We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but French roots forgotten when it comes to food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Saigon Morin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Saigon Morin to your Saves list
Hotel Saigon Morin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, but French roots forgotten when it comes to food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Upgraded to a spacious suite with character. Attentive service with respect to advice, laundry, etc. The major disappointment was supper. We went for a special lobster dinner that was expensive 650k dong per person where the lobster tasted like overcooked mussels and service rushed and impersonal. Breakfast has a good range but quality is middling. Bar was nearly empty and without character. Great place to sleep and relax, but make use of the restaurants and bars in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Dcheney555,

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for taking time to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see your notes that our hotel is a great place to sleep and relax. We also happy to hear that you enjoyed our room character and attentive service.

However, it is deeply disappointing to hear that our hotel service could not up to the level of your expectation because of our F&B service.

Hotel’s history are typical characters. We will keep the colonial style and try our best to upgrade hotel service in general and F&B service in particularly to bring the enjoyable and comfortable for anyone who choose Hotel Saigon Morin as guest’s satisfaction is our reason of work.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you and look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you the positive experience you have come to expect from us.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    336
    84
    18
    4
See reviews for
126
490
40
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had heard from friends about the Saigon Morin before we got to Hue. Mrs Ha of Vietland Travel also did not hesitate to book this hotel for us when I told her we wanted a nice hotel. Front desk service was excellent when we arrived. All documentation was ready and we just had to sign and leave our passports for copies to be made. We got to our rooms in no time at all.

It's a very old building but obviously lots of tender loving care had been put into it and it is still very presentable and rich with history. We learnt that actor Charlie Chaplin spent his honeymoon there!! Wow !! We felt thrilled to be staying in the same hotel !!

The rooms are large and I think most come with balcony. Though the hotel is located right next to a busy road, the sound insulation was pretty good and sleep was not a problem. Do take the time to walk around the corridors and learn about the rich history from the numerous pictures that adorn the walls.

The most pleasant part of our stay here was the morning breakfast. Good variety of western menu as well as Vietnamese noodles. We really enjoyed the noodles here and more so in the relaxing garden setting. We had also made the right decision to visit Hue during the winter month of January when the temperature was cool and very pleasant. Every morning, the whole bunch of us really enjoyed the breakfast, the ambience and the fellowship.

Saigon Morin is also located just opposite the nightly riverside market stalls that line the riverside. If one walks across the bridge and turn right, there is also the local market where one can view all the local delicacies, garmets etc etc. There is also a supermarket nearby.

There are also many eateries behind the hotel if one is prepared to explore a bit. For more eateries and shopping, turn right when you come out of the Hotel's main entrance, walk along the road Le Loi next to the river for about 400 meters. The few roads on the right such as Chu Van An and Pham Ngo Lao are loaded with eateries and shops for the tourists. Dont forget to bargain.

And visiting the Imperial City is also quite ideal. Just cross the Truong Tieu Bridge and turn left. And voila...you are there !!

All in....a lovely and ideal place to stay.

Room Tip: Understand all the rooms, whether twin or double, comes with at least two beds ! Those with kids wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Patanlai,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us, especially in immediately check-in service, hotel history and the breakfast in the beautiful garden.

All your comments will help us to providing the true insight into our hotel experience for all our future guests when they are researching place to stay in Hue.

Do look forward to welcoming you and your family/friend to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
693 reviews 693 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 317 cities Reviews in 317 cities
536 helpful votes 536 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I only spent one night, from what I saw a longer stay would have been better. An historic hotel but very modern with a good pool and staff

Very large layout so if u have mobility problems ask accordingly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mr. OntarioCanuck,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay longer. I will ensure that all the hotel management and staff are made aware of your feedback as they really happy to see the result of their hard work and efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friend to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were brought here for lunch on a city tour. There was a buffet meal in a beautiful garden. Great variety of excellent food served from an attractive covered area. The service was good. We did not stay here but the building and public areas were impressive and we would stay if we were choosing accommodation in Hue

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear M. Djpend,

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for choosing Hotel Saigon Morin.

Thank you so much for taking time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see your notes that you enjoyed the buffet lunch at our beautiful garden with great variety of excellent food served from an attractive covered area and good service. We also glad to hear that you will choose our hotel in the next time in Hue.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel very much reminded me of what I had imagined Vietnam to be-a beautiful example of French old world charm in a beautiful southeast Asian setting. The hotel is right along the Perfume River, in the heart of downtown Hue. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance, and it's a short cab ride to many more within the walls of the citadel. The breakfast was good and served in the beautiful courtyard. The rooms were nice with a bathtub and a shower, roomy and charming. The staff were very friendly (like most people in Vietnam). If we visit Hue again, we would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear M. Katie60750,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your experience during your stay with us. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay again. We will share your compliments to all of our management and staff to encourage them in their jobs.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our room (231, deluxe room) was huge, it had a balcony but no chairs :-(. Since the room was facing the river it was sort of noisy from the street. The room and bathroom was clean, except the bedding had a moldy smell to it. What I found a waste of environmental resources is that the towels get changed a twice a day The breakfast buffet, which is outside in the garden :-), has a great variety of foods to choose from. In the evening you can enjoy some great cocktails there.
Lot's of bus tours are staying there and I guess that is the reason they had a Vietnamese show there in the evening.
They have elevator carpets which are changed according to the time of day which I found cute. Also instead of sweets they put a good night story on you bed, which I think is a great idea.

The Spa I can not really recommend. I booked a 60 min. foot massage of which they use 15 min. for a bubble bath with no one in sight :-(. After some yelling for service someone finally showed up and I explained that I had booked a one hour foot massage and not a long bubble bath for my feet. They than added the time back on to the massage.

Around the hotel: River park with gift stands appearing at night, close to Toa Kham pier (perfume river boats terminal). Also "Foreigner Street" is in walking distance for restaurants and shops. You can also easily cross the river in front of the hotel to get to the other side. Outside there were always rickshaw rides available if you don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mrs. Monika1958,

First of all, we would like to thank you so much for taking time to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to see your notes that you loved the way we arranged the greeting carpets in the elevator and the story on your bed in the evening. We also happy to hear that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast in the courtyard. It is our pleasure to make your stay pleasantly.

At the moment, we have a strictly policy to save our environment and it was trained to all hotel management and staff to implement. We will focus to update the environment policy for the hotel staff to remind them to do their jobs with a professional attitude in the next time.

Regarding to the foot massage service, we are so sorry to make you confused because the staff’s explanation about massage procedure is not clear. Guests would receive a complimentary sauna service before or after the massage treatment.

Hotel’s history is a special character. We will keep the colonial style and improve our services to be better in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut/Quito
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, had a river view and balcony room, and enjoyed our visit. This is the oldest hotel in Hue. It is a beautiful, colonial hotel decorated with photographs showing its history and that of the city. There are many restaurants nearby, a teeny bopper night market across the street along the river, beautiful views of the bridge and colonial buildings lining the street from the windows, a lovely garden setting for the included buffet breakfast, evening music and movie entertainment and pleasant, accommodating staff. Its easy to walk to the citadel and ancient areas too. If anything, the hotel suffers from having too much space. The rooms are huge, but since we no longer travel with trunks with wardrobes, there is much empty floor. Same thing may be said for the lobby, although the window seating is a nice waiting area and place to consume the delicious welcome drink or read the daily newspapers. The staff was helpful when asked, offered restaurant suggestions, maps, and when one sent me to the wrong area of the hotel came to find me with the correct directions, and then shared history of that area. Everything in our room was perfect including the fresh fruit. Other reviews have covered the pool, garden, etc. It is really nice to find beautiful buildings like this still maintained and available for travelers to experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Saigon_Morin, General Manager at Hotel Saigon Morin, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear M. SoAmertransplant,

Greetings from Hotel Saigon Morin, Hue!

Many thanks for your kind and positive comments regarding to the experience during your stay with us.

We are so glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. These comments will keep our team motivated.

Hotel’s history is a special character. We will try our best keep the colonial style and improve our services and upgrade hotel facilities to be better in the future as well. Should you have any suggestion, we highly appreciate if you can share with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family/friends to Hotel Saigon Morin in the nearest future.

Kind regards,
Tran Van Tam/Mr.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Saigon Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saigon Morin

Address: 30 Le Loi St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hue
#6 Spa Hotel in Hue
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#10 Family Hotel in Hue
#13 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saigon Morin 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1901 by French, the Morin Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Vietnam. Survived through many wars, this is more than a hotel, It's a part of the history of Hue city in the last 110 years. Now lovingly restored to its century-old glory, Saigon Morin is once again ready to live up to its reputation as the choice of celebrities, intrepid adventures and businessmen. The Hotel offers every thing a discerning traveler would expect form a world class hotel without sacrificing the old world charm that made the Morin Hotel legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saigon Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon Morin Hotel
Saigon Morin Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Saigon Morin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.