We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Good Location, Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michelia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Michelia Hotel to your Saves list
Michelia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Pasteur - Xuong Huan Ward, Nha Trang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Nha Trang
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Good Location, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Mechelia is located at the quite end of the Nha Trang tourist strip which is what we wanted, we had a nice room with great beach and ocean views, the breakfast has a large variety of food on offer. We found the staff to be friendly, very helpful and always eager to please, on arrival one of the reception staff called 'Nam' gave us so much local info and indicated on our map where everything was. We higly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quality hotel away from the hustle and bustle of central tourist area of Nha Trang.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and it was worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheliaHotel, Manager at Michelia Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are glad to hear that ! I will share your comments with our staffs. I am sure this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. For your next stay please don't hesitate to come with us and we hope your next visit will be more pleasant as the previous one.
Best Regards,

Vo Hoang Vy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    131
    47
    17
    6
See reviews for
110
173
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The pool is lovely but there's about 16 sunbeds - nowhere near enough for such a large hotel - the beach is the same story, I got terrible sunburn because there were no free sunbeds/umbrellas and had to come in after just an hour. The location is ok, a bit out the way but only a 10-15min walk to the town. No offence to Russians but it's absolutely full of them and the ones that were there when we went were really rude, pushing in the queue at breakfast (and none of the staff stopped them), and just generally having zero manners - the other two western couples we met were moaning about them too!! The staff have really poor English levels which makes it difficult to communicate if you need to. We had 4 days in Nha Trang but went to a cheaper hotel closer to the city for the last two nights which was much nicer and better value for money.

Room Tip: The suites with a panoramic city view were amazing - a really good experience waking up to the sunri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheliaHotel, Manager at Michelia Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you so much for your review, I am so sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction and I hope you could accept my sincere apologies on behalf of all of us,
Regarding the location of the Michelia Hotel was commented that take 10 to 15 min walking to the town, we would like to assert that our hotel is just 2-minute walk away from the biggest market of the city “Đầm Market”, and just 5-minute walk away from one of the biggest and most modern shopping center “Nhatrang Center” on Tran Phu Street opposite the beach.By the way,we would like to inform that we have had English trainings for staff especially for Front of house staff who directly contact guests, and their English capacity did make progresses, but anyway not acquired efficiently just by some staff and may resulted in the similar inconvenience you experienced. About the sun beds on pool and beach , we are on the way to purchase more sun beds and umbrellas,
In the next coming ,I can assure you a most different experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Vo Hoang Vy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maleny Qld
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We got to reception about 6pm, were tired and thirsty. The receptionist was officious and that got us off to a really bad start. It's so easy for a hotel to give you a seat and cold drink while they get to know your accent and do the paperwork. We are on the tenth floor with a little balcony and good views. Nice room and no problems sleeping. There have been some negative comments about Russians staying here but we find them to be just other tourists like us. It is a big hotel so you may not always get a pool chair but the food and drinks are good. The bar will sell a decent light dinner like a burger or pizza while you enjoy happy hour. A review said they are tight on booze but we disagree. Look out for Phuong in the restaurant, she has excellent service skills.

Room Tip: Try to be up high with a view. Other reviews suggest it may not be quiet on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The staff was welcoming and accommodating. The room was clean and well appointed. It was by far, one of the best hotels we have ever encountered. The entire staff treated us as though we were honored guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Hotel is very modern, well situated close to the beach, the staff were outstandingly friendly and welcoming. Rooms bright clean and well serviced. We stayed 3 nights and were very well looked after. Pool area sumptuous. No complaint at all.
The majority of the clientele are Russian, who can occasionally seem downhearted.

Room Tip: We were on Level 6 with a sea view ... Level 8 tends to have a "back road view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were in Vietnam for 15 days. we stayed one week in Saigon and then went to Nah Trang. Our hotel in Saigon was cheap but we decided to splurge for Nah Trang.

When we were looking online we wanted to go for a high end (4 star or better) hotel and ended up debating between Michelia and the Sheraton. We ultimately chose the Michelia because the reviews said it wasn't all that bad (although a number were not so flattering) and the Sheraton charged more for the room and you also had to pay for breakfast and wi-fi, both of which were included at Michelia.

Well, what can i tell you, other than that if you want high end don't pay the higher cost of Michelia. The breakfast and wi-fi were fine but that's where it ends. The hotel is at the North end of the strip away from anything interesting that you want to see and do, and the rooms are ok but not clean.

We got in on our first day and my girlfriend, after finding crumbs, nail clippings and other small particulate matter on the floor, went down to ask the staff to send someone up to vacuum our room. Turns out the hotel does not have a vacuum cleaner. We never did figure out how they clean the carpets but assumed that once a month or so they must just have someone come in and shampoo them. Maybe nice just after it's been done but if you are staying there on day #28 of the month, it's gross.

It's really a matter of value for money. The $35/night place we were staying at in Saigon turned out to be way nicer than the $70/night Michelia. I still can't believe they don't have a vacuum.

Room Tip: We were with a group of people that had varying rooms on different sides of the building and differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorebank NSW
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Michelia is a rather large hotel and turned out to have decent rooms with a comfortable bed and an adequate bathroom, all fairly modern style,TV reception was just average with a lot of disruptions. The decor was a bit barren, however, which did not diminish comfort, and rooms were kept very clean.The staff was friendly, professional and competent. Buffet breakfast was very good, with a wide range of choices that would cater for any taste. Good gym and nice pool adds to the overall convenience. The hotel itself is a good 30 minutes walk to the main restaurant/entertainment area, so in the heat, a taxi is essential (~ 25 000 VD).
Can only rate them as average overall however because WIFI on the 8th floor was extremely poor on our first day and then ceased to exist altogether. A big no no nowadays for a hotel that brags with a **** rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelia Hotel

Address: 4 Pasteur - Xuong Huan Ward, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Michelia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Beach Front / North Tran Phu Street, Michelia Hotel is an ideal spot from which to discover Nha Trang. Only 40 km away, this 4-star hotel can be easily accessed from the airport. With the city's main attractions such as Alexandre Yersin Museum, Nha Trang Beach, Khanh Hoa Museum within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.The facilities and services provided by Michelia Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. Top features of the hotel include coffee shop, laundry service/dry cleaning, 24hr room service, bar/pub, shops.The hotel features 199 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each including coffee/tea maker, non smoking rooms, satellite/cable TV, in room safe, refrigerator. The hotel's Fitness Center, Jacuzzi,and Beach Front are ideal places to relax and unwind after a busy day. Discover an engaging blend of professional service and a wide array of features at Michelia Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Michelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michelia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.