We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Suite Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Summer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Summer Hotel to your Saves list
The Summer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 C-D Nguyen Thien Thuat Street | Tan Lap, Nha Trang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
wellington nz
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Fabulous Suite Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a suite room which was very nice, it was a huge room with great decor and furniture with a view of the sea. Also had a large bathroom with a big corner bath. We really enjoyed our stay in the room. Swimming pool was fantastic, not large but big enough and we never had to share it. Very clean hotel and swimming pool. There is a lovely bar upstairs with good view. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast had plenty of Asian variety, a bit limited on western options other than eggs. Only negative was the hallways could be a bit noisy, especially if you get a room by the laundry.

We did look at a superior room first which was OK but quite tight and we had seen better value for money in Nha Trang. But on Agoda for another US$12 we could get the suite which was really huge and very nice, definitely worth the extra $12.

The sail club is a must, on any budget, we always had a great meal.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite, you can have one with a balcony or without. Without balcony is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    71
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
63
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel is very near all the best resturants. The hotel is clean and the staff are polite and helpful. The beach is a ten minute walk. We did not have a room with a window view but the room was big and well appointed. Breakfast was good, buffet style that caters to western and Asian. Pool on top is small but adequate but there are not many sun loungers and limited space, get there early if you don't want a beach day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Nha trang is horrible. Like the costa del sol. However the summer hotel is clean and good value . Ten mins walk from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Booked a Superior city view room, 1.5 months in advance of stay. When shown to the room it was a very small room. 2 people with suit cases and your stepping over them, it did have a window with a city view. Returned to the desk and showed em my picture of the room from the agoda booking site - oh yes! sorry that room not available, booked out, "You have city view room". As it was Tet we sucked it up and stayed. Next day I was passing the room next door to ours and it was the one in my pic, half as big again. Beware there are 2 varieties of Superior city view room, if you dont get the right one throw a tantrum you might do better than us!
Apart from this hiccup, the hotel is ideally situated for Cafes and bars, short walk to the beach. The staff are very nice, the rooms cleanliness was OK. The resteraunt was good and the breakfast was great with a huge selection, freshly made pancakes-yum. If I had got the room that I booked it would have been great but unfortunately I didn't and it put a damper on the stay. If you get the right room great, if not just bearable. Probably wouldn't take the chance here again.

Room Tip: If you book on line down load a picture of the room you are booking and take it to compare. If the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel seems to be very popular with russian and chinese tour groups. The rooms can be divided into three categories, top, middle or extremely basic. The first room I was shown was 704, it was pretty small, double bed small bath with shower and a window, non opening looking over the alley and on going construction. The room had some type of grey industrial carpeting which was very stained and the room had an odor of sweat and smelly socks.The room next on the corner that one of our group was in had two double beds, a couch, large bath and upgraded carpeting. I finally got a large room at the front of the hotel, #601, dark wooden floors, king bed, flat screen ( only a few channels come in) couch, small balcony and very large bathroom, updated with corner tub and shower. There is one odd thing that reviewers have mentioned, there is a glass inset in the door which lets in light all night from the hallway.
The breakfast is included and has some decent selections, try the Pho, pretty good here, also rice noodle and pork wrapped in banana leaf.
Next time would probably go with the Novotel, or Sheraton.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in room #802 which was very large, with views of the ocean, squeaky wooden floors, a huge bathroom, safe, mini-fridge, in-room coffee/tea service. Large variety at breakfast buffet. Crowded, smokey lobby.

The door to the hallway is partially frosted-glass, allowing the bright light on all night in the hall to shine into the room. If you need a dark room to sleep, avoid #802.

Inspect your room carefully before booking - my room was much much better than the ones my traveling companions got stuck with: no safe, or the window closely facing the next building, or no window at all, or no real shower with just a drain in the floor and shower head on the wall.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neukirchen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Really nice, clean hotel with spacious rooms. Great location, pretty quiet. Fast internet connection, laundry service convenience. Prices are not too expensive room for a standard family room. Staff dedicated service and always smiling with us. Their seafood is always fresh, as they take up room for us, they always show their friendliness.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summer Hotel

Address: 34 C-D Nguyen Thien Thuat Street | Tan Lap, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Summer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.