We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lively and friendly restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant

Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant
34/6 Nguyen Thien Thuat Street, Nha Trang 0, Vietnam
84 058 2471 674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 272 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have been operating since 2008 and hold half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang at a cost of $24 USD per person. It is a great experience of travelling to the local market, buying food and then preparing 3 dishes as chosen by the guests. We also provide a small recipe book at the completion of the tour, as a memento and keepsake. We are also keen to differentiate ourselves from all the other dining places in Nha Trang and give the customer a unique Vietnamese experience. One area is, we are strongly supporting 12 local orphanages. I spent 2 months travelling through Nha Trang & Vietnam & spent a lot of my time with the children at orphanages. As a result, I am trying to give back to these kids, by teaching them life skills and how the real world operates, outside of the usual visits and photo opportunity.That's where the idea for Lanterns came. We invite kids and their careers to each at least one day per month, but any time they wish to come. We encourage the schools/orphanages to allow the older kids to gain work experience at our place and meet the people who visit Vietnam first hand, in a friendly helpful environment.One thing I am strongly committed to, is making sure the kids are not exploited in any way and nothing is ever done without discussing it & getting approval from the carers involved.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great food, lively and friendly restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We ate twice at Lanterns during our recent visit to Nha Trang and enjoyed our food both nights.

Lanterns has a great atmosphere and is a popular and lively place to eat, queues to get in are inevitable at peak times. The staff were friendly and helpful and worked the full room efficiently and quickly.

We had a variety of dishes which were all well prepared, imaginative and tasted really good. We would certainly go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi and thanks for writing. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and more importantly, I am so glad you returned again, despite so many good places to enjoy a meal here. We are very sorry for any queues or waiting times we have during busy periods, especially dinner, but we appreciate everyone's understanding and we are so grateful people still come back later, even if they see we are full. That level of support means a lot to everyone here. We have tried to provide a balance of traditional Vietnamese dishes and a variety of other foods, which we often get criticised for, but when catering to a large travelling community from all around the world, it's a constant balancing act to get the right mix of dishes on our menu. We do hope you will be back again soon and hope we can again provide you with an enjoyable evening with us. Thanks for the support from everyone at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    391
    151
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate a this restaurant a couple if nights ago. It was very busy being TET, but not enough staff for eaters. I can only say food is average, very disappointing after reading reviews

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hi and thanks for your review. Sorry you were let down by your visit to Lanterns and yes it has been extremely busy over the holiday period and whilst not trying to make excuses in anyway, it is hard to keep a full quota of staff over the holidays, when 4 staff ask to return home to spend time with their families. We understand we were stretched and it doesn't help when our restaurant has a capacity of 90 people and the restaurant is full from 6.30pm to 9.30 during that time. I have no doubt this detracts from the intimate feel of other places around town but it is the problem we need to try and overcome, but we have also let you down with what appears to be some poor food. I am not sure what dishes you ordered, but again can only apologise you did not have a good night with us and sorry after you read the reviews we did not deliver the high standard we set ourselves. Hope you enjoyed your time in beautiful Nha Trang and Vietnam, from all of us at Lanterns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top 3 vietnamese restaurant in Nha Trang”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Very good food but service can be improved. At nights there are so much people and you have to book in advance. The price level is very good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello thanks for writing and I am not sure if I have it read it correctly, but either you rate us in the Top 3 restaurants in Nha Trang or maybe we don't deserve to be in the Top 3? I will take it that we are in the Top 3 restaurants in Nha Trang :) We are glad the food and prices were very good and yes, we have been very busy over Christmas, New Year and all the way through the Lunar New Year. We do, of course, accept bookings but normally they are not required as we do have capacity for most guests but we do understand our service was lacking during the Lunar New Year as we faced increased capacity and 4 staff returning home to spend time with their families. I have explained more details in the review titled 'Average" from holidayholic54_12, but there is no excuse for service not being up to scratch and something we have addressed with all staff about the need to improve. Thanks again for your support from the team at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here at Lanterns a couple of times.. The food is fantastic. We had the pineapple beef and the chilli chicken and both were awesome .. We couldn't pick our favorite out of the two.. It was very busy as we were here over CNY so best to book when here over a holiday. But it was worth the wait. Staff are lovely and very helpful when we ordered the share Pho soup ... delicious .. We were only disappointed by the cooking class not being on as it was a holiday .. so next time !! As we said a must try and Daisy's next door for massage is great too. Enjoy x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for your kind words. Firstly, as with everyone, we are so glad you came to dine with us but more importantly, we are so grateful you enjoyed it enough to return again. Something that obviously pleases all of our staff very much. The pineapple boat is a fun dish and the Lemongrass Chilli is my favourite, but I am a Tofu freak and don't really try the Chicken in that dish much :) As explained in other replies, we have been overwhelmingly busy during the holiday period and normally we do not require bookings as we have a capacity of about 90 people and yes even we were surprised we were full from 6.30pm to about 9.30pm most days, with people even agreeing to come back later if tables were unavailable. I think now TET is over, things should return back to normal (not too quiet, we hope) but the amount of support and return support we are receiving from the travelling community, locals and local expats is totally overwhelming for us and people ask us what is our secret but we are still scratching our heads as to why? Sorry about the cooking class, unfortunately, it seems the world stops over TET, so the local markets were closed and as much as we would love to continue the cooking classes, it would not be the same without a market visit, as so many customers say it was the highlight of the class. On a positive note, they will start again on Sunday and I must go try the Daisy massage next door :) Thanks for all the support and hope to see you back one day soon, from the Lanterns Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stumbled upon Lanterns accidently as it was close to our hotel. Went here for dinner as we saw it was really busy and always take this as a good sign! We weren't disappointed. Had the set menu 1 which i thought was good value for the quality of the food. The chicken curry was delicious! The staff were competent and kind, despite it being extremely busy and a few people being turned away as there were no tables left. Am shocked at some of the terrible reviews people have given this restaurant and after eating here a lot of their comments don't make sense. I would recommend eating here!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We are very lucky to receive some great support from the travelling and ex-pat community in Nha Trang and being busy is a good sign for potential guests but gives us an increased responsibility as we try very hard to give everyone a special intimate meal when they join us, but this is not easy when your capacity in close to 100 and its full and sometimes people can feel like they have been lost in the crowd, for which we are very sorry. In relation to some of the reviews we receive, everyone is different and everyone expects different things from different places. I understand some people leave here disappointed and its a similar situation to your other review of Mecca. I personally feel it is a very good place to eat and enjoyed many good meals there, but you were left terribly disappointed, so we all have different experiences and they are shared here on TA. Thanks again for your kindness and hope to see you back again soon, from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.