We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel urgently needs a restoration” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hue Heritage Hotel

Hue Heritage Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hue Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Hue Heritage Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This hotel urgently needs a restoration”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The location is good but the hotel urgently needs a restoration. Also the food in the hotel was bad.
If you are staying in Hue look for another place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Hue Heritage reminds me very much of some of the fine older hotels in Mexico City -- not entirely up-to-date, once obviously grand, a good value with elegant views, comfort and quiet amid chaos. Somewhere in our travels in Vietnam we picked up some illness and by the 2nd day in Hue we were bedridden. We were so fortunate to be at the Heritage with its modern and gleaming bathrooms, room service, laundry service and tremendous views of the city. Though we couldn't get out for a couple of days we could open the drapes and windows and still observe large portions of lovely Hue.

Inside the hotel is a restaurant with quite an elaborate menu but not so many patrons. The breakfast, which was included, was good, with egg and crepe dishes cooked on demand. Outstanding coffee. Our last day there was an enormous Vietnamese wedding that filled the entire restaurant as well as the hotel lobby, so this is clearly a place that locals feel a desirable event hotel.

By the way, there is a lovely rooftop pool that is almost completely unused. Even if you don't want to swim you can sit and soak up one of the best views in the city. Great place for morning coffee.

Really nice location a few blocks from the Citadel -- a fabulous must-see -- and the Perfume River. Lots of good restaurants within a few blocks.

The Heritage is a good bargain and rather a fascinating place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We were quoted in US$ upon check out we were told the eftpos was not working due to it being a Saturday and we must pay in Dong.

The beds were hard as a rock and the hot water was barely there.

The breakfast include was terrible and so was a meal purcahsed in the resturant for tea.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010 via mobile

I had to pay different price than my coworkers as I had a different skin colour. We had all residence cards and attended the same conference. Incredible that this kind of racism can still take place.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I am familiar with the Hotels of NYC and Philadelphia. The Vietnamese Hotel system is incredible. Hue Heritage is a marvelous, possibly 4 star hotel. It lacks certain amenities that I may have been accustomed to, but the staff, rooms and general dining area make it a great spot. Hint: I stayed in 4 hotels in VN, everyone was top notch and pleasurable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

A basic 3 star hotel we booked and that's what we got.
Not very centrally located, would do better to get a better hotel in tourist area or by the river.
Room is spacious though we had trouble with hot water in bathroom. Towels are paper thin and most inadequate.
The bed was the hardest I have ever encountered. Like sleeping without a mattress or on the floor.
Had to pay for internet in lobby but I managed to get wifi free in the bedroom.
I would definately go for a 4 star hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Franciso CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

My partner and I booked this hotel based in the fact that it was in the Lonely Planet guide so it should be OK. We were sadly disappointed. This hotel on the surface appears to be nice, but it isn't. The rooms where OK, the hot water ran out, the breakfast was crap, and the service left something to be desired. The halls were loud, such that I could hear the telephone at the front desk ring from inside our room. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the "tourist ghetto" were all the services and night life are found. From the communist party flag outside and the level of service I can only assume this is a leftover from the error of communist state owned hotels. They even charge for internet access, which no other hotel we stayed in Viet Nam did. For the price ($50 a night) you can do much better in Hue!
There are plenty of hotels and more under construction in Hue, so shop around and do not assume that Lonely Planet listings are the best deals!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hue Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Heritage Hotel

Address: 9 Ly Thuong Kiet Street, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hue Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hue Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hue Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.