We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre but Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lang Co Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lang Co Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lang Co Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lang Co Town | Phu Loc District, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 112 Hotels in Hue
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bizarre but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The place is strange. Each day it is inundated with national tourists, but they only stay for one night and then leave. The national tourists stay inside between the hours of 10am - 4pm as they are terrified of catching the sun. Therefore you have a fabulous pool and beautiful beach all to yourself. It's simply wonderful, yet slightly unnerving.

There are loads of terrible reviews about the staff being dreadful. But they're not. The ladies who work on reception in the day time are incredibly cold and unhelpful, but everyone else is simply wonderful - if you drop them a smile, they'll be so kind to you for your whole stay. Unlike everywhere else in Vietnam, this place does not want to sell you any tours or any bus tickets or any other expensive tourist rubbish - therefore, unlike everywhere else, they don't need to be fake nice to you.

Avoid the weekend for goodness sake. While we were there, there was up to 25 people staying in one room (counted the shoes outside), drinking heavily and singing loudly into the night. As a westerner, it's unbearable, and the staff are unable to control it.

The week days are simply serene though.

I personally find the poor reviews unfounded. It's perfect, paradise on your doorstep, away from all the disgusting 'travellers' wearing saggy vests and storming through the country on motorbikes.

Avoid the hotel restaurant though. It's not delicious and it's very overpriced. £7 for a (sweet bread) sandwich. There is a delicious sea food restaurant, less than 10 minutes walk away, on the lake. I forget the name, but it's the one with the shortest pier to walk down. The two with the longer piers out onto the lake aren't so pleasant.

There are jellyfish in the sea, we only saw them around midday though. Not sure if they're dangerous or not - but keep an eye out while your floating around.

Enjoy this untouched paradise. Before it becomes developed and disgusting.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    17
    11
    3
See reviews for
13
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The rates are quite good if you book via Agoda or Booking.com. Don't bother the standard room, it's cheap but just crap. The superior is good.

The beach is beautiful and not so crowded.

Good service in general.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

very poor first impression, staff are slow and seemingly uninterested, room was ok but air con made a lot of noise, no pool or beach towels so using 1 towel for everything, F&B not at all impressive

but really lovely beach and worth the visit just for that

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Very lovely old world peaceful, feel to this place. The beach is beautiful and rooms very comfortable and traditional. Lovely feel to this place. Great place for an overnight or couple of day stop in between places. The English barrier is a bit difficult though.. We hired a driver to take us to Danang for the day which was really fantastic... I think it cost about 50 Aud for the day and for him to take us everywhere . Well worth a visit for a day or nights stay

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This resort has had its best days. We had a great hotel in Hue and booked 2 nights in this resort. Comparing to the warm, friendly and sincere staff in Hue, the staff behind the reception were a huge let down of our experience in this resort.

We booked a villa overlooking the garden and sea. The girl behind the reception tried to sell us a beachfront villa,which we turned down. She then told me she arranged for us the villa with a double bed as an extra service. Last time I was checking we booked a villa with a double bed.That pretty much set the tone for the whole stay. When I complained about the dirty guestroom she gave me a broom to go sweep the room myself. I have never met staff with such a bad attitude before! maybe I shouldn't have started speaking vietnamese to her at all.

When you need to book a private car to Danang or Hoi An please dont book with them. She ordered an old cab, without the taxi sign for us at a rate of 950.000 vnd, special rate! The taxidriver (probably her brother) we met the day before and he drives like a maniac. If you have the chance go across the street and order a private car of the very friendly and sincere restaurant owners (right of the crosswalk) at a far better rate! Too bad we already booked. Or have lunch at their place, they made our Langco beach stay so much better.

The pool was huge and clean, the beach was dissapointing. During our stay we saw washed up jellyfish.

Based on my experience I would not recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

In spite of under whelming, slow service and the rather expensive meals (the cocktails are good though), I would still recommend this hotel on the basis that its in the most beautiful and glorious location. Consider finding the restaurants by the lagoon for an unforgettable eating experience and a fraction of the price you will pay the hotel and a far more "real" dining feeling.
With some decent management, I am sure this place could be an absolute gem.

Pros
Comfortable sunbeds
Lovely pool
Great massage

Cons
Prices at hotel
Hassles to buy gifts
Poor Quality Bathrooms
Disinterested looking staff

Room Tip: get an ocean view room it's worth it for the view from the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night passing through. Relaxed and comfortable resort. We stayed in a garden room for $50. Room offered all facilities, good wi fi. The hotel is on a lovely stretch of beach, great pool area. The beach restaurant was the only one open. My only criticism of this hotel is it lacked atmosphere, as not very busy and one restaurant closed. The bikes had definitely seen better days, and nothing to do outside of resort. Having said that it's a great hotel and I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lang Co Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang Co Beach Resort

Address: Lang Co Town | Phu Loc District, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hue
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hue
#20 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lang Co Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lang Co Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lang Co Beach Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lang Co Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.