We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world! True paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas

Save Saved
You added An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ninh Van Bay, Nha Trang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 108 hotels in Nha Trang
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Out of this world! True paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

What an amazing place!! Words can't describe how beautiful and peaceful it is at An Lam...from the moment we arrived we were treated with such kindness - greeted with a glass of champagne and a cake ...and then returned to the main land by private boat...it was a treat from start to finish. Whilst on the island the service was again outstanding - our butler Mai was the kindest and most helpful person ever! Really she could not have done anything more for us! The villa itself was great - everything had been thought of! And the restaurant was also outstanding with amazing food and drink available at any time of the day. A must for anyone who wants to enjoy the finer things in life, in a stunning location!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, Manager at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear LGR1986,

We are really happy to hear your comments and you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our service on arrival and our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon at the resort.

An Lam Villas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    24
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
197
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited An Lam in June last year and it was so good we decided to retun this year.
There has been a management/ownership change since our last visit but the level of service has not changed, in fact we think it was better than last year.
We wanted just to relax and unwind while we were here and it is the perfect place to do that.
It was my husbands birthday while we were here and Chef Mathew organised a special dinner for us that that we had on the deck out by the pool, we did have to move due to some rain but the meal was fabulous, as was all the food we ate. The breakfast offered great choice between Asian and Western cuisine, fabulous Eggs Benedict with house cured pancetta that was to die for. I became a lover of the iced Vietnamese coffee and thanks to Tran (our butler) I was given a lesson on how to make this and am now making this at home.
We had 2 spa treatments during our stay which we're so much better than on our last stay.
A big thanks to Ursula and Mathew for being great hosts.
A very special thank you to all the staff especially Tam, Vinh, Huong, Hang, Phu, and the ever smiling Phuong, you welcomed us back with your warm smiles, good conversation and great service, it was lovely to see you all again. (Forgive us for naming all of you, as you all deserve congratulations on providing wonderful service.)
Our biggest thank you is for our Butler, Tran. Words can not express how grateful we are to you for providing such wonderful service. My husband was very unwell on the day we were to leave and we needed to book in for an extra night. Tran (who was suppose to go on leave) stayed the extra night to make sure my husband was looked after, her advice and care ensured that we were ready to leave the next day.
We felt like we were leaving good friends behind.
We'll be back next year, can't wait to see you all again.

PS Hope you had a great Birthday Ursula xx

Malcolm and Sue xxxx

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room. Lagoon or Beach if stairs are a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, Manager at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Sue B,

It was great to see you back at the resort and enjoy your stay with us again.

We Really appreciate your comments for the staff and the resort in general. I have passed on all your comments to the team especially your butler Tram.

We hope to see return again to enjoy another stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you here.

Regards,
An Lam Villas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I only stayed here for two nights but it was one of the best experience I ever had in my life! Our room was very clean and huge! My favourite area was the living area in outside of our room and with a great sea view. Food was fantastic and especially the beef was so good!
Staff were always smiling and were very very helpful. Especially Ursula and Binh (our butler)gave us a lot of useful information and they booked for hotel and transport for us in our next destination too.
I would love to go back there when I return to Nha Trang!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, Manager at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Nobi N,

Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your villa and Binh your butler. I have passed on your kind comments to Binh, Ursula and the rest of the team.

We certainly hope you do come and stay with us again next time you are in Nha Trang. I hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in Vietnam.

Regards,
An Lam Villas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed for 5 nights in a lagoon villa. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough to make your stay out of this world. The personal butler is a fantastic touch and they think of everything you need before you do. Ursula and the team are second to none and I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, Manager at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Heronlesh,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed our butler service.

I have passed on your kind words to Ursula and the team and we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards,
An Lam Villas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at An Lam villas with the wife in May. We stayed 3 nights in a Hill Rock villa and the pampering and relaxing setting was constant throughout our stay. Staff were friendly and truly did go out of their way to make us feel comfortable, everyone from housekeepers to expat staff seemed very proud of what a special place they have created there, rightly so.

Food was brilliant and our highlight of the stay was the Theme Night BBQ on our last night, the widest and most delicious spread of seafood I have ever had!

Highly recommended and we will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, Manager at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Asian Viking,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay and the seafood night. I have passed on your kind comments to the team.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you back here again soon.

Regards,
An Lam Villas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked this property with a view to doing nothing for a week - we simply wanted to relax, enjoy the warm weather and not feel 'guilty' that we weren't missing out on all the 'sights'.
The An Lam villas met the brief perfectly. The staff were excellent (Tran, our 'butler' was there to meet our biggest requests), the food was outstanding (the seafood evening was brilliant), the beach was superb (I read someone whinging in a review about the quality of the sand - really, how peurile - a prelapsarian dreamer!), the swimming was very good and the amenities readily available - canoes, etc.
The Villa rooms were huge (we had a Lagoon Villa), but without doors...if this makes you feel uncomfortable, beware! That said, we didn't feel anything but secure. during the stay, with the only intrusion an errant frog...There were some minor issues with soft furnishing starting to show some wear, however these were trivial issues in the overall picture.
We used the gym several times, took the long bush walk, went to the Spa (excellent value massage with friendly staff) and enjoyed the experience.
The management are readily available, and both Zok and Ursula are charming, friendly hosts.
This is a quiet resort - if you want brash and loud, the Vinpearl resort may suit you. If you want luxury, quiet, great food and the opportunity to unwind, I fully recommend the An Lam Villas.

Room Tip: Its worth considering a Beach or Lagoon front villa for the view and accessibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, Manager at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Wayne,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to Tram your butler as well as Ursula and Zoc.

We hope to see you back at the resort again in the future.

Regards,
An Lam Villas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

At first, I was planning not to write this review as I don't want to think about it, but it was still haunted and upset me every time I think about our honeymoon so I have to do it. An Lam was the final destination for our Vietnam Honeymoon Trip (after Halong Bay) that we would like to spend and splurge ourselves for 5 days. However, it was indeed my nightmare memories!

To be fair, the property is a nice, private resort with friendly staff, good food option. We love our rooms (Lagoon villa) as it is spacious and lovely. They even treated us like VIPs when we first arrived on the deck. However, our experiences had gone downhill -- and most of the bad rating is contributed to its professionalism, services (some good attempts, but nothing near 5-star resorts) and its ability to solve problems.

- Nice looking beach from the photo - but the sand was so rough with many rocks/- not a good white sandy beach to swim
- Poor coordination between sales and hotel staff: after our confirmation, we received a questionnaire asking about our preference (music, meals, etc) - which I think was a lovely touch except that I was asked 3 TIMES to do this questionnaire form (twice by the sales, and once at the hotel) and I did pointed out to them when I already sent back the email. This made me wonder if they ever take it seriously. To no surprise, nothing was specialized or customized as they were asking us in the questionnaire. --> I won't feel bad if they didn't ask me, but because they did set up my expectation - and failed miserably

- crisis management: on our 1st day of arrival, we decided to walk along the beach to see the nice sunset. Along the way, we saw a little pony nearby (~20-30 feet away)..but didn't think about anything. While I was taking picture of the sunset, I realized that the pony walked towards me..and I was a bit scared, (my husband still think s/he wanted to play with me), so I turned my back and that horse "BITE" me at my back! It took us the next 20 mins trying to distract that horse away (my husband waving camera and throwing rocks to distract it). It was a scary moment - and let me remind you that we were walking on the hotel property - the beach is pretty much in front of our lagoon!!! I understood that this is not a typical case (and probably i'm the first one) - although they get their doctor on site but the way they handled it was not that impressive. 1) manager came and apologize though some of her language suggested that I walked to the horse territory (but it is a public beach, still in front of hotel!) 2) they offer free dinner (which was supposed to be on the beach), but I was so scared, so I just barely ate my room service and spa (which was just ok) for this compensation 3) We talked to them the next day about that we do care to make our honeymoon memorable and how can they help us get a good experience. We didn't even ask for monetary value - all we asked were to make sure that we get to all activities we wanted - it was a good attempt by the hotel, but everything ended badly on the last day.

- awful services after you pay! - Because we had to leave at 6am for our flight, we checked out and paid everything the night before. We requested for a "BREAKFAST TO GO" and we paid $25/- per person. On the departure date, we were told 1) they had to change our car services because some mechanic issues (not too impressed given that we booked so long ago - but nevermind 2) HORRIBLE Breakfast TO GO - TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE- we felt cheated, and I personally felt mad because this is just show that their attitude of not caring for their guests after they paid (please see photo for yourself - 1 tangerine, 1 bottle of water and 1 sandwich - fish feeding bread + 1 thin sliced of chicken + butter). I felt like all my bad + ok+ somewhat good memories are now wiped out because of this sandwich! It was so bad that I decided to write a long note, and return this sandwich back to the driver 3) No communication from the hotel - I did write about my frustation with the breakfast, my contact, my rationale and also some thoughts on how I think this hotel can be improved - No action was taken from An Lam - that actually upset me even more.

- Butler services: good attempt to personalize and give you lots of attention, they are super nice, but honestly their english is not qualified so hard to understand and communicate our preferences as well as their knowledge and ability to suggest activities (like a concierge). For example, we booked a private lunch on an island + hike to waterfall - it was great in name, except that there was no water - because it was a dry season! - why didn't you tell me before so I can make informed decision? Also, it was a 40 min hike - and he didn't even tell us about that.

- Others: spa was ok, - not too great. They should improve on the spa quality because guests are willing to spend. I was planning to do it everyday, but after my first visit, I decided not to coz i didn't like it at all.

Overall, this hotel has a nice property, but I think it fails on its 5-star services. I don't want to give bad reviews, but I could not help feeling like a nightmare or horrible after thinking about our honeymoon. To the hotel, we might be just another honeymoon couples, but to us, this is THE ONLY honeymoon we had. We spent so much money and looked forward to this trip, but all I could remembered now was a horse bite, a bad ending of my breakfast to go and bad customer service that the front office manager never care to email or contact us (we addressed to them specifically and gave out our contact).

I hope they are doing better because it has a good potential, and it will be a shame or waste if they can't keep their services up to standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnLamVillas, Manager at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear NorCal1929,

I am very surprised to read your review considering your stay was well over one year ago. For the sake of our other valued guest I do feel the need make a few of your points clear as some of your points.

the area that entered with the pony is indeed private property and there are signs to indicate this.

The breakfast to go items were from your menu selection and I can assure you we bake the bread three times a day on the island and would never serve fish feeding bread to any of our guest.

The photo's you have posted claiming to be room service are actually your cooking class photo's as these items are only on the cooking class menu and the style of plates are only used for coking class. I'm sorry for your misunderstanding with this area of concern.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, As you can see by the majority of our reviews this is very unusual.

Regards,
An Lam Villas Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
10.2 mi away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
Romantic, Free...
Show More
11.5 mi away
Vinpearl Luxury Nha Trang
Vinpearl Luxury Nha Trang
#5 of 108 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
10.7 mi away
Novotel Nha Trang
Novotel Nha Trang
#8 of 108 in Nha Trang
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
9.7 mi away
Michelia Hotel
Michelia Hotel
#15 of 108 in Nha Trang
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
9.9 mi away
Sunrise Nha Trang Beach Hotel & Spa
Free internet...
Show More
17.2 mi away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#1 of 108 in Nha Trang
5.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas

Address: Ninh Van Bay, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#5 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#7 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the ultimate and unique experience at An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas. Situated in the picturesque Ninh Van Bay, An Lam Villas will indulge you with exquisite food, flawless service and its stunning white sand beach. Soak up the surrounding environment of tropical forests and mountains studded with massive granite boulders looking out over the SouthChina Sea. Slip away with a gourmet hamper or indulge with a therapeutic spa treatment - it's all about peace, privacy, and the ultimate holiday in authentic Vietnamese style luxury.Nha Trang City is located 300 km East of Ho Chi Ming Ciy and 25 minutes by car from the Nha Ttrang airport. An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas are located 10 minutes away from Nha Trang by speed boat. An Lam Villasserenityare on the lay side of Ninh Van Bay, with the Ocean in front of the resort and protected by beautiful hills and vegetation behind the villas.The An Lam Villas welcoming lounge and jetty is located 16km north of Nha Trang city centre. Here you will be met by our speedboat which will whisk to away to An Lam Villas, a leisurely 8 minute boat ride away. If you are arriving in Nha Trang, our hosts will greet you at Cam Ranh airport, 35kms south of Nha Trang, where they will assist you with your luggage, and bring you to the An Lam Villas welcome lounge. The boat transfers are included in your room rate. With a total of 35 private pool villas, our Beach and Lagoon Front Villas are set in exclusive, private locations with stunning views over the lagoon and Ninh Van Bay. An open plan layout is designed to take full advantage of the spectacular views and create an inviting indoor/outdoor ambiance. Set into the rain forest our elevated and private Hill Rock Villas offer tree-filtered ocean views. The three store layout provides a spacious sleeping area with king size bed set in the tree canopy; a large entertaining deck and living area where you can enjoy a private dinner cooked by your personal chef; and a substantial bathroom on the lower level. While you feel a million miles away from reality, we do not want you to compromise on comfort. Each villa has a personalized intimacy butler service to attend to your every whim, while rooms are fitted out with every modern convenience including ipod docking stations, wireless internet and full entertainment TV system. For those who want to forget about technology - you can wile away the hours in your hammock or sun lounge and discover how quickly you can adapt to the life of true busy relaxing . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas Hotel Nha Trang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage An Lam Ninh Van Bay Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.