We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fresh food ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant

Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant
34/6 Nguyen Thien Thuat Street, Nha Trang 0, Vietnam
84 058 2471 674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 272 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have been operating since 2008 and hold half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang at a cost of $24 USD per person. It is a great experience of travelling to the local market, buying food and then preparing 3 dishes as chosen by the guests. We also provide a small recipe book at the completion of the tour, as a memento and keepsake. We are also keen to differentiate ourselves from all the other dining places in Nha Trang and give the customer a unique Vietnamese experience. One area is, we are strongly supporting 12 local orphanages. I spent 2 months travelling through Nha Trang & Vietnam & spent a lot of my time with the children at orphanages. As a result, I am trying to give back to these kids, by teaching them life skills and how the real world operates, outside of the usual visits and photo opportunity.That's where the idea for Lanterns came. We invite kids and their careers to each at least one day per month, but any time they wish to come. We encourage the schools/orphanages to allow the older kids to gain work experience at our place and meet the people who visit Vietnam first hand, in a friendly helpful environment.One thing I am strongly committed to, is making sure the kids are not exploited in any way and nothing is ever done without discussing it & getting approval from the carers involved.
mauritius
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great fresh food ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stumbled upon lanterns and ended up going there for 4 nights out of our 5 in Nha Trang so it had to be good. Travelling with 2 young children abd being able to order a bowl of plain pasta or a tuna sandwich whilst enjoying a lemon grass chili curry was a gem. Staff great and very friendly food always tasted very fresh and had loads of flavor felt very home cooked. We even ended up buying the recipe book to try to recreate some of the fabulous food we tried…

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi and thanks for your kind words and I cannot thank you enough for the amazing support provided during your stay and eating there 4 out of 5 nights speaks about the quality of the staff working with us and the personal pride they take in their jobs. I am glad your kids enjoyed some of the more simple food and you were able to enjoy the spicier Lemongrass & Chilli :) Thanks from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    392
    151
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really good night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

A really friendly restaurant very helpful staff with excellent good quality food, there is a very varied menu to meet everybody's choice. We went twice and was made very welcome on both occasions..

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for writing. As with previous reviews, we cannot thank everyone enough for not just visiting once but coming back despite so many choices in Nha Trang. It is truly a testament to our staff who do really care about their job and what Lanterns stands for. Thanks so much from everyone at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great food and supporting a good cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I ate at this restaurant a number of times within my stat at Nha Trang. The staff are lovely and speak very fluent English. The meals were of great quality and very well priced. The service was speedy and the restaurant was very clean. We also undertook their half day cooking class with Nam which was loads of fun, really easy and introduced us to the Vietnamese culture, produce and people. We then decided to book a 1 day tour of the country side through Lantern's and this was just amazing! We visited some of the families of the waitresses in small rural villages. It was a wonderful learning experience. Our tour guide Thau was just fabulous, so kind, funny and knowledgeable! We then arranged a visit to the orphanage that Lantern's support. We had such a great time playing with these children and gaining an insight into the work that this restaurant does to support the children and expectant mothers. This place is doing great things in support of the people who need it most. Even if you're not concerned about contributing to such worthy causes, you're bound to get a great meal, friendly and fast service and a good laugh at very reasonable prices!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello and I don't know where to begin to say thanks :) It seems you did everything we can offer from Cooking Class to the personal tour to spending some time with the kids at the orphanages. Thao is one of our wonderful girls and like everyone a real credit to themselves and Vietnam. You are spot on what you said, our community work is about what we want to share with the children and Lanterns is a restaurant that hopefully serves some great meals and it is bonus we get to help in our very small way. Once again, thanks are not enough for all you did for us, from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely decoration inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We went to the Lanterns at the first night in Nha Trang. The thing attracted me was the lanterns hanging on the ceiling.
My friend and I ordered seafood salad, spring roll, fish clay pot and shrimp clay pot, with 2 banana milk shake, which cost 380,000 VND. The spring roll was really delicious, and the milk shake was fresh and tasty.
The only thing I felt disappointed was the clay pots, they were too salty for me, too much soy sauce added.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. Glad you liked the Lanterns, we are just in the process of changing them for new ones, to start off the new year :) so hopefully they will look even nicer. I am really sorry you felt the taste of the ClayPot was too salty and I will check again with the kitchen to see if it something we need to fix to make sure we keep delivering the highest quality food that we can. Thanks again for everyone at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Evening reward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I went here twice while in Nha Trang. I thought the service was excellent, the servers charming and personable and the food delicious (It's hard to find less than excellent food in Vietnam--but this was very good and served regional specialties.) The hot pots are splendid. Very elegant and easy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write. It is true I think Vietnam is blessed with some amazing food, where it be street food or restaurants and I am so pleased you liked our food and the staff were friendly and helpful :) Appreciate you coming back again despite many other places to choose, from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.