We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Hung Vuong Boulevard, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

If you are visiting Hue and can afford a bit more then this is the hotel for you, fantastic rooms, huge with bedroom and living room and bathroom. Ask for the river views and then sit back and marvel over the goings on below you. When we stayed we had the ex Vietnamese President and his entourage staying one floor above us. The breakfasts are plentiful, the bar prices are a bit expensive which reflects the type of hotel. The staff are amazing and extremely helpful.
We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we went back.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Des S,

Thank you for choosing our Imperial Hotel to stay on your recent visit to Hue city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed much our bar, our ‘’fantastic rooms, huge with bedroom and living room and bathroom’’, …

I will share your comments with our team and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleased as the previous one.

Best regards,
Hien Vo (Ms.)
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    227
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
108
375
47
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great hotel. Magnificent views on the 16th floor of the perfume river and the city.
the 16th story has a open eating and drinking area.
the hotel staff are extremely knowledgeable and efficient.
food was great and the day spa massage in the hotel was wonderful.
The hotel staff even remembered my husbands birthday and made a cake and sang him happy birthday.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Tricia c,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Imperial Hotel to stay during your recent visit to Hue and for sharing your valuable comments with us on tripadvisor.com

We are very delighted to read that you were absolutely satisfied with our hospitality, our “extremely knowledgeable & efficient ’’staff and you really enjoyed our Starlight Lounge Restaurant, King Panorama Bar on 16th floor, as well as our spa services. It was certainly a great pleasure for us to bring your husband meaningful minutes on his special birthday. Your compliments on our services are a special gift that encourages us to keep striving to make our guest’s stay enjoyable and memorable one.

Once again, thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Imperial Hotel in the nearest future.

Best regards,
Hien Vo (Ms.)
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

On arriving at the hotel we thought wow but its all smoke & mirrors. The front facade looks impressive but the back is just a block of concrete we renamed it tower of terror! The reception staff look impressive but you can be talking to them and then they answer a phone or answer a colleagues question you never feel you get their attention. We had 2 river suites which were impressive 801 & 901 the views are fantastic but don't look beyond the curtain by the side of the bed the window continues past the wall, its not been cleaned in years.
I asked about a city tour & they wanted to charge $100 a rip off as travelling from Hoi An going to My son ruins, marble mountain & Hai Van Pass for the whole day had only been $130.
You dont need a tour you can walk to the citadel get a guide from them for a few dollars or else everything is labelled in English. Went down the perfume river by boat to the tombs etc but some are quite a walk from the river so not sure if going by taxi would be better, it was really hot when we were there and walking from the river was exhausting and we are all quite fit.
Breakfast was ok but do not expect to get a 2nd cup of coffee or have the plates cleared there are alot of staff who seem to do nothing. We ate in the restaurant on the first night which was
so slow it became funny considering there were only 2 other people in. Beer everywhere else about 35,000 here 90,0000. We ordered a taxi through the hotel to go to a restaurant & hotel informed us 100,000 dong but the return taxi was booked through restaurant was only 70,000.
The hotel seem to use a certain taxi chain who also ripped us off when taking us to the train station as he went a ridiculous route which we pointed out to him only because we knew where it was. Taxis work on distance so be warned. The pool only has 6 sun loungers so its just as well people are out sightseeing. We asked for late check out but the hotel could not accommodate, it had the worst facilities for a shower by the gym of all the hotels we stayed in, again not what you would expect. My daughter realised that she had left her bikini at the hotel we vacated at 10am the hotel stored our luggage until 9pm yet in all that time they did not manage to return it to us. This hotel seems to think it can ride on its image but there are lots of things that need improvement and other hotels are definitely offering better service & facilities.
If you want a good meal would recommend Ancient Hue, manager is french and the food is fab.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear TheSunln09,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review! We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to serve you again in near future.

Best regards,
Hien Vo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Imperial ....staff were great. Helped us get to see the sights of lovely hue. We had an excellent driver, truon, who took us around and was very helpful with the history. The hotel is walking distance to the citadel and also to the main restaurant streets. Maybe 1km to citadel and 500m to main eating area,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear MarrakechGypsies,

Thank you for your great comments about our hotel. It is delight to know that our team has impressed you with our service quality and their genuine, caring attitude. At Imperial Hotel Hue we always put our guests’ satisfaction at the center of our continuous improvement program, considering this as our major measurement for all services. I am glad that you had a great stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back to Imperial Hotel Hue soon!

Best regards,
Hien Vo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subiaco
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable and upmarket hotel with good amenities in close proximity to restaurants and attractions. Very helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to assist especially when we had a problem with our guide. Guest relations manager was excellent. Seemed to be there all the time and was genuinely interested in our experience.
Rooftop bar was the place to be in the evening with views of the Citadel and fireworks. Adjoining restaurant was only average in terms of food but views good also.
Excellent value for money. Get one of the corner suites. They are great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear GeoffSubiaco,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our hotel has unique location in Hue city where you can relax and enjoy romantic panorama of the city.

We are very proud of our personalized service. I will share your comment with my team to recognize their efforts.

Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Hien Vo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Conveniently situated near the main bridge. Tastefully decorated but lacked a little character in the rooms. Breakfast buffet plentiful but not five star. Very comfortable large bed. Staff very warm and friendly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear AmandaCrockett,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with Imperial Hotel during your recent visit to Hue and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness and assistance of our staff and enjoyed our leisure facilities in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

Your kind words have been passed on to our teams and this will certainly motivate them to keep up the good work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Hanoi.

Best regards,
Hien Vo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed at the imperial for two nights as part of a tour. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well taken care of, including the replenishing of water and toiletries as required. Breakfast and the food at the hotel were a little disappointing thus the reduction in the overall rating. However would recommend highly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Operation manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Fi_Scott
Thank you for taking time to giving comment about us. We are glad that you like our hotel. About breakfast, we improve it veryday. Thank you for bring it to our attention. We hope to see you again at our hotel.
Best regards,
Nguyen Ngoc Tung/Mr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 8 Hung Vuong Boulevard, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hue
#5 Spa Hotel in Hue
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#8 Family Hotel in Hue
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hue, the ancient capital of the Nguyen Dynasty, is the junction where northern and southern ecosystems meet. Hue boasts charming rivers, verdant hills, ancient pagodas and churches, and a rich history. Hue remains a must-see destination when visiting Vietnam, not only because of its cultural values and history, but also for its beautiful landscape and people. The majestic 16-floor Imperial Hotel Hue is nestled along the famous Perfume River, conveniently close to all the historical sites this UNESCO World Cultural Heritage city has to offer. Imperial Hotel’s well-appointed rooms and suites come beautifully furnished with classic wooden floors and panoramic river and city views. The extensive hotel facilities comprise of the Prince Club Casino, Royal Spa, Yoshihara Restaurant, Imperial Restaurant, Piano Bar and Cafe, Panorama Bar, four state-of-the-art meeting rooms, and much more. Come and explore the best Hue has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.