We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many things not working” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Le Loi Street | Thua thien, Hue 54, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Too many things not working”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were only at the Huong Giang Hotel in Hue for one night but we had a mixed experience.

The room itself we were given was large with its own lounge area and a separate area for the bed and nice views over the Perfume River. The room was fairly modern, clean and had everything you needed for a night.

So that part of the room was perfect

After 15hours on an overnight train all we really wanted was a long hot shower but unfortunately both showers in the room were not operational. They were fixed by the time we came back from dinner a few hours later but then we had no hot water.....the safe that didn't work was also fixed this time as well.

The other disappointment was the WiFi, while the hotel had it everywhere, apparently you were lucky to get it to show but you had no hope of connecting, if you sat in one part of the lobby it worked but very very slow...so basically no WiFi here.

Overall the hotel was just OK, just the little bits and pieces you now expect for a major hotel to have...showers and WiFi!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Nguyen N, General Manager Secretary at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Nzer_on_tour,

Firstly, thank you for your believe & choosing Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa as your accommodation last time.

We are pleased with your compliment on our hotel room but it was so regrettable to know your incidents. We requested Housekeeping Manager to check all in-room equipments before giving rooms to customers. It was our shortcomings that we hope you would accept our apology for inconvenience caused to you during your stay. For the Wifi, IT Manager will try to minimize the interruption & we hope that with your generosity, we will still gain your trust to choose Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa for your stay when you have opportunity coming back Hue.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor & we wish your next trips will be memorable.

Warmest regards,
Nguyen Thi Dieu, Mrs
General Manager Secretary
Email: sec@huonggianghotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    169
    77
    29
    13
See reviews for
41
151
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel has a great location on the Perfume River, with beaqutiful sunsets available from your room (riverside) or from the lovely terrace patio.
The standard and size of rooms are larger than usual and worth paying extra for the river views. They miss a few points about customer service, however the grounds, views, pool and amenities make up for it. Extremely good value.
It is very close to lots of good restaurants and shops and a cycle ride from the Citidel and a boat ride from the market or the Pagoda upstream.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Nguyen N, General Manager Secretary at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Robinvip5,

Thank you for choosing Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa as your accommodation last time & thank you for taking your busy time to share experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know you enjoyed our hotel with its great location, views, rooms, grounds, pool & amenities. However, it is our disappointing of lacking customer service as your comment. We reminded our staff to overcome that shortcoming not only for this time but also for the future customers. We always desire to bring customers our best services & to make their trips special. We hope you would accept our apology for inconvenience caused to you.

Once again, thank you for your true comments & we look forward to receiving you to Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa next times.

Sincerely,
Nguyen Thi Dieu, Mrs
General Manager Secretary
Email: sec@huonggianghotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our travel through Vietnam and it was OK. The hotel is very old, being in the Ancient City of Hue you would expect that. Apart from the gardens needing some TLC and a bit of a tidying up it was a lovely experience. We had a room facing the Perfume River which was a nice touch. The only thing is we couldn't access the free Wi-Fi from our room, only near the pool or in reception. And if you want to stay near the pool, ask to be on that side of the hotel as it's split in 2.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Nguyen N, General Manager Secretary at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Chrissy,

Thank you for choosing Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa as your accommodation last time & thank you for taking your busy time to share experience on TripAdvisor.

We high appreciate your comment on some areas that we will consider to overcome. Unfortunately, you did not access in-room wifi. The internet system sometime interrupted objectively & you should inform Receptionists for supporting by cable.

We hope you still want to stay with us next time & will recommend Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa to your friends/relatives.

Sincerely thanks,
Nguyen Thi Dieu, Mrs
General Manager Secretary
Email: sec@huonggianghotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights with our family in three rooms. The rooms were clean and very nice. The location is great to everything and has a lovely view over the Perfume River. The staff are very friendly. The breakfasts were average. But I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Nguyen N, General Manager Secretary at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Deeley13,

Sincerely thanks for your attention & choosing Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa for your accommodation last time.

It is heartening to learn that the time at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa is memorable with you. We shared your comment to all hotel staff as the great motivation for them after hard working effort. Our happiness is the satisfaction of clients with the hotel & its services. We will, however, try more for the most perfection & our plan for changing carpet will be started in next June.

Once again, sincerely thanks for taking your busy time to share experience on TripAdvisor & thank you for recommendation our Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa to your friends/relatives.

Sincerely yours,
Nguyen Thi Dieu, Mrs
Email: sec@huonggianghotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I liked the relaxing atmosphere of this resort by the Perfume River, unlike a previous reviewer because I was not after a night life. Additionally, the bamboo decor is right for this place and the furniture beautifully crafted. I appreciated this difference which I thought fit in with the cultural aspects of this country. I came to Vietnam to experience the Vietnamese culture. This was the only hotel on my tour that prepared for double occupancy and provided two luggage racks. Another plus were the already mentioned play area and garden terrace. There is a computer station with two computers that I appreciated using without any problems. I also enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Nguyen N, General Manager Secretary at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Pghs67,

Sincerely thanks for your attention & choosing Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa for your accommodation last time.

We are really happy with your comment in which you satisfied with our own characteristics. Some clients do not like rattan but you are right, we are Vietnamese & we would like to express some cultural aspects in hotel decoration. We wish you could stay with us longer to try all our services & relax yourself by the natural beauty of the Perfume River.

We hope you will recommend Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa to your friends/relatives & we wish your next tours will be memorable.

Once again, sincerely thanks for taking your busy time to share experience on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely yours,
Nguyen Thi Dieu, Mrs
General Manager Secretary
Email: sec@huonggianghotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel was nice. the rooms were clean. The breakfast area was spacious a had a nice view of the river. Walking distance from the dragon boats. They even had a little play area for children. The only issue we had was trying to get a shirt pressed for the evening. we dropped the shirt off 2 hours before we needed it and when we got back they said they would bring it to the room shortly. We showered and got ready and still no one came. I called the front desk and got the same response that someone would bring it up. We waited another 20 minutes and still no shirt so I finally had to go down to the front desk and ask again. The lady called the laundry room again and they finally brought it to our room. Next time i would bring the shirt down much earlier and hopefully not run into this problem again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Nguyen N, General Manager Secretary at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Ms Elstorc,

Firstly, on behalf of Hotel Management Board, I would like to wish you & your family Good Health & Happiness.

It is very great to know you enjoyed our hotel room, breakfast area with its nice view. We are regrettable, however, be informed your problem about the pressed shirt. We sincerely thank you for your comment so that we can understand what our staff performed with clients. We wish from our deep heart that you would accept our apology for inconvenience caused during your stay at the hotel.

To avoid the situation like yours, we shared your comment to all staff & asked them to commit of trying their best to bring clients the comfortable feeling during the stay in-house. We hope you still choose our Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa for your accomodation next times.

One more time, sincerely thanks for taking your busy time to share on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely yours,
Nguyen Thi Dieu, Mrs
General Manager Secretary
Email: sec@huonggianghotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had booked a river view room, and were delighted to find upon arrival that we had been upgraded to a huge corner suite which even had two balconies. It was also a real bonus to be able to enjoy breakfast on an outdoor terrace right beside the Perfume River, although the food itself was only ok, and there seemed to be a lot of small flies around some of the serving platters!

Considering the very welcome upgrade, it seems churlish to find fault; but we had several reservations about this hotel..............it is in serious need of a refurbishment eg. the sliding doors of the wardrobe constantly stuck and we had to get help to open the safe deposit box on two occasions. As for the decor; some people may love it, but we felt that it was ott on the bamboo theme!

Everything seems to finish up early at night also. When we first arrived at approx 11.00pm there was hardly a light to be seen from the outside, and things were even worse inside with the Reception almost in darkness and only a night porter asleep on a sofa. We looked into the bar and restaurant and everyplace appeared deserted, so although this is a big hotel it doesn't have much of a buzz!

If you are looking for a well located, mid-range hotel at a fair price, you could do a lot worse than the Huong Giang. However, if I get lucky enough to return to Hue myself, I think I might try the Gerbera instead, or if money was no object the Saigon Morin!

I really feel that this hotel deserves a score of 3.5, but since the website doesn't allow this I'm going to upgrade it a 4 because of the generous upgrade we were given

Room Tip: Definitely try for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Nguyen N, General Manager Secretary at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear HoppyCork,

Firstly, sincerely thank you for taking your busy time to share experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciated your comments & we do not think it is churlish as we really need it to improve our services.

We are regrettable to know your experience at the hotel is not as your expectation. We commit there will not the above incidents happen again.

We hope you will continue to stay at Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa if you have opportunity to comeback Hue in future & we wish your next trips will be memorable.

Sincerely yours,
Nguyen Thi Dieu, Mrs
General Manager Secretary
Email: sec@huonggianghotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: 51 Le Loi Street | Thua thien, Hue 54, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#16 Spa Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huong Giang Hotel Resort And Spa
Huong Giang Hotel Hue
Huong Giang Hue
Hotel Huong Giang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huong Giang Hotel Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.