We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omar's Tandoori cafe

Omar's Tandoori cafe
89b Nguyen Thien Thuat St | 89b Nguyen Thien Thuat St, Nha Trang, Vietnam
+84 58 2221 615
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 263 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Winchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

If you fancy an Indian then this is definitely worth a visit. Food good, although first lot of poppadoms were soft, next lot were great. Main meals were excellent.

It was quiet when we visited and the waiter was very attentive.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    97
    35
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yummy Indian food with lots of options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Service was a bit spotty at first, and the drinks took awhile to stagger out (with one beer forgotten, but quickly brought out when we reminded the waitress). The fresh mango juice was really good, and they have NT beer on tap for 10,000d. They also have CHAI! REAL CHAI! I was so excited to see chai on the menu.

The decor is quite interesting upstairs. Cushy chairs with throw pillows, and everything's in a leopard-print style. ME-YOW!

One dining companion ordered the $12 (252,000d) seafood set, which had a TON of food. The tray that came out was a good size, and was just about overflowing. It also came with a side of naan bread (a big side, too) and a beer. The other ordered chicken curry, I had veg curry, and we shared some steamed rice, garlic-cheese naan (sooo delicious) and some other bread side that had onions and cracked black pepper. Everything was really tasty. I recommend starting at "mild" for spiciness, because "medium" might be too much for some people. You can always add in more spice if you need to, but you can't take it out!

Oh, and they also gave out a little appetizer-snack. It tasted like a giant, crunchy, fluffy potato chip and it came with a side of spicy-minty stuff and a really delicious, delicate mango chutney. It all came out to be a lot of food, with some leftovers making a good lunch the next day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basanta187069, Manager at Omar's Tandoori cafe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
dear ak1013,
Thank you very much for your kind and warm comments about our restaurant.we are delighted to read that you are enjoyed at our yammy meal as well as good atmostpher.unfortunately you didn't got your drinks at the time that was a accident.now we want to beged pardon with you (.you know we are human being maybe we have mistake in sometime) ,we have a proud with you because you love our indian chai tea, your valued comments have been shared to our team and it gives more encouragements for furth coming days to gets such a comments from discerning travellers like you.

we look forward being at your service again in near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So - so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We left feeling disappointed with Omar's. The meals we had were decent and we thought the place was well decorated. However, the service was up and down, and although we could put up with it some other customers were getting irritated which affected the overall atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basanta187069, Manager at Omar's Tandoori cafe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
dear colinbarr,
Hello and thanks so much for taking time to write, i'm very sorry you were disappointed with our meal and atmostpher but i am pleased you did enjoyed at the meal .it's the difficult task to know everybody's individual taste ,and in which way one person says is the best meal ever ,same time another will say it was average.

dear customer. we have a well speaking indian staffs .when you were giving a order that time, they asked you what type of taste you like (mild,,medium, spicy or very spicy )after that we asked you how is the meal? if don't satisfied with that meal we chaned your spicy but you accorss our all steps then reached with tripadviser .i don't think it's a solution. but onething is surprising own your words',that customer were getting irritating it's affect the whole atmostpher' but that was a drunk man who has no idea about real indian spice.next things how can we stop for guest coming at the restaurant because restaurant and bar bars are for relax.


dear colinbarr,i have a hope you will give us one more time to satisfied you and it may exchange your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Omar's Tandoori Cafe - BEST Indian Food in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

There are two Omar's restaurants in town; one, the cafe on Nguyen Thien Thuat, the other on the main drag Tran Phu. We've eaten at both, this review is for the cafe; while the food at the other location was just as good, the service and overall vibe at the cafe is better.

After searching for good Indian food in the San Francisco Bay Area for a few years, lo and behold, we hit the motherlode in Nha Trang. Who would have thunk it?

We've eaten there every week, usually twice a week, since we arrived here almost three months ago. We're ordering from them tonight (they deliver - another plus). By the way, we did try that other place that is ranked so highly on TA; all we can say is we have nothing nice to say about that experience.

The food is phenomenal......we always get the Baigan Masala, it is so, so amazingly good! When having a veggie night we also order the Tarka Dal and the Palak Paneer, Raita and basmati rice. When going all out, we order lamb - they have got a way with lamb that is mouthwatering; we've had success with the Lamb Biriyani and the Lamb Sagwala. I personally love the Chicken Samosas, my hubby is indifferent on that score. Their Papadum and chutneys are incredible! Yum, yum, yum!!!

We love that when we ask for spice they do not mess around, but even when we go for the milder versions the dishes are just so flavorful. With every meal, we tell each other how good the food is as we're eating. The staff is super friendly, consistent, and sincere - all very much appreciated. Do yourself a favor - eat here.The two young men, Pasan and Jamal, who seem to always be there, are always friendly and accommodating. All in all, a first rate place to eat with great flavors in every dish we've had.

We will truly miss this food when we return to the States. =(

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basanta187069, Manager at Omar's Tandoori cafe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
dear michele r(sir and madam),
Thank u very very much for your kind and warm comments about omar's indian restaurant
we are delighted to read that you enjoyed at our fresh meal,service and atmostpher..we have already shared your compliments with the team,you can imagine that they are always excited and happy to receive such positive response. our restaurant is looks simple but we serve good indian food because we do everythings freshness , healthy and use of a lot of spices.

we look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was raining so we ducked in for some food and beers. The pizza was fine, and the samosas ok. Everything required lots of chili sauce for extra flavor. The service was lacking and we basically got kicked out immediately after dinner so they could close, which isn't a huge deal except it was done very brusquely. There are so many great restaurants in Nha Trang, I would skip it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basanta187069, Manager at Omar's Tandoori cafe, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
dear erinmariel,
thanks so much for taking time to write, i'm very sorry you were disappointed with our service but you like our meal ,it was a some accident.now i take your comments in mind and i will try to be best .
.
dear erinmariel ,i have a hope you will give us one more time to satisfied you and it may exchange your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's Tandoori cafe also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Omar's Tandoori cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omar's Tandoori cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.