We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street food but restaurant presentation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal

Galangal
1a Duong Biet Thu, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 260 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Cuisines: European, Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Street food but restaurant presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to Galangal after wandering around the Night Market area (tripped over it to be honest) and we were glad we did.

Fresh produce, friendly service and open kitchens where you could see the love going into the cooking.

Soups and stir fries were so tasty and fresh and we will be back for more

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Come hungry or bring a friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

For lunch I had the lunch special which is on offer from 10am to 4pm for $9 US.
It consisted of 6 courses. They were seafood salad, beef and noodle soup, a seafood pancake, stir fried crocodile with vegetables, steamed rice and a fruit platter. I expected the courses to come one after the other but no not so. With the exception of the fruit platter the food all arrived on a round compartment dish. The food was just delightful and such great value. You would expect to pay well over $10 just for one of the dishes alone in Australia. As I said come hungry as there is plenty to eat or share it with a friend. To finish the fruit platter was beautifully presented with mango, watermelon, dragon fruit and pineapple. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Eggplant with pork mince AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Wow had the eggplant dish. Blown away as a satay lover this is a must. Also great spring rolls and vegetarian options too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Street Food not worth the Price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Street Food buffet is not worth the price, for value and quality. Being able to eat as much as you can does mean it is worth eating. We found the stations of food very poor examples of the great street food we have eaten through Vietnam. You are better off sitting in a restaurant and paying a cheaper price for better quality

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent street food buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We ordered the street food buffet. was $225000 dong for whatever you wanted off the street food menu, served to you a la carte style.

The appetisers were really fresh and interesting and also included standard favourites like rice paper rolls, spring rolls. We each had a soup as a main - full of flavour. We were too full for dessert.

Would recommend this restaurant as we enjoyed it a lot. Standard menu looked good too although we didn't sample this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.