We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mix of The Good, The Bad And The Ugly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Diamond Bay Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Nguyen Tat Thanh Blvd, Phuoc Ha | Phuoc Dong, Nha Trang 1000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 131 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucks
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Mix of The Good, The Bad And The Ugly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

If you like your beach resort to:-
a) Be locked in a time warp for having hosted the Miss Universe competition in 2008.
b) Have its private beach a 3km electric buggy ride away through a derelict amusement park with the beach entrance guarded by a menagerie of plastic deer, giraffes and elephants
c) Have the ambience of an urban, convention hotel rather than a rural holiday retreat
then this is the resort for you.
Having made these points not all is negative about Diamond Bay.
* The rooms (we stayed in a Garden Superior Room in one of the room blocks) are large, well maintained and cleaned and comfortably furnished. Downsides are:-
a) No balcony table - we nicked one from the pool and looking around were not alone in doing this
b) The view on the 2nd floor was of a palm tree 2 metres away. This drastically reduced the light within the room. Looking at the height of the trees I suspect there is not much improvement even on the 3rd floor.
* The pool is massive, well attended, pleasant to swim in and equipped with comfortable, well spaced sunbeds.
* The beach when you arrive is good - clean, sheltered and in a lovely setting. For some reason Diamond Bay only appears to use a small area at the far end of the bay with a highly limited number of shades and sunbeds. No problem when we were there since occupancy level was low but don’t know what it would be like if the hotel was full!!
* Breakfasts were very good, wide range of choice with good quality produce. Pity that the only option to eat it is in an enclosed, air conditioned environment.
* Staff were excellent, welcoming, friendly and eager to help.
* To get into/out of Nha Trang (about 10km away) the hotel runs a free shuttle service throughout the day. Should the times of this service not be appropriate then by turning right out of the main resort entrance and walking for 5 minutes (just past the staff/conference centre entrance) you can catch a No 01 bus into town for the princely sum of 3,000VND. Reception staff can give you the timetable for the buses.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    129
    50
    33
    27
See reviews for
94
166
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

This hotel was amazing, we loved the staff there they are very friendly. We had the jaccuzzi Villa, It was a nice room with his own jaccuzzi. The room service 24/24h was very convenient!
The restaurant was good but a little bit expensive for this country... anyway in Nha Trang there are many little and cheaper restaurants! We had a very pleasant and relaxing stay there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Had a six night stay over new year and overall a good hotel. The rooms are big and clean and the pool is fantastic. Only a couple of grumbles and generally we never complain.

First night we arrived following an 8 hour train journey we went to the Miss Universe restaurant for dinner at about 9.45pm, we were told that we should order from room service as the chef had finished for the evening. The last thing we wanted to do after being stuck in a train carridge for that long. We had been informed that the restaurant was open until 10pm and there were not other options in the resort at that time (and it is a big resort)

The staff at the pool bar were hilarious. They struggled to understand a lot of the guests but were always very friendly and helpful. Their supervisor was less impressed with them and rather inappropriately commented to us about this.

New years eve was a little dissapointing as we had been told that we had to pay for the Gala dinner if we wanted to stay the night of 31st. We could not attend as we were else where in Nha Trang that evening. When speaking to other guests at the hotel a number of them had not had to pay the $150 for the Gala dinner in order to stay there. When we asked reception when checking out we were advised that it was because other guests were not advised by their travel agents? If staying there again we would check out 31st Dec and back in 1st Jan.

Nice hotel not bad value

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFNIELSEN, General Manager at Diamond Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Dear Madam and Sir:
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at Diamond Bay Resort & Golf!

Concerning the dinner on the date of your arrival:
Our Chefs work until the closing time of our Restaurant and this means even if a Guest arrives at the Restaurant at 10:00 PM this Guest shall be accommodated. However, in your case it was not so which is absolutely unacceptable.

Concerning my Pool Bar Service Associates:
I do acknowledge that there is, throughout the Resort, a Language barrier and to eradicate this, we have permanent running English programs, on different levels, for all Associates of the Property and they are getting better in mastering the English Language.

Regarding the Supervisor who made comments about the Pool Service Staff: yes I completely agree, it is unacceptable and shall be addressed. A part of the Guest Service Training they all learn that it is: Us and We the Team; not them and they.

Concerning the New Year Gala Dinner:
It is a matter of unfortunate facts that some agencies didn't comply in time with the compulsory Gala Dinner Charge and failed to inform their clients which became our Guests. However, any Guest would always be welcome to stay at Diamond Bay Resort & Golf regardless. We live to serve our Guests in each and any way possible.

Madam and Sir, I sincerely apologize for the severe inconvenience caused and I do hope you will come back to stay with us again as next time you will certaintly not experience any of the discomfort you endured during your last stay.

Should you have any concerns and or questions, please feel free to contact me at any time either through email:
f.nielsen@diamondbayresort.vn / gm1@diamondbayresort.vn or through telephone: +84.58.3.711.711.

To all our past and current Guests:
Thank you for your reviews and thank you for staying at Diamond Bay Resort & Golf and we will continue striving to serve you even better on your next visit.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Flemming Nielsen
General Manager
Diamond Bay Resort & Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich/Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

We spent 5 nights in Diamond Bay for Swimming, relaxing and spending the new years eve. There is not much to complain about. We had a superior garden villa and the room was extremely spacy and luxurious, Paricularly the washrooms were fascinating with bath tubs as big as almost 2m*2m. Food was delicious and the staff is more than friendly and helpful. The motto dinners were also very good. We had a 1 min walk to the pool and 2 mins to the beach.
Only 2 negative points appear: the beach/sea that is very close to the resort is very small. Hence - if the place is crowded - you have to take a hotel-owned electric bus to a beach that is around 5 mins of drive away. Of course you can also swim in the pool.

The second thing is that the proces for drinks and cocktails are very comparable to European prices. But it´s a luxurious place hence this is OK.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We loved Diamond Bay Resort and Golf, it has the biggest swimming pool I have ever seen in my life! Great comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good food, next to the sea, lovely relaxing place to stay after all the travelling and sight seeing, it was a haven. I would definately go back to Nha Tran and stay there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

The hotel is fantastic, wonderful rooms, balconies, private beach and very large pool. The pool staff are very efficient and helpful - even bring you towel and lounger mat to your choice of beds and make them up for you. The pool restaurant and bar is in a great location but the service is extremely slow and expensive, one family waited over 1 hour for some sandwiches and the resort wasn't very busy! The breakfast staff are very good in the main restaurant. We stayed for the Xmas Eve Gala Dinner which was excellent and well worth the 60$ each we paid, all drinks and food included plus some great entertainment and lucky draw.
The rooms are a little noisy if you are near the road as all vehicles beep horns on a very regular basis in Vietnam!
Tip - the hotel shuttle only traels into Nha Trang town (10km away) 3 times a day, not very convenient times and the taxis are 10$ each way. If you walk 5 - 10 mins out of the hotel turning right, you will arrive at a piblic bus stop where you can catch a bus into town for less than 50 cents in total - Big saving!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Don't stay here unless you can put up with appalling service, rude staff who have no idea what they are doing and rooms that stink. When we complained (several times) hotel staff laughed off the complaint and told us they were busy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boss_clad, General Manager at Diamond Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2010
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your feedback of your vacation at Diamond Bay Resort & Golf.

I was surprised to read your negative review as during my two (2) months of employment as the General Manager of this beautiful property I can certify that the Resort and its services in all areas has improved significantly.

So I looked up your name in our Guest Database and I learned that you stayed at Diamond Bay Resort & Golf from September 4 to September 8, 2009.

Nevertheless even if it was 4 months ago and 2 months before I took Office; on the behalf of the Management and my entire Staff I sincerely apologize for any discomfort caused to you and your companion during your stay with Diamond Bay Resort & Golf.

Further, my apologies goes out to the dissapointed Guests who, through time, entrusted Diamond Bay Resort 7 Golf with their hard earned vacation but left dissatisfied.

As we continue to strive for Service perfection we will go to great length to ensure the ultimate Guest Satisfaction for each of our future as well as returning Guests.

Should you Madam and or any of our valuable Guests have any questions and or concerns with your stay, please feel free to contact me at any time either through email:
gm1@diamondbayresort.vn or through telephone: +84.58.3.711.711.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Flemming Nielsen
General Manager
Diamond Bay Resort & Golf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Bay Resort & Spa

Address: Nguyen Tat Thanh Blvd, Phuoc Ha | Phuoc Dong, Nha Trang 1000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nha Trang
#13 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#15 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#17 Romantic Hotel in Nha Trang
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Diamond Bay Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous oceanfront property with two private beaches, located in the heart of South Central Vietnam, Diamond Bay Resort & Golf is merging world-class Resort and Spa facilities with warm Vietnamese hospitality. An astonishing, airy, tranquil and tropical vacation destination with 342 beautifully appointed hotel rooms, suites and bungalows equipped with modern facilities located only 15 minutes drive from city center, makes Diamond Bay Resort & Golf a wonderful choice for the selective traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Diamond Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Bay Resort & Golf Hotel Nha Trang
Diamond Bay Resort And Golf
Diamond Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.