We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant

Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant
34/6 Nguyen Thien Thuat Street, Nha Trang 0, Vietnam
84 058 2471 674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 294 Restaurants in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have been operating since 2008 and hold half day cooking classes for visitors to Nha Trang at a cost of $24 USD per person. It is a great experience of travelling to the local market, buying food and then preparing 3 dishes as chosen by the guests. We also provide a small recipe book at the completion of the tour, as a memento and keepsake. We are also keen to differentiate ourselves from all the other dining places in Nha Trang and give the customer a unique Vietnamese experience. One area is, we are strongly supporting 12 local orphanages. I spent 2 months travelling through Nha Trang & Vietnam & spent a lot of my time with the children at orphanages. As a result, I am trying to give back to these kids, by teaching them life skills and how the real world operates, outside of the usual visits and photo opportunity.That's where the idea for Lanterns came. We invite kids and their careers to each at least one day per month, but any time they wish to come. We encourage the schools/orphanages to allow the older kids to gain work experience at our place and meet the people who visit Vietnam first hand, in a friendly helpful environment.One thing I am strongly committed to, is making sure the kids are not exploited in any way and nothing is ever done without discussing it & getting approval from the carers involved.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I can understand why the place is constantly so busy! Excellent food with tasty veggie options, big portion sizes and reasonably priced. Only negative is that they need more staff as they are too busy - the waitresses were rushed off their feet throughout the evening

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello and thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am so pleased all went well during your visit and we do try very hard to give a good quality meal and good size, at what we think is very reasonable for Vietnam. I wish I could take the credit but the staff control all think restaurant and they set the menu and food and I just control the community work we do, so all congratulations should go to them. You are right about the staffing, unfortunately we have 2 senior members of staff overseas at the moment and added to this was a very busy Christmas period, where the poor staff were really tested. But I must say they have come through amazingly and it just reinforces what a great team I am lucky to have at Lanterns. Thanks for the support and hope to see you back one day soon, from all of us at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    389
    151
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Vietnamese food at popular prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The place just moved 200 meter after the crossroad, and the new location is a big open space with a movable roof and lots of lanterns hanging from the ceiling. No problems with rain but the place tend to get windy and cool very easily. Service is good but when the restaurant is full they cannot make miracles, try to go there early. To start tasting Vietnamese food they have a set menu with some classics, spring rolls and seafood hotpot, very good. You can swap seafood with pork or shrimp. Prices are below the average of the tourist area, and Lanterns should stay for sure at the number one spot instead of the Indian restaurant, a very strange choice for Vietnam.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello and thanks for your kind words. I have actually followed many of your posts in the forum and feel quite privileged you visited us and enjoyed it whilst in Nha Trang. We appreciate all your support and hope to get a chance to say hello in person one day soon. You are spot on, our staff have been struggling during this busy period, but they have done an amazing job in some difficult circumstances and whether we are number 1 or 100, we truly appreciate the amazing support we get from so many travellers and locals in Nha Trang. Thank you so much and hope you will return, from the Lanterns team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We came here on our last night in Vietnam for a great meal. Lonely planet has rated this as Nha Trang's top choice and they were not wrong! Apart from they gave it a $$ sign where I thought it was so cheap for what you got!
I had the amazing Vietnamese curry. I can safely say it was the best meal of the holiday.
It has a really nice vibe as it is always full and fully of busy.
The restaurant also has a great cause which I truly loved as it supports disadvantaged kids of Nha Trang helping them in all sorts of ways.
Also has lovely imported wines :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello and thanks so much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us, especially after the ratings on Lonely Planet and TripAdvisor, as this can often be a double edged sword, as I have commented in many replies. I am pleased you enjoyed the curry and its a personal favourite of mine, but again what someone rates as their best meal is often criticised as boring and tasteless, so we respect all opinions about Lanterns. The whole reason Lanterns exists is because of the desire to help the children of Nha Trang and luckily I have had some great people involved in the restaurant, which has enabled us to continue and grow our community work, thanks to the hard work of our staff and Managers. We are also very lucky with the wines as we can actually store and hold our wines in a proper room at correct temperatures at Le Petit bistro, who happily deliver wines to our customers as ordered, something we are very fortunate to have and keeps our wines from going off in the heat (probably why there may be a wait when people order wine). Thanks again for your support whilst in nah Trang and hope we can meet you again soon. From the entire team at Lanterns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great food, I made a return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a really popular restaurant serving a good variety of food. When we arrived there at 7.15pm it was full & they sent us down the street for a ore dinner drink & had table for us after 15 min. Food is really good particularly the Vietnamese dishes. They also have a reasonably priced selection of local & international wines. Also check out their cookery class.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello and thanks for writing your review. I am sorry you had to wait and I really hope the wait was not too long? Thank you so much for firstly coming back and supporting us, when there is so many good choices to eat in Nha Trang and it is quite a relief that the food was worth the wait, as quite often expectations are hard to match. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon, from everybody at Lanterns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cooking Class and Restaurant Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a great meal at Lanterns recommend it highly. Did the cookery class a day later and had a wonderful experience. Nam the teacher was brilliant and funny going to the market was interesting to buy the ingredients. Great day and food the night before was fab if in Nha Trang a BIG MUST!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soccarooby, Owner at Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks so much for the review and for all your support whilst in Nha Trang. A lot of our cooking classes are booked by customers who dine with us and Nam is a great asset for us and the brains behind what you see at Lanterns today. She has developed the class into a really fun interactive day and her happy smile goes through all staff who respond to her hard work ethic. Glad the food was also good and hope you will come back to visit us one day soon, from all of us at Lanterns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 
Nha Trang, Khanh Hoa Province
 

Been to Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanterns Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.