We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, helpfull and reliable staf!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel to your Saves list
Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel
27A Hung Vuong, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 131 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, helpfull and reliable staf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

First: Arriving at Nha Trang airport and not knowing which taxi to take is a desaster! Drivers are almost fighting to get you in your taxi, shouting that evey taxi asks the same price (580.000 dong!!!!!). Really excited and almost agressive, they will tell you that for this money they will also bring you back in a few days, once you'll have finished your visit! Luckily, we found out that there are Mini vans for 60.000 Dong per person. Van will drop you in citycenter Nhan Trang (40/45 min) and from there take meter taxi for last few km's to your hotel!

Than the hotel: Nice staff, clean rooms, breakfast across street in dive Rainbow Diving school. They took care of our taxi return to airport for cheap (contract!) price. Hotel is 5 minutes from beach, nice location, do'n t hesitate, very good deal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    134
    43
    12
    8
See reviews for
30
175
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed in Nha trang 4 times, twice at Hoang Hai. This hotel was ideal for me, It was close to everything I needed, the beach, city centre and bars. The staff were friendly and the rooms were nice and clean. I will be staying there again in the future. Great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was quite pleased with my two night stay at the Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel. My twin a/c room cost $16 and was good value. The twin beds were comfortable. The a/c worked well and there was a fan, as well. The bathroom had an actual shower stall. My room was on the 8th floor, which made me very, very grateful for the elevator. Hotel staff were more than pleasant, spoke good English, and were helpful. The location is good -- only a couple of blocks from the beach and near many restaurants. All in all, an excellent deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent 1night (and a half) at this hotel and couldnt speak more highly of the experience. We were allowed to check in around 5:30am after arriving on a sleeper bus from Mui Ne, and were only charged for half a day the following day when we checked out at 6PM. The rooms are clean with good views of city (or beach depending which option you choose). The staff were very accomodating and helped us with any enquiries that we had. Awesome location with a very short walk to beach and good restaurant area. All in all we would highly reccomend others to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I were very happy with our stay the Hoang Hai and it was great value for just $16 a night! Very clean rooms, a great shower, less then a minutes walk to the beach, its a central location and close to the man restaurant area, ocean views, and the staff were very friendly. They even helped us contact our next hotel to fix a problem we had with our booking.

Really enjoyed our stay. Definitely recommend this place is you want a quality hotel at a cheap rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

seriously? with all the reviews, one would think that this hotel would be superb especially if you're on a strict budget. but with all the budget hotels around this area, we're quite surprised with all the positive comments.

for 20 bucks from a hotel nearby, we got a good breakfast package on the rooftop and the hotel was ok: the room was spacious and the staff were courteous.

as for golden sea hoang hai:

rooms:
we decided for an upgrade and when we saw the room, yes, it was spacious with the seaview and that's about it. the glass door does not close fully leaving a big space for mosquitoes to come and feast on you. shower would sprinkle everywhere.

quality:
i guess for 20 usd, you're not supposed to expect anything but considering that if you walk around the area, you will definitely find better deals for the same 20 bucks plus breakfast, if you're lucky. they didnt offer free breakfast and clearly, this hotel is just for you to "crash in."

staff:
im normally warm towards people who work for the hospitality business but the receptionist during that time was just really cold. it was surprising. everyone else seemed to be there just because they really dont have a choice.

all in all, i dont recommend this hotel. i suggest one to walk around and ask. especially for an area like this, you will get good hotels which would have the equivalent stars but would do a little more than expected.

Room Tip: if you walk a bit further, around two blocks on the left, you will find better budget hotels and a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenSeaNT, Manager at Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Seriously 1 star?
Dear Mr/ Ms... we, are quite upset to receive your 1 star review after all efforts we have made to give you as well as other guests the most comfortable experience. We really appreciate reviews on Trip Advisor and use them as basements to improve our services further. However, there are some points in your review we need to clarify as follow:
1) About breakfast, it's published and popularly known on our website as well as other booking pages that our prices don't include breakfast. So far, many guests have stayed with us regardless of breakfast option and they are quite satisfied with us because of other factors like good location, new equipments, cleanliness and good services.... I agree that there are many other hotels providing room with breakfast at 20$ but I'm also certain that they wouldn’t be as good as us in term of equipments or location....
If breakfast is the first priority for your room review, then our hotel may be not a good option. However, regarding many other important factors like location, equipment... we are definitely one of the most ideal options in Nha Trang.
2)About the mosquitoes, the rain season is coming and we have been applied mosquitoes spraying regularly to prevent this problem. We will also check the glass door in your room again.
About the shower, it is generally good and one of the most satisfied thing in our hotel . We will have a check at your room to fix the possible problems.
3) About staff, they are usually nice and helpful. But as human being, they maynot in a good mood when you stayed here and make you feel unpleased. We are sorry for that.

In conclusion, Trip Advisor is one of the most important means of communication with our guests, and a 1 star review is really serious with us. After reading and analysing carefully your review, we find that your 1 star rating dosesn’t base on every necessary factors making up of a hotel' service and apparently underrates our services and efforts. We maybe not the best choice on your requirements, but we hope you will have a fairer judgment as this has huge impact on our reputation. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant location, 1 minute walk from beach and everything else! Awesome room with sea view. Bathroom was new, could spend an hour in the shower :-). Tv had great channels! For 17$ a night this place is the best your going to get for that sort of cash! Stay here.
Andy + Ida

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel

Address: 27A Hung Vuong, Nha Trang 57000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 131 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated at the center of Nha Trang where there is a variety of entertaining activities and tourism services such as restaurant,shopping,speciality,and expecially Diving club...Our seaview and fully equiped rooms are offered at reasonable prices.We strongly believed that our hotel will satisfy you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoang Hai (Golden Sea) Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.