We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great for party animals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Google Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Google Hotel to your Saves list
Google Hotel
26 - 28 Tran Cao Van, Hue 47000, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Xuan Hotel (Khách sạn Thanh Xuân))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 91 Hue B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value and great for party animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great value little place. I haven't stayed in any other hostels in Vietnam but compared to the hostels in South America and compared even to some little hotels I've stayed in in Vietnam, this place is great.
The rooms are spacious, airy, bright and clean. The bathroom is fully equipped with nice hot showers. The staff are really helpful and immediately sorted me out with a bus to Hoi An.
In the evenings there's free beer, and a restaurant serving western and Vietnamese food all day. There is loud music playing all day though, which makes the place noisy if you want to sleep at night. As with everywhere in Vietnam, you will need ear plugs, and don't stay here if you don't like loud music at night! Great for party animals though.
The breakfast is fairly decent - there's a menu with loads of different things and different prices, and they tell you it's free for people staying in the hotel, but it's not clear what you're entitled to. I got a plate of fruit and a baguette with a cheese triangle and a coffee, but when I asked for a second cheese triangle they said I'd have to pay!
Finally, I saw a massive rat on the street just outside the hotel where there are some tables and chairs for the restaurant. (Ie if you'd been sitting at that table you'd have had a rat at your feet). Bit gross, but it wasn't actually IN the hotel, and the guy took the opportunity to kill it with a broom...
What can I say?!
Anyway, this place is still pretty clean inside and I would totally recommend it for young backpackers but not necessarily for families. The staff are very sociable too. And the Take Japanese restaurant next door is brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    84
    29
    22
    12
See reviews for
10
83
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff are quite pushy, one lied to us about the distance to the citadel to try to sell us a moto ride. Check in was slow, and they don't seem to be able to access any online bookings or to use the credit card machine if the manager is not there. However, rooms were clean and cheap, and staff we generally really friendly. And free beer from 5pm!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on the lonely planet recommendation, and it delivered. Best place we stayed in this price range on our entire trip. Very clean, very nice shower/bathroom, great staff - very friendly and helpful, great location and good amenities... Cheap laundry, free pool, free beer!!!

Stayed in late June and forgot to write a review but I have written a late one as I want to support this hotel as it was so good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location within walking distance of the Citadel and very close to the river. Good restaurants nearby (Little Italy was a favourite). However our room description was slightly misleading as we had booked a 'Garden Room' and upon arrival there was no garden and our room was slightly shabby. To give the staff credit they upgraded us to a satisfactory room and were helpful and friendly for the remainder of our trip. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

As a family travelling through Vietnam we were slightly concerned about the apparent 'backpacker feel' to this hotel, but we were throughly pleased with it. Although it is aimed towards young 20 year olds the atmosphere is great for families too. The rooms are some of the best we have stayed in for this price range, the showers are lovely and the bathrooms extremely clean. Very efficient air conditioning and nice big breakfast menu to choose from.
(The only downer is that you can only order one thing for free from the breakfast menu, so if you want eggs and bread and jam - think again!! Also you have to pay separately for juice!!!)
There is a nice pool table which is family friendly, and the free beer until midnight suited my parents well! It was in a great location and really friendly staff. Only thing is I wouldnt eat lunch and dinner here - go next door to the Mandarin Cafe to see Mr Cu, or turn right to the Take Japanese restaurant, or take a short taxi to La Carambole for some lovely French cuisine.
I would definitely stay here again and we were actually a bit upset that we only spent one night! Because of the fantastic night's sleep we could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The rooms were really good value. The guys outside are really friendly and maybe a bit cocky, which is funny if you can switch it on them. The pool que doesn't have a cushion on the tip but who cares when the beer is free. The showers were really nice, and if you can get a three person room you are living like a king for backpacker prices. There is a weird old man that must own the hotel that hangs around at night, but he is hospitable in a way I can only imagine men are after living through a war ie a good chap with a thousand yard stare and firm handshake. Try a joke on him, he is immune. But everything is good here if you like to meet people, drink beer and retire to pleasant quarters.

Room Tip: Phang Nga caves is worthy of a day trip, however you will have to be in a bus 5 hours each way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Yes, there is free beer, tea and coffee. Especially the free beer form 5 pm until the tap is empty, sit outside and watch the staff's undying effort to lure people in with the free beer. The will to keep the beers coming stays good when you also order a pizza, or 2 for 1 actually, which are pretty good. If you like the showy style of the Vietnamese guys, you will have a great time. We rented motorbikes from the hotel, which are good, we did a good 150 miles on them in two days. They will help you out with anything. Rooms are clean and have a window, no prob with airco or warm water. Wifi can be a bit instable. Location is good, unless you would rather be in the more tourisy Southbank area. Some good restaurants close to the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Google Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Google Hotel

Address: 26 - 28 Tran Cao Van, Hue 47000, Vietnam (Formerly Thanh Xuan Hotel (Khách sạn Thanh Xuân))
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanh Xuan Hotel stays in the heart of an old citadel ancient city that have many landscapes with a long history. Few steps from shops, Trang Tien bridge, Perfume river, restaurants... Absolutely worth spending your vacation in here! Thanh Xuan Hotel has been seen as a 3 star hotel that has great service, friendly, give you the feeling of being home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Google Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Google Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.