We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer care” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MerPerle Hon Tam Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MerPerle Hon Tam Resort to your Saves list
MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hon Tam (Silkworm Island) | Vinh Nguyen, Nha Trang, Vietnam (Formerly Hon Tam Resort & Residences)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 117 Hotels in Nha Trang
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent customer care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I must praise Vu Thi Nham the guest service manager for her help and understanding after a mix up with our booking, not their fault at all but the travel agents in both countries.
She was excellent in sorting out the issue very quickly and turned what could have been a complete disaster into a lovely stay here and a great end to our holiday.
Would recommend this hotel highly
Thank you.

Room Tip: All seemed good as we had 2 different ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Food & Beverages Manager at MerPerle Hon Tam Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Merperle Hon Tam Resort - 20/08/2014

Thank you so much for your great review Nikkispj, following your stay at Merperle Hon Tam Resort

I will surely pass along your positive comments to all our dedicated team members.We are so happy to see that our standards are appreciated and acknowledged.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Warmest Regards,
Steven Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    23
    21
    7
See reviews for
45
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Neuenahr-Ahrweiler, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

good: the staff is very friendly and customer oriented. the scenery of the resort is exiting.the breakfast is good, but not excellent.
not so good: the cleanliness in the bungalow and the toilets needs much more improvement.the water pressure in the bath room is very low.like in an 1 star hostel.
really bad: the gym should be pulled down. they have very expensive equipment, but each of them is very rusty.to be honest: nothing can be used.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven C, Food & Beverages Manager at MerPerle Hon Tam Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Merperle Hon Tam Resort - 21/08/2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time for the thorough review! services that we provide. We try out best to deliver to every guest an experience which is as personalized as possible and it is very encouraging to hear guests like you speaking highly of our service. Thank you for your kind words to our associates as it will encourage us to do even better at what we do. Last but not least, we hear your feedback on the breakfast and we will definitely review with the team.
Once again, thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in future .
Warmest Regards,
Steven Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The resort and its beach are great, behind the corner from ugly Nha Thrang (which however offers many restaurants that can be easily reached with the free boat shuttle service of the hotel). What is incredible is that in a 5 star resort of this kind, some of the staff is so unprofessional and often almost rude (starting from the hotel manager). The owners should definitely do something about that.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I've had a great vacation ever here. the beach is absolutely wonderful here , I must say that maybe this is one of the best beach that I ever seen. The bungalow inside the resort was designed in very traditional style with outdoor bathroom. Amazing sea view, quiet place and green around. Peaceful place It was perfect for me to enjoy during 5 days. It is fine place to spend with family and friends, Everything was very nice and very impress.The best thing I love in this place is the personal is trying to help you with all your problems, special thanks to the top Manager Vu Thi Nham the nice lady that shows high professional behavior with helping,
Narzan K, Russia,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Conclusion:
Beach: beautiful
Food: not that good
Bungalows: could have been cleaner. A nice sized bungalow
Roomservice: If they only understood what we were saying...they didnt pick up the leftovers for 24 hours....
Service: The worst!

THE BEACH:
The beach on this Island is amazing. White sand and lots of different types of sunbeds to choose from both in the sun and in the shadow. There was also a lot of showers along the beach to rinse of the saltwater. They provide towels at the beach and you can rent snorkling gear if you want to see the fish along the beach. It is actually an ok thing to do :-) If you want to order food or drinks at the beach you need to walk up to the restaurant. There should have been a service station by the beach or at least someone asking us once in a while....
The resort and beach is divided into two areas. It looks like one is for locals as the prices on that resort is much cheaper than at the end we were staying at. The beach was much noysier here as well. It also had a huge playarea in the water.....we were glad we stayed on our end....

THE BUNGALOW:
The bungalow had a great view and we loved having our own little terrace overlooking the ocean. The bathroom was large but not very clean. They could have easily cleaned better under sinks etc.
We had ordered a room for 3, but the room was only set up for two at arrival. At last we got an extra bed, but it took us the whole stay to explain to them that we also needed three towels, three glasses etc...Good internet access and aircondition
THey didn`t change the coffecups or coffecan everyday even though it had been used. They just rinsed it (apperantly in the bahroom sink). We had to call and ask for a change almost every day.

THE FOOD:
There was only one restaurant in our end. It had an ok breakfast with lots to choose from. The best part was the possibility of making your own vietnamese iced coffee with condensed milk (the best thing on the island). THe lunch and dinner menu was the same....we tasted a lot of things but there was not much good stuff on there. As an western tourist you also need your food well done or cooked through to avoid getting sick. That was basically a concept impossible to explain to them so a lot of the food we just couldnt eat. The food was also more expensive than in the city.
The food experience might have been better if the service had been good.

THE SERVICE:
THe only smile we saw was from the guy that welcomed us on mainland before we took the boat out to the island. From then on we didn`t see a single smile wich told us that the workers wasn`t well cared for or that the organization just doesn´t function as it should. Language barriers can be a part of the explanation, but we have stayed at hotels with the same level of english level and had a totally different experience. It is sad that a resort like this has such a bad service as that is the easiest thing to do something about. A lot of reviews says the same thing so it amazes me that management hasn`t done something about it.

The hotel has a lot of trips you can take. We did a snorkling trip. That was ok, but it is scary how little respect the diving company has for the corals. The tourist should be made more aware of the value of not disturbing/stepping on the corals....the area they took us too had some fish but not very much corals. The two places they say they are taking you to is about 100 meters apart... Very good food onboard. That was a huge positive surprise.

Is there anything positive with the island you might think?
THe beach and the area itself is worth a visit if you want a quiet stay. There is a boat leaving for mainland every two hours. Last one to mainland leaves at 18.00 and the one from mainland to the island leaves at 22.00. free of charge.

Tip if you are going: Bring snacks to the island as there is nothing to buy there other than the food in the restaurant...

Room Tip: CHoose a bungalow from number 2004 and up as it has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerPerle, Manager at MerPerle Hon Tam Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our island resort. We are glad you enjoyed our island we also regret that the service you mentioned was not of your expectation. We have briefed the whole team concerned and strong measure was taken in order to prevent the similar from happening again.

We hope to have chance to welcome you & your family again to our resort.

Best regards,
Your MerPerle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Amazing sea view, quiet place and green around. Peaceful place
It was perfect for me to enjoy during 2 days.

It is fine place to spend with family and friends.
Food is ok but I prefer the local seafood on the road.
Maybe it is better to go out for local food (so cheap and delicious; I recommend such as 6C Ngo Si Lien or Bien Hong at 63 Tran Hung Dao).
I will comeback again :)

Room Tip: Higher bungalow have more beauty sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerPerle, Front Office Manager at MerPerle Hon Tam Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Ms NgocPhamVan,

Thank you for your nice comments about our MerPerle Hon Tam Resort - Hon Tam Island! We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future!

Best Regards,
Your MerPerle Hon Tam Resort Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I spent a WE there a few days ago. Amazing place for people who want beauty and are looking for a quiet place. Great bungalows with amazing see view. Excellent food. Marvelous beach and gardens. An amazing swimming pool. The only black spot is the lousy service. Friendly people but very bad organization. So, if you don't expect too much from the services, you will have a wonderful time here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MerPerle Hon Tam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MerPerle Hon Tam Resort

Address: Hon Tam (Silkworm Island) | Vinh Nguyen, Nha Trang, Vietnam (Formerly Hon Tam Resort & Residences)
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — MerPerle Hon Tam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hon Tam Island,… natural paradiseIndulge yourself into immense nature and enjoy the wonderful life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your MerPerle Hon Tam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hon Tam Hotel Nha Trang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MerPerle Hon Tam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.