We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to visit 9 Uurns!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nine Dynastic Urns

Nine Dynastic Urns
near the The To Mieu Temple | inside the Imperial Enclosure, Hue, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 56 things to do in Hue
Attraction details
HCMC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Make sure to visit 9 Uurns!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Vietnam had long and continuous histories in the world. From the beginning, Vietnam was established and developed under 9 Hung Kings. Hue-ancient capital still remained their uurns. My family and I visited all 9 uurns to show our respect to them.
Every corner was beautiful. The whole place was in good maintenance.
Coming here helped us to revive a part of our history.
If you are in Hue, this is your must-be.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
2,063 reviews 2,063 reviews
1,116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 390 cities Reviews in 390 cities
1,093 helpful votes 1,093 helpful votes
“Citadel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I think that every corner of the Citadel is interesting but I'm not sure if every one deserves a review and detailed mentions. This uurns are nice but I guess that everything that I saw there is also fantastic (the museum is so so).
It's a must see in Hue. Even if you don't have time to enroll a tour and check the tombs, you have to go to the Citadel. It's amazing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
188 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“These babies survived the Tet Offensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

These Urns are beautiful and worth a look. they get even better when you recognize that they are one of the few parts of the Citidel that wasn't destroyed during the Tet offensive of Vietnamese War for Independence. Ancient Urns 1 : NVA and American Weapons 0

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Part of my tour`”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

To think this was built before Australia was ettled was pretty cool. Also make sure you go to the agricultural museum next to the bridge - the old lady there is a hoot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“AWESOME part of history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

One of the Citadel's highlights. If you don't know much about Vietnamese history, you would do well to hire a personal guide. Books are okay, but the personal perspective from someone whose relatives may have died here (or were killed by the VC) during Tet is irreplaceable. A question to ask: There are nine dynastic urns, but eleven Vietnamese dynasties. Why?

Also examine the urns for shrapnel fragments. Some are more damaged that others. Which ones and why? Look past the adjacent wall for evidence of intense fighting during 1968. Absolutely incredible reminder of what happened here during the Tet Offensive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine Dynastic Urns also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Nine Dynastic Urns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nine Dynastic Urns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.