We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and suite room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Summer Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Summer Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Summer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 C-D Nguyen Thien Thuat Street | Tan Lap, Nha Trang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 109 hotels in Nha Trang
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location and suite room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks in July. Location and staff were wonderful. Housekeeping was really good, cleaning the room promptly every day. Suite room with balcony was really a large room but it was really good and had a large bathroom. Had a sea view and street view. Only ate breakfast twice as it wasnt too great and not really worth going for, Used the pool early in the morning and late in the afternoon and it was very quiet. Good value for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    62
    25
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
52
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel was in a great location, 5mins from the beach and in the middle of everything but the hotel was just ok. We spent a bit extra on this hotel so we could use a pool if we wanted, but this wasnt the case, the pool was constantly bombarded with about 50 kids going crazy, we couldnt use it even if we wanted to. Also another negative the towels where stained everytime we got a new one which I wasnt that impressed with, also the hotel is quite noisy and seems to attract large tour groups who seem to scream everywhere they went throughout the corridors. Furthermore, room service was at 8 am not much of a lie in!!

On the plus side..
Great Location
Good Buffett Breakfast
Decent Rooms depending on which one you get.

Also a eating tip when in nha Trang eat in a place called Good Morning Vietnam- absoutely beautiful food and great pizzas if you want a change from vietnameese food

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington nz
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a suite room which was very nice, it was a huge room with great decor and furniture with a view of the sea. Also had a large bathroom with a big corner bath. We really enjoyed our stay in the room. Swimming pool was fantastic, not large but big enough and we never had to share it. Very clean hotel and swimming pool. There is a lovely bar upstairs with good view. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast had plenty of Asian variety, a bit limited on western options other than eggs. Only negative was the hallways could be a bit noisy, especially if you get a room by the laundry.

We did look at a superior room first which was OK but quite tight and we had seen better value for money in Nha Trang. But on Agoda for another US$12 we could get the suite which was really huge and very nice, definitely worth the extra $12.

The sail club is a must, on any budget, we always had a great meal.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite, you can have one with a balcony or without. Without balcony is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel is very near all the best resturants. The hotel is clean and the staff are polite and helpful. The beach is a ten minute walk. We did not have a room with a window view but the room was big and well appointed. Breakfast was good, buffet style that caters to western and Asian. Pool on top is small but adequate but there are not many sun loungers and limited space, get there early if you don't want a beach day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Nha trang is horrible. Like the costa del sol. However the summer hotel is clean and good value . Ten mins walk from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Booked a Superior city view room, 1.5 months in advance of stay. When shown to the room it was a very small room. 2 people with suit cases and your stepping over them, it did have a window with a city view. Returned to the desk and showed em my picture of the room from the agoda booking site - oh yes! sorry that room not available, booked out, "You have city view room". As it was Tet we sucked it up and stayed. Next day I was passing the room next door to ours and it was the one in my pic, half as big again. Beware there are 2 varieties of Superior city view room, if you dont get the right one throw a tantrum you might do better than us!
Apart from this hiccup, the hotel is ideally situated for Cafes and bars, short walk to the beach. The staff are very nice, the rooms cleanliness was OK. The resteraunt was good and the breakfast was great with a huge selection, freshly made pancakes-yum. If I had got the room that I booked it would have been great but unfortunately I didn't and it put a damper on the stay. If you get the right room great, if not just bearable. Probably wouldn't take the chance here again.

Room Tip: If you book on line down load a picture of the room you are booking and take it to compare. If the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel seems to be very popular with russian and chinese tour groups. The rooms can be divided into three categories, top, middle or extremely basic. The first room I was shown was 704, it was pretty small, double bed small bath with shower and a window, non opening looking over the alley and on going construction. The room had some type of grey industrial carpeting which was very stained and the room had an odor of sweat and smelly socks.The room next on the corner that one of our group was in had two double beds, a couch, large bath and upgraded carpeting. I finally got a large room at the front of the hotel, #601, dark wooden floors, king bed, flat screen ( only a few channels come in) couch, small balcony and very large bathroom, updated with corner tub and shower. There is one odd thing that reviewers have mentioned, there is a glass inset in the door which lets in light all night from the hallway.
The breakfast is included and has some decent selections, try the Pho, pretty good here, also rice noodle and pork wrapped in banana leaf.
Next time would probably go with the Novotel, or Sheraton.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Hotel

Address: 34 C-D Nguyen Thien Thuat Street | Tan Lap, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 109 hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summer Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Summer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.