault, but must be mentioned: They have a garbage issue in the bay, which makes swimming and snorkeling an ugly endavour. (Garbage of all kind dumped by folks in Nha Trang is washed up in the hotel's bay. They work hard to pick up things, but temporarely the water looks like a waste dump)
- Diving was well organized, but dive spots are always on the same place piggybacked with local providers (Visibility okay, but only from 3-10m, below that everything is dead; very loud under water due to dozens of buzy boats on the surface)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, General Manager at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Katharina E,

Thank you for your candied review of your recent stay, to which we're pleased that you enjoyed the Villa, Food and our enthusiastic service minded Team...

However we were sincerely disappointed to read of your challenges whilst ordering beverages and the lack of follow-up, as clearly we have fallen below the standards we aspire to achieve. Please be assured that we will focus more attention to raise the levels of English and host proficiency in these areas...

The diving is organised through our preferred partner, which happens to be the best and most professional dive operation in Nha Trang as our guests safety is paramount. The dive locations are few and far between, so they can get busy during holidays.. We are always on the lookout for different dive sites, to which we hope to offer more choices to avoid further negative experiences...

Indeed we had some unsightly rubbish wash-up on the beach during your stay, to which we rapidly organised a team including senior managers to restore it back to its pristine state (which took approximately 30-45mins). To my recollection this has only happened on eight occasions since i joined the property two years ago, hence its quite a rare occurrence to say the least.. After all it would have been mentioned many times in past reviews, so i wouldn't stamp the resort as having a garbage problem

Whilst many of the worlds Oceans and Beaches are polluted, they don't all have a dedicated team immediately cleaning them...

Once again my sincere apology for the lapses in service, as this was truly regretful...

With sincere regards

Gary Henden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    78
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
95
376
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The very first time to stay at Six Sense hotel and resort and was amazed by its set up. It's a little bit ride from Nha Trang city to this resort because you need to take 20 mins car ride and another 20-30 mins boat. We couldn't realize we were heading to the resort until 5 mins away because all the villas and buildings are surrounded by the nature and you can't even see from far. We were greeted and offered cold towel and lemongrass drink, very refreshing!! Immediately, our personal butler led us to villa and introduced the entire area. The butler service in Six Sense is very helpful. You can ask them for anything and you just sit in the villa and he'd handle all. The entire resort was covered with trees and if you fancy about modern resort, this is not the place to come. If you are looking for quite place with family, this is the PLACE!! They grow their own organic herbs and vegi and you can enjoy them at the restaurant. The pool side restaurant taste was ok and PHO (beef noodle) was super expensive (250,000VND). But what do you expect.. this is six sense and you are on a private island!! I also recommend to go to the private beach picnic. They take you to a private beach with white sand beach... but not very clean because some locals also come here sometimes. Then, the boat will leave and come back 4 hours after. BTW, they also prepare food and drinks for you on the beach. My family and the couple friend all had a great time. On the way back to the resort, they can also take you to lobster farm, which is about 30% more expensive than the market. Just visit he farm for fun and no need to purchase anything. We also went to the rock side restaurant and the food is soooo~~ much better than pool side. This is absolutely a wonder resort to visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Xin chao SuperHyperJason,

Thank you for trying Six Senses resort and much thank you for chosing Six Senses Ninh Van bay! We are glad that you enjoyed every moment with us from the welcome drinks on arrival, to the picnic at private beach, and to the dinner at Dinning by the Rocks.

We wish you more pleasant stay with Six Senses resorts and hope to have a chance to welcome you back.

With best regards,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwood
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

As the reviews all say this is a top world class resort exceptionally well run by Gary [from Brum] and his amazing team from Germany, Sri Lanka and Philippines as well as all the locals. We spent hours talking to them all and hearing their wonderful stories.

Good restaurants, buffets, bars, beach and sea views.Great views great beach, great main pool but all rooms have a private pool as well.

Top spa, best we have had for some time, well run by a pretty lady from Philippines and lots to see and do in Nha Trang just a 20 minute speed boat ride away.

In view of the price you also meet some very interesting customers from all around the world.

The big issue is that this is a huge Estate, its over 2km from end to end, and you might be a long way from the main areas. There are bikes [ if you can ride] and your butler will get a buggy for you but if you like to walk it can be a distance.

Equally the best rooms are the water villas and rock villas, exceptional rooms with swim in / swim out piers and all with 2 rooms. HOWEVER to get there its 160 steps from the restaurant and 200 steps to the nearest buggy point! If you go say 3 trips a day, that's six return visits, so 1200 STEPS, many up and down..................its also over 100 steps to the main hill view restaurant, so on 1 day we covered 1400 steps........................it keeps you fit BUT be prepared and its not for young kids or the elderly.

However it is worth it!

Room Tip: Water villas and rock villas are sensational but be prepared for a long climb and long walks up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Xin chao peterah,

Greetings from Ninh Van bay!

Thank you for taking time to share your inpression with us. It is a huge pleasure to read your posting. We are happy that overal you were satisfied of your stay. It was indeed a bit of excercice to get to the villa but as you said " However it is worth it! ".

At Six Senses, we are more than a work place, we are a familly. Every host, despite of their nationality, truly live the work and seek for improvement. Thus your feedback will be an important encouragement for the good job of all the team.

We look forward to welcome you back to the sunny Ninh Van Bay.

Hospitable regards,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent in this secluded paradise part of our trip to Vietnam. I can simply say we loved it. Everything is perfect here. The beach bungalow we had was amazing and had a lot of privacy. The idea of having your own bike to move around the resort is great, and the breakfast is probably one of the best I've ever seen. I cannot forget about the experience of having a dinner by ourselves in a private beach, with our own private chef and waiter. Unforgettable!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Javitxus,

Thank you for choosing Six Senses Ninh Van Bay for your holiday. It is such a delight to read that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words have been shared with our team. We are glad you had enjoyed every moment of your time here specially the dinner at our private beach.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to learn that the time you had spent here was worth it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Hen gap lai! (see you soon)

With kind regards,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I swore to write a review for this amazing hotel, first time feeling like I was in paradise.

A lot of Americans have a negative connotation regarding Vietnam but I felt safe 100% of the time while traveling there. My girl and I left from Tokyo, transferred in Hanoi to Cam Rahn and hotel staff was their immediately (despite landing 45min early) to scoop us up and take us to boat to get to hotel island. Hanoi was really chaotic, no organization so I recommend Going through Ho Chin Minh if you can, foods better there also! Make sure to have a 2.5 hour layover as you have to collect your baggage and recheck in at both airports no matter what.

Upon getting scooped up, had ice cold bottled water, and towels that smelt awesome. Drove about 30-45min towards the harbor for Six Senses. It's a beautiful ride and get a taste of what Cam Rahn city is all about.

Getting to harbour, you get this signature tea (ginger, lemongrass, and honey) iced and is super fresh. They grab your bags, put on speed boat and you head to hotel on a 20 minute boat ride. It was night time and it is such a surreal moment sitting In front of boat staring at the stars with someone you love going to paradise.

When pulling up, hotel manager and staff are there to great you at dock that's beautifully lit up, you see fish swimming and the bar dimly lot and you can tell immediately you're in paradise. I forget my hotel manager at the time since it's been awhile but we went in beginning of June and he was a class act, best manager I've ever had at any hotel I've stayed at in the world. Anyways, you get assigned a butler, they take you on golf cart around hotel and you get a mini tour.

We stayed at the beach villa and upon pulling up, you hear the nature all around you and you know you've found it, paradise. Butler showed us all around, showing us how to work everything and then asks for passports and you sign and that's the check In process. I think this was my favorite part, no waiting to check in, you're in your room and it's not even a thought process, as in hotel knew exactly how to make me forget about the world.

My girlfriend and I order food, eat upstairs to stair over the trees and into the ocean, it really makes you feel like you've found zen. Room service was amazing! We ate a lot of it throughout the trip and you won't be disappointed with whatever you get.

Waking up, you are hit with this beautiful blue, one I've never experienced before and it gets you excited just to be awake in this moment. I got up and went upstairs for the view and it's probably the most beautiful view you'll ever experience.

Fast forward to breakfast buffet. Unfreakingbelieveable!!!! They have Vietnam dishes followed by comfort breakfast food and everything is amazing. I tried jelly fish soup for the first time and it was actually really delicious. I also got my favorite ginger lemongrass drink from check in there. Manager walks around and your butler finds you somehow and they ask what you have planned for the day. They let you know about hotels specials that night and then disappear. It felt like someone was always there for you while you're there but never being intruding, they have service down to the "T"!

Hotel offers movie nights, free cocktails and BBQ on low tide nights on the beach. Guest mingle and drink and it's just a relaxing vibe.

We went hiking every morning followed by a swim in the beachc and then in our private pool. Everything's spread out enough where your neighbors aren't bothering either. We listened to music and did whatever in our backyard and it always felt private and safe.

Snorkeling a blast, recommend doing the trail when it's high tide otherwise I feels to close if you try and go vertical (I'm 6'3").

Planning a trip to mainland with guide was simple and inexpensive. Guide was informative and then takes to to a recommended meal, we went to seafood place where you pick it, and they cool it fresh. Really delicious.

Ill definitely be coming back sometime in the future, the worst part about this experience was leaving this hotel and leaving Vietnam, was such a. Surreal experience.

Thank you to hotel staff and manager, you run such an amazing hotel and it was awesome to experience top notch service!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Xin chao Handdown,

Warm greetings from Paradise! ;)

Your review has just made our day!!! We are impressed by your very descriptive sharing which allows others travelers to understand more about our beautiful country as well as our resort concept. At Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, we love the nature and would like to include it in every aspect: villa, food, activities... We do hope that our guests can feel and love it as we do.

Dear Handdown, by reading your posting, we truly believe that you enjoyed your stay with us and had opportunity to refresh and relax. We wish to have you back in a too not distant future.

Please feel free to contact our Reservation team at reservations-ninhvan@sixsenses.com as it will be our pleasure to help you plan your next visit either at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay or at other Six Senses properties.

Best regards from the Management team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in a Rock Villa in July and found this eco friendly resort to be just beautiful. The accomodation was fabulous, and the views just so calming and relaxing. The service was simply second to none. Our butler Nguy, was one of the nicest people I have ever met. His smile lit up the place and nothing was too much trouble.
We loved the snorkelling, bike riding, fishing and sunset cruises were wonderful and would really recommned eash one - ask for Cong, he was the best host.
Breakfast was, we both agreed, the best we have ever had anywhere. The fruits, juices and pastry selection were amazing, also a great selection of oriental food - we tried noodles and sushi, pancakes and egg station. It was so good we didnt need lunch - the only holiday ever where we skipped it!
Dinner and drinks were expensive, but the menus are displayed on the website so we did know this. My only reason for not giving the resort 5 stars was that with the prices being charged, the food didnt always hit the mark. Portions were extremely generous, and the buffet meals, which we had about 4 times, gave a fabulous selection and again there was a lot of it. I think our biggest bug bear was that food was often overcooked and this was a shame as the resort delivered so highly on every other level.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Xin chao Quinzen,

Greetings from Ninh Van Bay!

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking time to post your review. If you like the eco aspect, Six Senses Ninh Van Bay is indeed a place for it. We are delighted to know that you much enjoyed our activities: snorkelling, bike riding, fishing and sunset cruises. We also have few hiking trails from where you can have impressive panorama over the bay. That is maybe for your next visit. ;)

We would like to take your food contribution seriously and we will sit down the team and will seek for an improvement.

Dear Quinzen, thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back to sunlit Ninh Van Bay.

With best regards,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Six senses at Ninh Van Bay proved to be one of the best resorts we've ever experienced.

You arrive by boat and if you haven't seen it on the map, you'd sware you are on an island (it's a peninsula)

Built around a beautiful crescent shaped bay with a 1,5km water front, this cleverly designed resort really excelled in bringing together privacy, indulgence, chic sustainability and a perfect integration with natural conditions.

You can chose, between the resort's 60 wooden villas (each one with its own pool) which kind of ambience you do prefer:

- a Beach Villa, surrounded by a dense forest canopy, with direct access to the beach?

- A Hilltop Villa, with spectacular sea views, filtered by treetops?

- Or a Water Villa built into the beautiful round-shaped granite rocks, with private steps to the sea, to enjoy the pristine coral reef in a never-ending snorkeling promenade?

The food is awesome and the overall quality of service is amazing. Your very own private butler is always there to answer every need. Ours, Mr. Hon, was indeed (as manager Gary Henden brilliantly put it) "always on".

We had the chance of being first in a Beach Villa and then in a Water Villa. Both were fantastic but I must confess: the iconic Water Villa #5 just took our breath away!

Congratulations for your spledid job!

Room Tip: Try, if you can, WV#5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Xin chao Wanderer19612011,

Sunny greetings from Ninh Van Bay!

What is a lovely Sunday starting with a lovely review from you. Thank you for sharing it with us and also for mentioning our location, facilities and service. It has just made our day!

Please know that we have shared your words with our team which we believe will be a strong encouragement for their hard work.

Dear Wanderer19612011, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and hospitality of Ninh Van Bay in the too not distant future.

Kind regards,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Senses Ninh Van Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Ninh Van Bay

Address: Ninh Van Bay, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 Business Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Ninh Van Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay sits on a dramatic bay, with impressive rock formations. Golden sand beach and towering mountains add to the sense of being at one with nature. The family friendly resort’s architectural style incorporates Vietnamese traditions, with all 58 accommodations being personal pool villas.The restaurants at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay serve international and local favourites complemented by the best local seafood, including lobsters and king prawns. There are wonderful spaces for lounging with drinks from the wine cave, or healthy fresh juices and favourite libations from the bar.Six Senses Spa at Ninh Van Bay is a sanctuary for all the senses, with traditional Vietnamese treatments and Six Senses Signatures to suit every individual guest. In addition to the breath-taking treatment rooms, the spa is equipped with yoga pavilion, a gymnasium, hair salon and spa retail gallery.In addition to blissful relaxation, guests can also enjoy many activities and excursions on water, under water at the coral reef and on land by joining a cultural or wildlife adventure; or making use of the resort's facilities and wide variety of sporting equipment. The resort is also a perfect setting for beautiful wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Six Senses Ninh Van Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Ninh Van Bay
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay Hotel Nha Trang
Ana Mandara Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.