We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, fantastic resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Ninh Van Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Six Senses Ninh Van Bay to your Saves list
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ninh Van Bay, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 4 nights to save 25%
Ranked #4 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, fantastic resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having stayed at the Six Senses Hideaway near Hua Hin we opted to try the hideaway at Ninh van Bay for a change. The logistics of getting to the resort are a little convoluted (Flight to Amsterdam, then to Bangkok, then Ho Chi Minh City, then Nha Trang before a road transfer and boat trip to the resort) but the effort was more than worth while.

Staying in a Hill top villa the concept of the hideaway becomes very clear, with seclusion guaranteed.

The facilities of the resort are exceptional, the food and drink divine and the welcome and friendliness of the hosts sensational.

I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Lord_Anderson,

Thank you very much for posting a top ranking review for Six Senses Ninh Van Bay on TripAdvisor.

It is definitely a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback especially when you had prior stay in our sister property which is also a fantastic place. We will share your comments with the Food & Beverage team as well as with other teams.

We wish you a less convoluted but safe journey back home. Hope you have more great stays with Six Senses Resorts and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    79
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
96
376
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Highly recommend this resort for honeymooners. Would not be much fun for families. Our Hill Top villa was fantasic, very private and secluded amongst the trees. The hike up and down the steps was good exercise as we mostly did nothing but eat and drink!

As it was our honeymoon, the resort organised a free romantic cruise around the bay for us with champagne and food. A nice touch!

Food is fantastic - caters for asian and western tastes, and was of very high quality. A bit expensive! Would recommend the in villa BBQ, an experience worth doing once during a stay.

Only disappointment was we were eligable for a free villa upgrade but when we arrived they obviously forgot and only told us half way through our stay. At that point in time we didn't want to move. For a five star resort they should get this sort of thing right first go. Also the bed was a bit lumpy and needed to be replaced.

Spa was fantastic - we felt like royalty.

Room Tip: Only pick a hill top villa if you dont mind 40 or so stairs a few times a day. Good exercise but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sixsensesninhvanbay, The Management team at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Skramit,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the privacy of our villa as well as the food, and especially the in villa BBQ. Your valued comments have been shared with our hosts and will serve an encouragement to all of us.

We are sorry to your stay with us is less than perfect. As for the free upgrade for honeymooners, please understand that this is subjected to availability. However, we will revise with Reservation and FO team to ensure that all guest profiles should be properly gone through before their arrival. As for the bed... we are on process to replace.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and hope to have another chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards from sunny Six Senses Ninh Van Bay.

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After spending much time planning a trip to Vietnam and considering staying at Six Senses and the Nam Hai we decided to stay at both wih 6 nights at Six Senses. We booked a Rock Villa which was located amongst the rocks right above the water at the end of the resort. The villa was absolutely beautiful with amazing views out across the water to Nha Trang and the other side of the resort. One of the highlights of the stay was the Beach BBQ. This could not be faulted. The relaxing boat trip to the secluded beach then the table set up right on the waters edge followed by the most amazing "BBQ" I have ever had. We also had dinner at Dining by the Rocks which was also a wonderful experience high up on the hill overlooking Nha Trang and the resort. Again the whole experience was just amazing! We could not fault any meal from breakfast to dinner at this resort. I don't understand what others have criticised the resort regarding food.The resort itself was beautiful and rustic and blended perfectly with the surrounds. Although the beach was available to us we mostly chose to swim in the pool at out villa however when we did swim at the beach the water was beautifully clear with amazing coral and fish to look at. The beach was always clean and only once did I see a plastic bottle that looked like it had washed in from across the bay. We spent some time looking through the herb and vegetable garden as well which was also well worth some time to do. The staff were always very friendly and our Butler, Christmas was a delight to deal with. The Assistant Executive Manager, Gary Chan, was always engaging and up for an interesting chat which we always enjoyed. I totally recommend this resort for those looking for somewhere peaceful and relaxing however be prepared for some "gentle" exercise if you are not staying right beside the main facilities. I would most definitely return to Six Senses!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs do not stay in a Rock Villa or Hill Top Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Love everything . Nice villa , first night we stay at hill top villa (08) abit too far from the beach and the restaurant but still ok for us cos every villa had a private pool ! we swim at our own pool most of the time and it was very private .......... The service was best our butler take care of every thing we need...... The food was good too but we only get to stay 2night it was too short ..... For sure we will go back again and we will stay longer

Room Tip: Hill top villa is good more private the view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Took an airport transfer from the airport to the boat dock. At the boat dock greeted by the staff of six senses and offered wet flannels and fresh fruit juices. Pleasant area to sit and wait for the boat to Ninh Van Bay. The toilet facilities were very unpleasant which did not give a very good first impression so having never stayed with six senses before I was slightly concerned as to what we were going to.

We boarded the boat for a very pleasant trip to Ninh Van Bay. What a sight it was, absolutely amazing. We received a very friendly greeting by staff and GM then we were taken off in buggies. We stayed in a rock villa and the buggy only went so far. We then had quite a long hilly trek to our villa on foot, I was in heels, hot and getting quite irritated. However, once we got to the villa and saw the location all was forgiven.

Our villa was totally secluded and had amazing views over the sea, truly stunning. Our infinity pool was directly over the sea. The villa itself was rustic but lovely. I don't like outside bathrooms and this villa had an inside bathroom with the most stunning views over the sea and for those that like the outdoor bathroom an outside shower. My only complaint would be that there was no aircon in the bathroom and dressing area so we kept our clothes in the air conditioned bedroom in our suit cases.

We walked or cycled to the restaurants/bars. The view of the beach walking from the rock villas to the restaurant were truly amazing. The bar had the most fantastic views over the Bay and the cocktails served were wonderful. Complimentary hot snacks were served in the bar in the evenings which was a nice touch.

We ordered a lot of room service. The food was always very good, however not always what we ordered due to English communication and often slow to be delivered. But hey we were on an Island in Vietnam so allowances must be made and the staff did their utmost to rectify any mistakes.

The Butler service was sporadic and having now stayed in other six senses resorts I do feel that the Butler service is dependent on which Butler you are assigned.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant and the buffet selection was excellent! In fact having stayed at other Six Senses Resorts since the breakfast served at Ninh Van Bay is by far the best. Service was very friendly and efficient.

Overall we had a very relaxing few days in this resort. It was peaceful, secluded and in the most stunning of settings. If you are looking for total rest, relaxation and privacy in an amazing location I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: A rock room or a pool room have the best sea views. The Rock Rooms are totally private. The beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a lovely stay here in September. We were booked into one of the sea villas which was lovely. Spacious, comfortable, beautifully presented and a great location - only a matter of 20 metres from a lovely beach and coral reef.

After the first night, I mentioned that the ceiling fan had a bit of a squeak and our butler was right on to it. As it turned out they would need to do something more than just lubricate it so she arranged for us to be upgraded to one of the rock villas which was a nice surprise. Superbly located on the point and built into the rocks with the most amazing views. We were particularly smitten with the shower built in to the cliff and the horizon pool.

Food and service at the restaurants was very good and varied, happy hour was great value. Only slight negative, was a reduced wine list at the restaurant on top of the hill. Quite understandable as it is perched on top of a steep climb (brilliant views) but as they didn't have the Pouilly Fuisse I had mentally checked off for that occasion I was a bit miffed. They offered to go and get a bottle which was nice but the magic was "gone"...Made do with a chardy from Bourgogne instead.

We enjoyed pretty much everything about the place. The day spa was excellent and they even offered us a 2 for 1 if we came back on the Sunday which we duly accepted!

The location was fabulous - a remote beach, very private, pretty much anything you would want on hand. Loved the coral reef just out front as there was some amazing fish varieties - incredibly curious - so very special.

But as with most places the real key to any of these places is the staff and the team at Six Senses from our butler through to the guy who cleaned the beach were all friendly and professional. Happy to have a chat if you wanted but equally adept at being unobtrusive.

Loved the blessing ceremony by the local Buddhist priests we witnessed - it was explained that this happened twice a year so we were lucky.

Room Tip: Beach villa 4 was in a terrific location but Rock Villa 1 was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms were so beautiful and romantic. Outdoor shower and plunge pool, stunning views, indoor sauna, and it was just such a relaxing place to be. Service was excellent, we genuinely never felt pressured or bothered. Expect to pay western prices for food and drinks - eating there was just like eating out in Australia at a decent restaurant. I would love to go back one day. My recommendation is relax there for a few days, read some books, go on bike rides. The only thing I wasn't that impressed with was the massage - it was v expensive by Vietnamese standards but not v good for a vietnamese massage (I love vietnamese massages normally). I think I had the Sapa herb bath, which was ok but would't rave about it. The food and cocktails were amazing. We had an intimate dinner for two (a degustation) booked in the wine cave - the food and the mood were fantastic - a true highlight of our trip to vietnam.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Senses Ninh Van Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Ninh Van Bay

Address: Ninh Van Bay, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#3 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#6 Business Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Ninh Van Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay sits on a dramatic bay, with impressive rock formations. Golden sand beach and towering mountains add to the sense of being at one with nature. The family friendly resort’s architectural style incorporates Vietnamese traditions, with all 58 accommodations being personal pool villas.The restaurants at Six Senses Ninh Van Bay serve international and local favourites complemented by the best local seafood, including lobsters and king prawns. There are wonderful spaces for lounging with drinks from the wine cave, or healthy fresh juices and favourite libations from the bar.Six Senses Spa at Ninh Van Bay is a sanctuary for all the senses, with traditional Vietnamese treatments and Six Senses Signatures to suit every individual guest. In addition to the breath-taking treatment rooms, the spa is equipped with yoga pavilion, a gymnasium, hair salon and spa retail gallery.In addition to blissful relaxation, guests can also enjoy many activities and excursions on water, under water at the coral reef and on land by joining a cultural or wildlife adventure; or making use of the resort's facilities and wide variety of sporting equipment. The resort is also a perfect setting for beautiful wedding ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Six Senses Ninh Van Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Ninh Van Bay
Six Senses Ninh Van Bay Hotel Nha Trang
Ana Mandara Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Ninh Van Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.