We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a top choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anh Binh

Anh Binh
65 Vo Thi Sau, Hue, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 162 restaurants in Hue
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a top choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Food id terrible - grilled chicken tough, dry and small serving. Beef dish small and tasteless. Not worth the prices asked. Service as aonly tolerable

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

12% Recommend
    2
    7
    9
    15
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

. The set menu was very good although we did make some changes . We had rice noodle soup, deep fried shrimps, rice cake, fried aubergines, fried noodles with vegetables, grilled chicken with lemon grass, braised fish, rice. The food was tasty and the wait staff solicitious

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lonely Planet have lost the plot”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

As LP's top choice for Hue we were really looking forward to a meal here. Looks like we should have checked Trip Advisor first.
The place was empty save for a few tourists who were clearly all as disappointed as we were by the lack of atmosphere and terrible
Vietnam has too many great places to eat to justify wasting an evening here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lonely Planet?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Whilst we didn't go home hungry this was not a good meal. Bland food, not as cheap as the book claims. Would not go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Like others, I was duped by the Lonely Planet guide. "A veritable foodie heaven" is really much more like hell. The food was bland, overpriced, and unappealing. The Com Hue was perhaps the worst dish I have ever had in a restaurant anywhere. We tried to send it back, and the waiter only brought over some soy sauce. It didn't help. No amount of sauce or chili would salvage this tasteless dish.

The service was brusque and unhelpful. The atmosphere was bland and unwelcoming. No Vietnamese people were eating there, which should have been a red flag.

Seriously, do not go. You would do far better to buy a container of chips and a soda from a street vendor. I can't emphasize this enough: Anh Binh is terrible!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anh Binh also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Anh Binh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anh Binh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.