We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thien Mu Pagoda

Thien Mu Pagoda
On the bank of the Perfume River, Hue, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Visit Thien Mu Pagoda like an insider
Private Tour
$74*
and up
Private Tour: Hue City Sightseeing Including...
Ranked #5 of 56 things to do in Hue
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Possibly Hue’s most recognizable landmark, this pagoda contains numerous living and working buildings for its resident monks, a bell tower and a seven-tiered monument in front.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“quiet and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Thien Mu is very beautiful pagoda and worth to see. The entrance and the tower of the pagoda are beautiful, and the grounds further inside are also very pretty. From the pagoda, we can see many old architecture the next side of the river. This is the place the monk came from who set himself on fire in protest at treatment of the monks - famous photograph of this. it's very quiet and peaceful

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    459
    119
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Approach by boat for maximum effect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Do yourself a favor and arrive by boat. The view on approach, with the large, steep stairs climbing upward to the towering Pagoda above is awesome. We took a very inexpensive boat tour booked in the backpacker district that departed from the landing by the bridge and went downriver to this pagoda and then onward to Ming Mang's tomb ( also had a stop at an old garden house as well ) and highly recommend doing the same. The slow approach to the landing is a site to behold, truly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We cycled to the Pagoda along the Perfume River, which after the chaos of cycling among the scooters was a haven of peace and relaxation (that and we were glad we were alive to see it!!). The views from the Pagoda were lovely and watching the monks pray was very relaxing. We spoke with the novice monks as they were interested in practising their English. Definitely worth a visit - if you go look inside the huge bell by the Pagoda and you'll see messages that supposedly was left by young romancing couples to each other!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited this beautiful Pagoda with a guide who explained everything in detail including which is the correct entrance to go through etc. The Pagoda is beautiful and the grounds extremely clean which was very refreshing after just arriving from Hanoi. The monks live on the grounds making this a very peaceful place. The gardens are exquisite and the bonsai very beautiful. Because we were there in March, the orchids were in bloom and a lot of the bonsai were flowering which made this beautiful Pagoda and grounds even more appealing. A definite must when visiting Hue.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was nice to see the young boys playing soccer and the great shrubs, trees and of course the beautiful pagoda.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thien Mu Pagoda also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Thien Mu Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien Mu Pagoda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.