We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate styling, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
MGallery Gourmet Morning
Ranked #6 of 109 hotels in Hue
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Immaculate styling, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here recently on a trip through Vietnam, sadly for one night only. The architecture is stunning Art Deco and the modern extensions, and internal decor, both fit perfectly.
Restaurant was great, staff really helpful and all in all a really relaxing experience. Hue is also a destination well worth visiting. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear GC75,
The “Immaculate styling, great hotel” comment is truly a great feedback to keep the team motivated as well as a great reference for the future guests who are having a plan to visit Hue city.
How grateful we are for you choosing to stay with us and for the time that you have taken to share the real “relaxing experience” at La Residence Hotel & Spa on Trip Advisor.
Once again, we hope these memorable moments at the “Stunning Art Deco hotel” will inspirit you to come back and stay longer with us next time. Our friendly & helpful team is more than happy to have had a chance to serve you.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    834
    228
    42
    14
    3
See reviews for
149
677
51
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Four nights at Hue and this hotel were the highlight of our trip. We had asked for a quiet room (wedding anniversary !) and were checked into a third floor room overlooking the river by the ebullient Mr Bang, who also presented me with a bouquet of flowers. Lovely touch. The old French Governor's residence sits at the core of the hotel, with a new wing on either side, with the art deco theme maintained throughout. Rooms are relatively spacious, the bathrooms are more compact. TV, mini bar. Breakfasts were great, with a full range of both Western and Vietnamese food available, and amazing bread and pastries. We ate at the bar twice and in the restaurant once. All were very good. The spa is also excellent - we both tried out the massages there, and the pool is fabulous. It is huge and quite deep, with a few corners to loiter in, if you want to avoid other pool goers (!)There are easy walks along Le Loi street to the more touristy areas, and you'd probably want a taxi to take you to the Citadel and beyond (unless you like walking distance in heat and humidity !). What makes this hotel special though is the staff. We really enjoyed chatting to Trang each night, the friendly lady behind the bar who made us some great cocktails and kept us supplied with peanuts; Duc, the concierge was also very helpful, and happy to make restaurant reservations for us; and finally the lovely Ian O'Brien (you find the Irish everywhere !), who gave us some great sight seeing and restaurant recommendations and came to say goodbye when we left. The whole place just felt GOOD.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor (the highest), facing the river - they are quieter and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Allcorners,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at La Residence Hotel & Spa for your special wedding anniversary and for taking the time to post your very positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We use this means of communication for direct feedback from our guests in order to make changes for our guests to have a more comfortable and enjoyable stay. It is always so pleasurable to read complimenting synopsis's such as yours where we couldn't find any flaws. The whole team here are elated to the fact that they were able to provide you with very memorable moments for you to return home with. We are indeed quite lucky to have inherited the old French Governors Residence which lies on the high banks of the legendary Perfume River. We are very proud of our unique swimming pool, the only saltwater quirky shaped and very deep pool in Hue and thusly thrilled that you enjoyed splashing around there. Evidently, both of you enjoyed the F&B services at our luxurious hotel and all staff departments were informed accordingly. All the staff were beaming when they read your post, in particular, the very competent pastry chef, the excellent Spa team members, the always exuberant Mr. Bang, the cheerful Ms. Duc, the effervescent Mr. Trang and the well travelled Irishman were all delighted by your kind touching words. This is fantastic for staff morale to hear directly from the guests regarding their hard work. Our only hope is that we can have another opportunity to welcome you back to Hue in the near future. If there is anything else we can do please let us know.
Kind regards,

Phan Trong Minh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Well, we pulled up out the front and I thought OMG!! Snobsville! Luckily I was wrong.
This Hotel is fantastic. Its just beautiful, both outside and inside. Rooms are lovely and quiet, we had a poolside and garden view - just lovely. The hotel was not very busy (off season) so we had the place pretty much to ourselves, including the pool.
The Staff (especially in Reception) were fantastic. Such happy, friendly, helpful staff. We had a blast here. We found the pool table around midnight on the 1st night.
Breakfast was terrific. Beautiful set-up indoor and outdoor. Impeccable service and food at this hotel. Its a bit of a walk to town but we did it every night and came back along the river where market stalls are set up each night. Reception organised for us to do a motorbike trip to the countryside and we had so much fun. I really loved it here..

Room Tip: I think any room would be good, but if busy don't go too close to the pool. Would be a bit nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Lady-Carolyn E,

First of all, please allow me to thank you for choosing La Residence Hotel & Spa and for the valuable comment that you have posted on Trip Advisor.

It is rewarding for us to read that you were satisfied with the overall hotel experiences pertaining to the beauty of the hotels interior & exterior, “lovely & quiet room”, nice pool & garden, “friendly & helpful staff” and “terrific breakfast”. The Reception team members were especially happy to see their great effort & hard work have been realized by your kind compliments.
Yes, La Residence hotel & Spa is a “fantastic” hotel, situated on the banks of the fabled Perfume River in a tranquil part of the city, and in addition there is a beautiful walk along the river adjacent to Le Loi Street which takes only a few minutes to the central shopping area and the beautiful landscapes surrounding the city. It was great to see that you had good memorable moments from your countryside tour.
Finally, we hope to have a chance to serve you again at this “lovely” property.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very good hotel with precious art deco decor. Spacious nicely decorated room which faced the garden, so it was very quiet. Good breakfast. Due to the rainy weather, we stayed there just for one night and it was low season, but even so we could feel the perfect atmosphere of this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Veralucia46,
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at La Residence Hotel & Spa during your recent visit to Hue. It was a pity about the weather was not good for the night you spent here but I'm glad that you enjoyed the “spacious and nicely decorated garden view room” and our breakfast buffet. I hope that we can have an opportunity to welcome you back some day. Thank you again for taking the time to post your valuable feedback.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour round Vietnam. After a long drive from Danang Airport (Hue was closed) we arrived after midnight. The staff member on duty was extremely friendly and checked us in efficiently whilst we enjoyed a welcome drink. To be fair all we wanted was our beds and he arranged our bags to be delivered as quick as possible. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were extremely comfy. It is also ideally located for a stroll into town and not far from La Citadel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the pool a welcome relief after a cycle tour round Hue on a very hot and humid day (especially as we had it to ourselves). The hotel was quiet when we stayed which was great, we didn't see too many people during our time there. The variety at breakfast offered more than enough choice. One final recommendation is to try La Citadel Cocktail - probably one of the best I tried in Vietnam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Lady B,

Let me take this opportunity on behalf of the whole team to thank you for making La Residence your choice of stay while on your recent visit to Hue and also for posting your positive feedback on Trip advisor. We monitor this avenue of communication from guests regularly as we use this information to better ourselves for current and future guests. In addition, the positive comments left by contributors such as yourself really give a boost to our teams morale when they read comments like “the staff were extremely helpful and friendly”.
We were only too happy to luxuriate you after your long drive from Denang with a welcome drink and “extremely comfy and beautiful rooms”. Evidently you really enjoyed our large breakfast buffet variety and some of our signature cocktails. I hope this means that we may have a chance to accommodate and service you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Wherever we travelled in Viet Nam it was difficult to fault the service and the same is especially true of the staff at La Residence who managed always to be polite and attentive but never intrusive.

The hotel is an absolute gem, the former french governors residence (the clue is in the name) is well placed and a brilliant example of the best Art Deco style with fantastic detail from lamps and light fittings to door handles and balustrades. The gardens and pool are beautiful and there's real talent in the restraunt kitchen where traditional Vietnamese dishes are given classical french treatment and desserts include real expert french patisserie.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Peter R,
May I take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of the entire team here at the hotel for the very positive synopsis you have posted. As a team, we pay a lot of attention to all feedback received through the Trip Advisor channel because we believe it is the most honest and direct form of feedback; allowing us to use your comments to make effective improvements.
It is great to see that your overall experience at the “best Art Deco style” hotel has been above your expectation; thank you for the positive comment pertaining to our “polite, attentive” & discreet staff, especially the Culinary Team who were very pleased to read the kind compliments that you have written about them by the “real talent” between Vietnamese & Classical French fusion cuisine and “expert French patisserie”.
Admittedly, La Residence Hotel is very fortunate to inherit the Colonial French Architecture from the former. Therefore, we are very proud of our beautiful property and the team is constantly working very hard to well maintain the hotel to keep in a best possible shape. We are also very happy to see that you really liked every fantastic detail Art Deco style decorations of the hotel.
Once again, we highly appreciate you for taking the time to share these experiences on Trip Advisor.
We hope to welcome you back in next time.
Warmest Regards,
Phan Trong Minh
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

After 3 hours of scenic drive over Cloudy Ocean Pass that we had enjoyed very much and we finally checked-in La Residence Hotel in Hue city that was booked through my agent in Vietnam, our first impressions of this boutique hotel is very well located, by the riverside and very convenient accessible to the city's restaurants and bars and just crossing the Trang Tien bridge to all main attractions.We were welcomed with a delightful bottle of Sauvignon Blanc in our room and hot water bottles at night to warm the bed. The room and bathroom were chic and beautifully appointed. And our room at the top floor had a fabulous view. Highly recommend a stay at La Residence. The service, accommodations and staff were a terrific start to our 2 day adventure in Hue! 

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaResidenceManager, Manager at La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Prunegoujon,
I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at La Residence Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to post your favorable feedback on Trip Advisor. Many of our guests enjoy the trip from Danang to Hue when going over the Hai Van Pass with beautiful views of the coast line, including its bays and inlets. I read with pleasure that you enjoyed our “chic and beautiful rooms and bathrooms” and that you found La Residence convenient location by the Perfume River perfect for easily connecting to anywhere you needed to get to in our historical quaint city. We are always motivated by comments such as yours: “the service, accommodations and staff were terrific” and rest assured I will share this with the whole team. I hope we can welcome you again in the near future if you should have find yourself in Vietnam again.
Kind regards,
Phan trong Minh
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa

Address: 5 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hue
#2 Family Hotel in Hue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hue
#5 Business Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Hue Hotel And Spa
La Residence Hue Hotel Hue
La Residence Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Residence Hue Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.