We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel right slap bang in the centre of things!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Asia Hotel to your Saves list
Asia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Pham Ngu Lao Street, Hue 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great hotel right slap bang in the centre of things!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was upgraded to the Asia suite. Very impressive on 10th floor with a view of the river and the bridge! A great place to watch the world go by.
The room was enormous with a 40 inch LCD TV. Separate seating area with sofa and king size bed. The room had a jacuzzi but there was something wrong with the COLD water so I could not take a shower unless it was a piping hot one. Maintenance came to fix it but they couldn't seem to change the settings. As it was getting late, I asked reception if I could use the shower in another room. They offered to change my room, but as I'd unpacked I didn't want to have to move everything out to another room. So they gave me the key to another room on 10th floor to take a shower and by the time I got back in the evening, after dinner, they had fixed the problem.
The hotel is located in Pham Ngu Lao (backpackers district) and there are lots of eateries in the area. It's not too noisy and there are lots of travel agents around where you can book onward travel. I had a problem finding a train ticket for Da Nang and it just so happened that the hotel had a couple of spares which came in very handy.
All in all, I was very satisfied with the hotel. Some attention could have been given to dusting. This was only apparent at night when the spotlights went on. Also the lighting in the room was quite poor especially around the desk so I just moved my laptop to the bar area. I would recommend this hotel for the view and location and a good hearty breakfast

Room Tip: Enjoy the view from the high floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    194
    59
    10
    1
See reviews for
61
170
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Asia Hotel in Pham Ngu Lao St in Hue is our favorite place in Hue as it is great value, has a pool on level 7 overlooking the city (Pools are a great thing in Hue in Summer), Has really comfy mattresses, big rooms, really friendly staff, and a huge selection on the buffe breakfast.
If staying here I'd also recommend going next door to Les Carambole Restaurant and getting them to arrange you a table at Les Jardins de La Carambole(No.1 on TA in Hue), over in the Citadel on the opposite side of the river. The two restaurants are owned by the same family. Our family usually gets a cyclo over and a taxi back.
The Asia Hotel. The wife's favorite. She's happy, I'm happy.

Room Tip: It's tall, so it's got views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after our first was full. This hotel was GREAT. Outdoor pool inside the hotel with a bar, and a better breakfast than I could cook in my own house. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is centrally situated close to markets, restaurants, clubs and shops. It is clean and pleasant and the staff are helpful and attentive. The rooms are very average - we spent only 1 night there and I felt it was enough. I had my hair washed and dried at the salon in the basement and my husband had a massage - a good experience. The breakfast was good and I think it is worthwhile staying here if in Hue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were just here 2 nights but it was ideal for walking, restaurants and sight seeing. the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room and bathroom were clean and good size. We had a great breakfast. Our bell boy pointed to the Canadian flag on his cap. Charming

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel was ideal for us during our stay on Hue. The location is easily one of the best in town. It is central to the markets and river and tours which originate near here. The room was great with a view over the river and staff who were keen to assist us. The views from the roof and pool area are well worth it and give you a break after a long day of exploring the city and the wonderful surrounds. Our room was small but very cosy and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was the hotel that we were staying at as part of our cycling tour and we booked 2 additional nights at the start so we could see a bit more of Hue. The reception and door staff were extremely friendly and helped us check in quickly (which was great as we were quite tired after travelling). The room was lovely and spacious, comfortable king size bed, chaise lounge and flat screen TV. We were lucky enough to be on the 9th floor with a river facing room so the view was lovely. We appreciated the bath robes, room safe, and loved the bath/shower setup. Breakfast buffet on the 7th floor was amazing, fantastic fresh bread rolls and croissants, a lady to cook fried eggs or omelettes, and plenty of other dishes. Great location in a busy street with plenty of restaurants and shops, easy walk down to the river (catch a boat to the other side or walk a bit further and across the bridge).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Hotel

Address: 17 Pham Ngu Lao Street, Hue 84, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#10 Spa Hotel in Hue
#16 Family Hotel in Hue
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Asia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated as a four star hotel in May 2014 by Vietnam Tourism Administration, Asia hotel offers 87 luxurious guests room and suites. Each guest rooms offeres a king or queen size, or twin bed. All rooms are equipped with hair dryers , electronic key cards and safety boxes, free wireless and ADSL internet, satelite T.V IDD phones in room and in bathroom, airconditoners with temperature controls, bathrooms with tube and shower, Jaccuzi and steambath (in suite rooms), exquisite cotton bathrobes, fine linens, down duvets and feather bed, free local calls and 24 room services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.