We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class in a Smaller Vietnamese City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Hung Vuong Boulevard, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Hue
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Class in a Smaller Vietnamese City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the first time I've been to Hue. I did a quick trip to Hue, just to see the Citadel and other historical areas of the former imperial city. Arrived around 20:00 (8PM) on the 13th and departed on the 14th late afternoon. The name Imperial is fitting of this hotel, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Had an excellent dinner of Peking duck upon arrival. The breakfast buffet was also excellent. I elected a morning tour and it fit perfectly into my schedule. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Request either a City View or River View room with King size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear GaryRW_01,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are all still rejoicing over your superb review of our Hotel.

We at Imperial Hotel Hue strive to make every guest feel special, sharing our Vietnamese hospitality and making sure that our guests stay and leave satisfied, making their stay a special one to remember - you obvious discovered this during your stay.

All of us are again saying:' Thank you very much!' and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Best regards,

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    174
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
87
293
37
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

we stayed 3 nigths and enjoyed every moment in the imperial hotel.
impressive friendliness of the staff, spacious room with marvelous view over perfume river and city. within easy walking distance to the citadel and center. numerous restaurants in the near vicinity.
received complimentary drink in the lobby restaurant for each day !
highly recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Oliver H,

Thank you most kindly for your review of our property and your stay with us.

We are extremely pleased that we were able to make your special stay one to remember and that your expectations about our service and amenities were met.

Trusting that you will be able to return in the future and experience more of our Vietnamese hospitality, we remain with

Best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue,

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this superb hotel and enjoyed celebrating my birthday there,a lovely touch came in the form of a cake, flowers and tropical fruit being placed in my room as a surprise for my return in the afternoon.all this added to the pleasure of staying in one of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in any where in the world. the rooms and amenities together with a bar on the 16th floor with great views over the city were enjoyed immensely, the staff were all so helpful and welcoming, all in all a truly delightful hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Sandra j,

Happy birthday once again and we want to say thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are delighted to know that you have appreciated our services and product and thank you for your kind comments by telling us that we made your stay a pleasant one.

We believe in guest satisfaction and to know that you have been satisfied is our reward.

Hoping that you had a save trip back home we keep on wishing to see you again in our Property and thank you for your valuable comments.

Best regards,

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just spent 3 night here and had an excellent welcome on arrival and even though we were a few hours early we had no trouble with our room being ready. Our room very very nice with a great 2 sided view of the city and the perfume river. Nice comfy bed ,excellent bathroom with great powered shower and separate nice deep bath. The room , the welcome, the foyer and the quality of our welcome were true 5 star. We spent to 1st 2 hours in the pool on the 3rd floor, nice pool plenty big enough for our needs, plenty of chunky towels on hand and a few loungers and shaded seating maximizing the small space available. Take since walk along the river and stopped at the lotus looking bar restaurant on the river below. The hotel has a very nice roof top bar on the 16th floor with great views across the river and broad walk. A very nice atmosphere and a great way to end the day. The breakfast is in a nice large dining area with the old French 5 star feel. A good choice of breakie options on hand. Overall this is a very pleasant hotel with very nice rooms and very good front desk staff and the location is excellent. Would I stay here again ? yes no doults Could the hotel improve its service ? a far bigger yes. The staff on the roof bar are very nice and the drinks are very good but the food for what you pay doesn't match the price. I chose a steak sandwich and although tasty it was a poor cut with too many veins to really enjoy. Her fish and chips were cooked in a heavy fat and poor in taste as we're the chips. The free nuts were very nice though. The restaurant for breakfast has too many bone idol lazy staff members grouping together for a cosy chap rather do what they are paid for leaving 2 to do all the work, 3 days on the trot is past excuses. No eggs at times, no pates for the bread, no butter! No pastry s worth selecting but then once you were nearly finished they would be topped up but all ths on a morning with just 4 diners ?? I can only guess by the quality of the other members of staff I can only assume the management are unaware because the others were all 1st rate. Just need a pair of eyes overseeing the set up. Other than that I still rate the stay 5 out of 5 as it he rest was very nice with a good communication by email from the hotel so still highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Licksmith,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful to receive such remarkable comments on the services provided to you during your stay, wonderful and positive remarks about the staff, the atmosphere, facilities and services.

Rest assured that your feedback will inspire us to continue to give the best experience to all our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue!

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We (my husband and I plus our friends) stayed here for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised. We had excellent rooms on the 10th floor with two very large windows overlooking the city and Perfume River. The bed was quite comfy (after hard beds previously on our holiday in Northern Vietnam) and the room was equiped as you would expect of a 5 star hotel.

We had drinks both nights on the rooftop bar which were quite fairly priced and the view was amazing! Breakfast was buffet style with an amazing variety of both western and Vietnamese foods. We also enjoyed a swim in the pool after a hot day of sightseeing.

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel whilst visiting Hue.

We had dinner at a great little restaurant right across the street one night called the Mandarin Cafe and I would highly recommend this experience (I will write a review on this restaurant soon!)

One word of warning though and this has nothing to do with the hotel - if you are taking a river boat back from visiting Citadel - you will be at the mercy of the boat crew selling their souveniers! Quite disconcerting when all you want to do is sit back and enjoy the river and it's views!

Room Tip: High floors have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear BrizyGirl,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments on trip Advisor as well as your recent stay with us!

Attentively we read through your description and we were delighted to see you have been happy with your stay, the King's Panorama Bar, the comfort of our rooms.

At Imperial Hotel Hue, we believe in guest satisfaction and to know that you have been satisfied is our reward.

Hoping that you had a save trip back home we keep on wishing to see you again in our Property and thank you for your valuable comments.

Best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue!

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel to a fast check in, welcome drink and attentive service. The rooms are very clean, well appointed and the corner room has views over the city and river. Breakfast was good and we enjoyed a drink on the rooftop bar which again has magnificent views. We ordered pizza on the rooftop bar just as a change from the wonderful Vietnamese food we have been eating for two weeks...it was disappointing, too much cheese and soggy crust. Overall a lovely hotel with great staff.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear CSCSPeth,

Firstly, thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful to receive such remarkable comments on the services provided to you during your stay, wonderful and positive remarks about the staff, our best view, facilities and services.

We are also so sorry about what you tasted our pizza!

Rest assured that your feedback will inspire us to continue to give the best experience to all our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue!

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this hotel for our only one day-and-night trip in Hue. As known for the Royal Palace,an Imperial Hotel would be a great complement I think.

But things turned out not so nice, staff was not professional enough for the level that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Felt kind of rude when they commented on our passports in front of our faces.

Breakfast was ok with various of choices. When we had the breakfast, no one amongs all the waiters and waitress passing by could notice a row of finished bowls and plates on the table, and once we asked for help, they started to notice more, even taking a half full bowl of porridge away.

Spa was a waste of money. Don't get tricked! I was appealed by the name "Royal Spa" and the 30% discount programme they offered for treatment from 9-15. It was advertised on both posters in the lifts and brochures in your rooms. When I called, the girl simply told me that the discount programme had ended already??? Choosing the most complete and expensive package, I got a very normal treatment of body and face. No tools or machines as normal spa I have always been to. Got some itches after being there.

Our room was clean, pleasantly designed and we got an excellent view for both the river and the city. Too bad it was not sound-isolated so when people closed their room, your bed shook.

Gym was small with some equipments and the pool was not impressive either.

In conclusion, they built a nice hotel align with the city's theme, but I would love too see more effort of them working on it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial H, Director of Sales at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear TanVu,

Warmest greetings from Imperial Hotel Hue!

Thank you very much for your valued review !!!. It was a great pleasure having you with us.
we are so apologize for the dissatisfaction caused.

Our management look at seriously on guest review in order to help us deliver the best service . The hotel services & maintenance teams are working on the mentioned issue now .

We look forward to seeing you again soon for another enjoyable and quality stay with us.

Best regards from Imperial Hotel Hue!

Hoai Nguyen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 8 Hung Vuong Boulevard, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hue
#9 Spa Hotel in Hue
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#13 Family Hotel in Hue
#18 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hue, the ancient capital of the Nguyen Dynasty, is the junction where northern and southern ecosystems meet. Hue boasts charming rivers, verdant hills, ancient pagodas and churches, and a rich history. Hue remains a must-see destination when visiting Vietnam, not only because of its cultural values and history, but also for its beautiful landscape and people. The majestic 16-floor Imperial Hotel Hue is nestled along the famous Perfume River, conveniently close to all the historical sites this UNESCO World Cultural Heritage city has to offer. Imperial Hotel’s well-appointed rooms and suites come beautifully furnished with classic wooden floors and panoramic river and city views. The extensive hotel facilities comprise of the Prince Club Casino, Royal Spa, Yoshihara Restaurant, Imperial Restaurant, Piano Bar and Cafe, Panorama Bar, four state-of-the-art meeting rooms, and much more. Come and explore the best Hue has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.