We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake is the major attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomb of Tu Duc

Tomb of Tu Duc
Hue, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$74*
and up
Private Tour: Hue City Sightseeing Including...
Ranked #8 of 33 Attractions in Hue
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The final resting-place of this Nguyen Dynasty emperor and scholar was built before his death. A lake, pavilion and theatre still exist on the grounds.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lake is the major attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The antique architecture is fine, and I enjoyed the elaborate unpainted woodwork of the interiors. It isn't a mausoleum in the Western sense, but a kind of temple complex. The landscaping impressed me more than the architecture. The small lake has an elegant viewing pavilion, and in June and July the lotus must be splendid (there were few flowers and the leaves were turning brown when I was there in August).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    263
    90
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“so impressed- went back 4 years later...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

dont revisit too many times however this was so prominent in our minds from our only 1 day 2009 trip, we just had to. Beautiful, peaceful place. Fairly cool compared to actual daytime temps as so much beautiful pine forest inside. Has changed a bit with some things being pulled down n rebuilt- just hope it is not too good and still has the not-so-perfect charm it had. A shame to see stalls inside there now.
The women stall keepers outside the tomb walls ran out on to the road as we slowed to look for a park- they actually blocked the road 'making' us stop- wanting us to park in 'their' spots n try to hoodwink you into paying for parking if you do not buy from them as you walk out. I do not believe at all that they have parking rights,I bought a water but would not pay for parking.
We kept scootering straight ahead after this and turned left into the suburbs- was another highlight of the trip as locals come out to see if you are lost etc- love the interaction n local insights. Is a smaller shrine or two further down the road as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The tombs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The tombs need a lot of work to restore them to their original state but are great to visit and to learn the history of them

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“beautiful but it's renovated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we went there for a round 1 hour to see inside. It's a lovely place to se. but some are under contruction or renovation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a stunning place to explore with lots of hidden nooks and crannies. We have teenagers, but it would be a great place for people with young children to let off a bit of steam. Quite run down in places, but that's it charm.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomb of Tu Duc also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Tomb of Tu Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomb of Tu Duc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.