We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Paloma Hotel to your Saves list
La Paloma Hotel
1 o hon chong | Son mountain, Nha Trang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great family run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at La Paloma on the way up the coast to Hanoi. We chose La Paloma after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! Mr Bu and his family made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The hotel rooms were spotlessly clean and the meal that was cooked for us was delicious. We felt like family guests but our hosts were at no time intrusive. Mr Bu dropped us off in the city and also offered to pick us up but we took a taxi home and it was easy and cheap by metered taxi back to the hotel. We were in nha trang in the quiet season but I can imagine how busy it could be in peak season. La Paloma is excellent value and we prefer to support family run businesses than big impersonal chain hotels. Mr Bu was building an art studio/gallery during our stay. His photos are very impressive and he has won various international awards. I was tempted to buy a photo or two but we were traveling lighton this trip. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, especially if you are traveling with a family.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seem to be newer. We were offered a room upstairs but my daughter was embarrassed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    18
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Minsk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The best about this hotel is the owner. I cant' describe how nice are Mr. Bu and his family. They work the whole day to make the stay of the quests more comfortable. The swimming pool is always clean, the eggs for breakfast are very tasty, the free drive to the city and back (1 time a day) is very convenient. The hotel in not in the city center but for that the beach which is 500 meters away is not overcrowded.
You should definitely see the photos on the walls made by Mr. Bu. They are... real art.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

La paloma is a little bit outside the city center, which can be inexpensively reached by taxi in 10 min. Since we are not the party people, this was just the right and more quiet place for us. The rooms are good, the pool is nice and refreshing, but most remarkable is the host, Le Bu and his family, who took so much care of us. Finally he is an excellent photographer and you can see his work on most of the walls. And if you like one you can buy one, too.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Hoped it would get better but it did not. For two of us we paid $30 a night. It has a lot of things that are "free" but these did not always measure up. Things we did not like: out of town and you are supposed to get free shuttle to an from town but we always had to pay for a taxi home. Supper is free but only at a set time and was not that great.
Our room did not have hot water and so we had to go downstairs to use a different room that didn't use the solar heated water tank.
The mattresses smelled like moth balls a strong chemical smell.
Mr Bu booked us our onward tickets and over charged us $4 each. This was not the only extra charge we were also charged $2 for having juice with our "free" dinner. Overall you would do better at a guesthouse in town and finding your own meals much less than $30.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We have been travelling regularly in Vietnam as a family for the last 5 years and we were always apprehensive about what we will be getting. Based on the very positive reviews from other travellers, we decided to check out La Paloma and Mr Bu.
Upon clearing the airport formalities, we had the ever smiling Mr. Bu holding up my name to pick me as arranged via email. He was most glad to highlight the places of interest that we should check out as we travel the 40 km from Cam Ranh airport to the hotel.
Upon arrival, we took off our footwear to enter the main 'lobby' and were allocated adjoining rooms on the ground floor. The place was squicky clean and probably the only place that we have come across as one that is absolutely clean, even my kids said that they were comfortable enough to lie down on the floor.
The package that we had included our breakfast and dinner and they were really delicious with good portions of the local fruits and also included the transportation into town to check out the very interesting local market and for the girls the night market.
Would highly recommend to anyone travelling to Nha Trang to check out this gem that we promised ourselves to return next year and we hope the side road to the beach leading to the beach would be ready.

Mark Tan
Singapore

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Love this hotel! The owner proudly displays hundreds of his photos throughout the hotel - which are award winning (and purchasable for those with some extra dong).
Free pickup and drop off from town, which helps as the hotel was 5 minutes out of town. This is a double edge sword - for me i wanted to escape some of the hustle and bustle, but for those who want to be right where the action is there is a shuttle bus that can drop you off and pick you up. Dinner and breakfast are included which are above standard of most VN street restraunts. Owner also organised train ticket and day tour on the reef for me - with no commission. The rooms are standard issue for what $20 will buy you. Clean and everything works.

You get the feeling that they have been doing this for a long time and like most Vietnamese hotels when you walk through the door you are being welcomed into their humble abode even if it is for one night only.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We took the recommendations from Tripadvisor to stay here and we were not disappointed. The owner, Mr Bu was so helpful and understanding. We arrived at half five in the morning and he personally picked us from the train station and we were led straight into our rooms to get some sleep. When we woke at noon, we were offered some lunch (Most hotels don't even let you check in before 12, never mind giving a free lunch!)

We had the room at the top of the building, it was very comfortable with a nice high ceiling that made it feel very spacious. The hotel itself is about 4km out of the main tourist area. For us this was an advantage being away from the mayhem at night! As part of the price of the room, you get dropped off and picked up again everyday which is a great service. We were also given breakfast and dinner everyday. It was like being part of the family!

When we checked out, rather than tallying up how much we had used from the mini bar he just asked us how much we had used and trusted us. I thought this was a very nice warm gesture of trust. When we were leaving, Mr Bu gave us a lift back from town (after we'd checked out) so we could collect our bags and dropped us off again so we could catch our bus.

We're both looking forward to coming back to Nha Trang again!
Abby and Dan

PS Mr Bu has said they are planning on building a pool, so fingers crossed!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Paloma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Paloma Hotel

Address: 1 o hon chong | Son mountain, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Paloma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.