We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT EASY TO MAKE RESERVATION” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vien Dong Hotel to your Saves list
Vien Dong Hotel
1 Tran Hung Dao Street, Nha Trang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Nha Trang
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NOT EASY TO MAKE RESERVATION”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Today, I have tried to contact Reservations + Receptionist 03 times by telephone & 2 emails for a reservation in August. Sent emails to their given email adresses=> No answer. Could not contact their Reservation staff after 5pm. Receptionist could not do anything to take my reservation because" Sales & Reservation did lock their rooms??? She can only help " if reservation is for July". It means that she only handled bookings within 03 days. She didn't even ask my contact. Poor service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

In the end we stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks, mainly because of the location. Just walk through the pool area and across the road and you on the beach, which is a great area. You can walk along the beach or the adjoining pathway and we felt quite safe.
Our main gripe was internet connection, some kind member of staff moved us 3 times but it did not make any difference. And it seems to be shut off every day at 6pm anyway. The kind man who moved us was really the only friendly person we came across.
At first we found staff very surly and unfriendly but they improved attitude towards us in the end.

The rooms are a good size with a balcony none of which overlook the pool only a corrorgated iron roof. Breakfast was the worst so far in Vietnam. I thought the pool was great, its very long and quite deep although have another pool at the end which is suitable for children. The lifeguard is really miserable. Local school children come to the pool every day for lessons about 4pm. They are adorable, so well behaved.

We eventually found a good shopping centre which includes a supermarket. Go out back of hotel to the road turn left and walk about half a mile.
The Novotel has a very good small gym, sauna and steam room, and wow the staff are so friendly; which came as a bit of a shock.

I would also add that we never had a good meal in Nha Trang although we kept trying. We had come from Ho Chi Minh and now are in Hanoi; both places have great food, so don't understand.
The sailing club is ok but expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the back of the hotel, noisy road in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had a very good stay at Vien Dong hotel last month with friends. We booked deluxe rooms.
Pros.: Room is clean, nice, well-arranged. Hotel's quite near the beach, but you have to walk for a few minutes. Breakfast is good. Electric control system at room is very professional.
Cons.: Room is a bit small.
In conclusion, for 3 stars standard the hotel is a nice experience.

Room Tip: Deluxe room booked by travel agency is much cheaper than by yourself. Room at the end of the corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend and brother for 2 nights this past February. We really wanted a place with a pool and the hotel sold itself as a 4 star hotel and the prices on Agoda.com were great.

To start with the service was awful, the Internet was down so they couldn't find our reservations and threatened that we would have to pay the next day of they couldn't get the Internet working!!! Staff were rude in general or maybe just miserable working there.

The room was pretty nice in the newer side with big HARD bed, tv, fridge etc. nice big bathroom. All seemed fine until I found a HUGE cockroach in the bathroom! I understand they exist all over in Asia but not in a 4 star hotel!

My brothers room on the old side of the hotel was a standard double. He said it was okay. Found a few bugs in the BR, but the weirdest thing was that when he got home one night it smelt like someone had taken a huge dump in the middle of the room!!! Very strange!

The pool isn't great, it's huge but dirty and totally over chlorinated. All our eyes were pretty red after swimming in it. The food at the restaurant beside the pool is awful, stay away!!!

Breakfast buffet that is included is very bad. No service or smiles from staff. The power randomly shut off during breakfast and no explanation!

Overall please do not stay here! It was awful. Stay at the "Golden Sea Hotel" instead. Check out my review there!
Good luck!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at the Vien Dong Hotel and found it very clean and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and bathroom had a shower over the bath. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure was great.

The pool was huge, clean and quite old. There were plenty of sun loungers and unbrellas in the pool area. You only need to walk through the pool area up a laneway and you are at the beach road. No one came around to get drink orders of food orders. Shame really as it could be very profitable.

Breakfast was so so. Nothing special but quite a few choices.

The hotel is about 2 blocks from the backpackers area. Our room had a balcony facing the pool. It was very quiet and we had no traffic noise. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

I got our laundry done over the road at the travel agent.

Very happy with our choice of hotel in Nha Trang.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel has recently undergone a refurb, however if you book a cheap room off agoda you will get a reasonable room in the old section, which is what we had the first night, on the way up from breakfast we stumbled upon the newer area and some suites, we made enquiries and paid 900,000 dong (£57) /night for our next 3 nights. the rooms are fantastic the best you will stay in a 3 star hotel, the pool area has not been done up yet hence the 3 stars but with the beach nearby who cares, the location is great just off the beach road and ideal if you like a stroll into town (what town), Na Trang has got a great beach and two bars The Sail club (the best) and Luisiana, after that the town has nothing to attract, personally I would give the place a miss.

Room Tip: we had the suites on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I checked into this hotel on the 29th of Jan 2012 and checked out on the 31st.
My girlfriend and I wanted to have a pool and the rate of $50 USD per night seemed reasonable since it sells itself as a 4 star hotel.

I dont know who is responsible for the rating, however, this hotel is probably a 2.5 to 3 star max. and this was in the newer part of the hotel.

Beds were hard and pillows lumpy and the included breakfast was lacklustre. internet was down the first day and sketchy at best on the second.

I wouldn't expect to see roaches at a 4 star, but my girlfriend closed the bathroom door and a giant one was staring right at her... I also found baby roaches in the room near the telephone.

All of this on top of rude reception when we checked in. Their internet was down and didnt have our booking which we booked through agoda.com. I provided them with the booking number and they said that if they didnt have internet by tomorrow, i would have to pay them direct.... um no! i had prepaid online... I said let me get this straight... you dont have internet and its my fault...

Anyway we were happy to leave! If this hotel could learn a little customer service, they may fair a lot better.

Whomever awards hotels their star rating should look into this!

Room Tip: the deluxe rooms are in the newer wing of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Address: 1 Tran Hung Dao Street, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vien Dong Nha Trang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vien Dong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.