We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and friendly hotel in Hue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ORCHID HOTEL

Save Saved
You added ORCHID HOTEL to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ORCHID HOTEL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30A Chu Van An, Hue 47000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Lowest Rates guarantee!
Ranked #8 of 109 hotels in Hue
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value and friendly hotel in Hue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spent two nights here, very friendly staff, good breakfast, DVD library! clean, great location. Received a bowl of fruit every day and even bottles of water for our journey to Hoi An!

Hue is a must visit in Vietnam! We recommend you take a private guide for 60$ including car.

Room Tip: top floor, we had room 703
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,208
    333
    73
    9
    14
See reviews for
233
921
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our trip to Hue coincided with New Year and we stayed at the Orchid. What a great decision. The attitude of the staff is second to none and they cannot do enough to help.

We arrived and were presented with an invite to a New Years party compliments of the hotel. Ahn and the rest of the team were waiting in the restaurant for us with a wonderful array of food and drink and an interesting selection of music. After a speech by the manager (sorry I have forgotten your name) it was all on for young and old - dancing, drinking and eating. They couldn't have made us feel more welcome.

The accommodation is very comfortable and the location of the hotel is excellent.

Thank you to all at the Orchid - you mad our stay very memorable.

Susan, Greg & Will

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast buffet was included, catering for numerous tastes but perhaps a few too many sweet buns. Rooms generally very spacious. Front family room was almost palatial. The middle room on 2nd floor was a bit disappointing because the window opened onto an enclosed brick wall a foot away and it gets noise early in the morning from the breakfast room immediately below the window.
The hotel is in a good position in the quieter street in the tourist precinct. Can walk to Forbidden City, Central Market, and supermarket just over the bridge selling fresh baguettes straight from the oven for 20 cents. You can definitely walk over the bridge so don't listen to the cyclo drivers and ferrymen when they say that you can't. Small convenience store a few metres away.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlooking street with verandah are good. Avoid middle room on 2nd floor which looks on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Orchid Hotel was a fantastic experience for me. The staff were all lovely and personable. It didn't matter if it was the doorman or the receptionist or the night-clerk or the maid, they all greeted me cheerily by my name from the moment I arrived until I left.
The hotel itself isn't huge but this leads to the more personal feel. The rooms are big and even have their own computers! The only down side with my room was the vast window looked directly out onto a wall that was no more than 6 inches away and so I received no natural light. However, the rest of the experience more than made up for that.
Each day my towels were placed on the bed and folded into different animal shapes. There were also deliveries each afternoon of fresh fruit or cakes which would be waiting for me when I arrived back from my day.
The hotel provide a breakfast which is a mix of Vietnamese and Western foods but includes some delicious fresh pastries.
The hotel staff were able to fulfill all my requirements- they organised cars and tours, as well as getting my laundry back to me the same day at no extra cost.

If you find yourself in Hue, this is the place to stay,

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view! Also if you're on the first floor noise can travel up from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wow! What an experience! This place has been my favourite to date on the Vietnam trip. Upon arrival we had staff opening doors, super friendly, fabulous English and such a beautiful hotel and very central. We were given welcome drinks and the staff made us feel so welcome. They told us about the sights and offered to assist with tours (no obligation). The room was amazing, the most comfortable bed and pillows, sprinkled with rose petals. Complimentary fruit and water, as well as free wi-fi, a computer in the room and a large selection of movies to w watch free of charge. The room was immaculate, clean and comfortable. The shower was glorious and didn't run out of hot water (which is a real plus in my books and a seems to be rare over here). I would defiantly recommend this place, and all for only $30US, defiantly worth the splurge.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The highlight for this hotel has got to be the staff: welcoming, superhelpful arranging the trips and providing transportation and schedule advice, offering free snacks and fruit, a great service to sum it up! Rooms as nice and clean, though not big. Location is very central and value is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our group of 5 adults stayed for 3 nights in late December: the staff was super friendly and helpful in any matter from booking tours, arranging transportation..; the breakfast was worth the price of the room. Good-sized clean room; newer towels would help.. I would recommend to any traveller.

Room Tip: Good local restaurants in the vicinity
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ORCHID HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ORCHID HOTEL

Address: 30A Chu Van An, Hue 47000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#5 Family Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — ORCHID HOTEL 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid Hotel in Hue is a new 'boutique' style hotel with 5 star rooms and amenities that one would not expect to see in a hotel of this class, coupled with well presented, friendly staff and excellent value for money the Orchid very much lives up to its corporate slogan, ''Always Most Pleasure''. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Agoda, Tingo, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your ORCHID HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Hotel Hue
Orchid Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ORCHID HOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.