We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Doc Let Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Sand Doclet Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added White Sand Doclet Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Sand Doclet Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dong Cat, Ninh Hai | Ninh Hoa Dist, Nha Trang, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 108 hotels in Nha Trang
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Doc Let Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Our family (children, ages 10 & 6), loved this resort for: their clean beach (twice/day trash pickup), beautiful white sand, long extended beach, calm water, & water temp hovers around 78F. We booked the beach front bungalow: small room for the price, but convenience for the kids to get in/out of the beach. The shower, like most hotels in VN, leaked water excessively. we called housekeeping daily for extra towels to keep the floor dry. Housekeeping & room service are excellent at responding to our needs. The pool, however, is a bit murky but has a helpful lifeguard/bar staff close by. There is a small play area for the kids close to the pool.

Breakfast buffet was included; our friend's family traveled with a 2 year old toddler, was given a lot of headache every morning cuz at the time of their booking, their agents told them that the toddler would have free breakfast. however, at their first morning, they were kept waiting for 15 minutes while the front desk & restaurant were trying to sort out the mess. Does it hurt the restuarant to give the toddler free breakfast for just one day? I mean, how much would he eat for breakfast? Finally, the manager approved of the free-breakfast for the entire stay for the kid but every morning, they still have to find the approval order!

Back to to the breakfast buffet: VNese food was diluted; This means that it is not authentic or it just doesn't taste good. They have wonderful pastry selection, fruits, & cook to order eggs.

Dinner menu: we ordered many western dishes; All are pricey, hamburger (some bread filler in the meat, yuck), cost us $5 & tasted horrrible. Fries were a hit with my kids. Sphagetti & tomato sauce was ok but my kids loved it. Mostly over priced western food.

Checking in was easy.

Checking out was long; allow 30 minutes, why? Cuz they have to call housekeeping to check on what's missing in your room, how much snack & water you ate/drink, & if any item was missing during your stay. They charged us $5 for a towel that we used to wipe the sphagetti sauce & claimed that they were unable to take the stain out. They said that a small tea spoon was missing in our room. Unbelievable! I am sure that we eat from our room often & could have sent it back with the trays or the kids might have brought it to the restuarant. So they charged us another $6. Believe me, I am sure that I could purchase a hand towel at BenThanh market for less than $2. So learn from us, the hotel claim to be a 5star resort, but acted like a 2-star resort; they will try to milk every penny from you.

otherwise, we enjoyed the stay but the hotel staff did not leave a good impression on the last day.

  • Liked — The beach & clean room.
  • Disliked — Staff, check out bad experience
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

I had a chance to visit White Sand beach early in August 2008. The whole resort looks okay, especially the spa, (they do invest a lot to make their guests impressed about the spa). But the beach is not very beautiful as I expected, where local people could ride their bikes in there, and a little bit not so private.
The food is okay at some dishes, not so impressive. They have quite good selection of wine, although the wine menu makes us confused sometimes.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Service, food, beach
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We (4 Adults and 4 Childs) spent nearly 12 day´s of our vietnam trip at the white sand doc let ressort & Spa. These day´s are wonderfull. We found a really white sand beach, a 5 star service (although the ressort have in the moment only 3 1/2 (or 4) stars, nice staff, breakfast that contains more than american foot and and and...

We know... we see us again an white sand doc let beach ressort & Spa....

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, Service, food
  • Disliked — no entertainment in the entire resort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

White Sand Doclet Resort and Spa is about 50km north of Nha Trang and somewhat isolated from shops, restaurants and other resorts. If you're happy lazing about under some shady thatch or a palm tree on a beautiful white beach, with the occasional splash in a relatively quiet blue sea, then this is the place. Though fairly new and quite well appointed, it is about to become a 6 star resort for a major hotel chain and may not remain that quiet for much longer.

It offers regular rooms in multi-story blocks overlooking the pool or detached bungalows in the gardens adjacent the beach. A central reception area also houses the restaurant, bar and pool table. The 'Business Centre' consists of two laptops on a table although WiFi is available almost right across the resort. There is an adjacent beach side 'picnic' area with several thatch roofs over tables scattered through the coconut palms. There is also an an unused restaurant facility close by - possibly only open in the busy season. The beach side 'picnic' spot offers a very fresh BBQ seafood lunch with a selection of live seafood in tanks - all cooked quickly while you enjoy the breeze, a cool drink and ocean views. Very pleasant.

The Gym and Spa facilities are good. The pool and surrounds are a little 'industrial' looking not helped by gardens that were suffering from a drought that the daily watering by hose is probably not quite enough.

The beach is long and white though only the section with the resort is cleaned daily, however. Either side and especially near a market one side and a fishing village the other way, there is rubbish tossed on the beach. Sadly that's typical for most public beaches in Vietnam. The beach is presently used by overloaded motorbikes traveling between the village and the beach market with security staff ensuring no one stops to sell you trinkets or food. The new development will close off that stretch of beach completely. Thankfully the water is still perfectly clear. Although there are a few settlements inland and even a few shops in the fishing village to the SE, they're really just catering for the locals. The hotel offers various sized shuttle buses for day trips and for guest transport to Nha Trang and even Dalat.

The staff were very helpful and obliging. We arrived late in the evening and when it was realised we hadn't eaten, suddenly the restaurant came alive and we all enjoyed a meal of our choice before being taken to our bungalows. All the hotel staff are training to improve themselves so as to eventually gain a job in the new facility. We even took over one of their regular English lesson classes for several staff including receptionists and gardeners.

  • Liked — Quiet isolated bungalows adjacent a beautiful stretch of beach. Large property - no crowds.
  • Disliked — Occasionally wish there was somewhere close by to visit, shop or eat at.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Sand Doclet Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sand Doclet Resort & Spa

Address: Dong Cat, Ninh Hai | Ninh Hoa Dist, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
#15 Family Hotel in Nha Trang
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Sand Doclet Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your White Sand Doclet Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sand Doclet Resort And Spa
White Sand Doclet Hotel Nha Trang
White Sands Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sand Doclet Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.