We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View rural life from this historical bridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Toan Bridge

Thanh Toan Bridge
Thanh Toan, Hue, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 56 things to do in Hue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Wellington, NZ
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“View rural life from this historical bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I agree with everything that Haggis-supper's review said and would add that this is great as part of a motorcycle tour. I took this sight in along with the tombs as part of my half day on the bike with Hue Motorbike Trail Mr Tien. See separate review

He went seriously off road to get me there through beautiful villages and countryside and rice fields which gave a glimpse to county life and how different rural life is from city life

The story of the bridge is quite lovely. A local lady who had done well for herself paid for it and the shrine on it is in memory of her

The local villagers pay their respects and honour her daily

Well worth a trip out as part of a day tour around Hue

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Northern England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A bridge over the not too troubled water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a bit out of the way. But the motorbike taxi lads and other small tours will bring you here. !Check out the museum next door. The old woman is a delight!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No charge, in nice little rice village,small museum nearby with the story of rice production.bridge built in 1776

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A real local market next to the bridge, the fascinating farm museum and special old lady who can speak English well stays on the bridge for palm reading to tell the future of someone. It is worth to visit this place while in Hue

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Better than Hoi An Japanese bridge and a lovely glimpse into local life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our tour company suggested a wee trip out here early one morning. It requires a brief drive out of Hue into the countryside and through a couple of local villages with some great pagodas to sleepy Thuy Thanh village.

The bridge is very similar in style and architecture to the Japanese bridge in Hoi An but the free admission, quiet country surroundings and lack of tacky tourist shops/stalls made this a much more enjoyable experience.

Next to the bridge was a wonderful local market, largely free of dodgy tourist tat, fake t-shirts and handbags. We strolled around and watch the locals go about there business - with stalls selling fruit, vegetables, fish, meat, clothes, etc etc etc. A fabulous chance to take in local life without hassle or pressures. Indeed the locals were very friendly and happy to be photographed.

On the bridge we met a number of local school girls who wanted to talk and say hello. Across the bridge there is a very small but nonetheless interesting "museum" that demonstrates how rice is transformed from the fields into everyday produce. A 10 minute guide from an interesting and engaging local. There was also a very old lady offering to tell your fortune. She was extremely busy so I'll have to wait to find out what life has in store for me.

If you have the time to get out here we would highly recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh Toan Bridge also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Thanh Toan Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Toan Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.