We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Oasis in the East” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ana Mandara Hue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ana Mandara Hue to your Saves list
Ana Mandara Hue
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thuan An Beach, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Luxurious Oasis in the East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and have nothing but complements. The property is amazing and everything that one would expect from a luxury five star hotel, but at what would be two star prices in Europe and North America. This is not primarily a party spot for backpackers so don't expect a wild night life. This is more a place to take a vacation from your vacation to recharge your batteries before heading back out to the wonderful chaos that is often Vietnam.

The staff is charming and attentive, While the English of many is limited, they are practicing hard to improve and we never had any difficulty in getting our needs or wants understood. My wife had a stomanh upset while we were there (unrelated to the hotel) and staff were very attentive and bent over backwards to try and make her as comfortable as possible.

Even though the resort was 15 minutes out of town, we had no problems with access to Hue and the sights in the surrounding area. It is a great base for conventilonal sightseeing and we would recommend a walk down the bearch to the local villages for a touchmore local flavour.

Based on our experience, we would suggest you discount the few negative reviews of this property as they appear to be based on the characters of the writers rather than the quality of the resort. We would not hesitate to recommend this property to our friends and family and would certainly stay here again when we are in Hue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSSIETONY, General Manager at Ana Mandara Hue, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Norman

Thank you for your Review of your stay with us, I was so pleased to read your well said comments, and you are right about, a quite life, Hue is not Party Central, none the less it is a pleasant place to go at night with a great choice of Venues for a relaxing meal and a few beers, with out feeling you are on a back packers drinking tour of Asia

I have agonised at times here about providing entertainment, and have come to the conclusion that most people who do stay here are looking for a quite alternative, and we provide adequate transport to hue, and I might add there is little in the way of live entertainment there as such

I am so pleased you had a restful stay, and thank you for talking the time and effort to make your comments known on T/A it is appreciated

Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    102
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
56
196
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for nine nights in low season. Spent first three nights in ground floor room, lovely furnishings and clean. troubled with alot of ants but problem was dealt with promptly by staff. slight criticism was lack of table on patio and very shady (however would probably be a bonus during hottest season). After third night we were given a free upgrade to beach bungalow . Wow! spacious bungalow few steps to sandy beach, beautifully furnished with separate seating area, Patio doors leading onto private patio areas with chairs and sun beds. Bathroom was fantastic with inside and outside shower and big bath. Staff, including Tony the manager were helpful and friendly. About 15 mins to Hue by free shuttle bus. Buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Sandy beach that stretches for miles, sea a bit rough for swimming but pool available. Made use of free bicycles to see local area. No entertainment and very quiet whilst we were staying which suited us, but may disappoint those expecting more of a party atmosphere.

Room Tip: beach bungalows are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSSIETONY, General Manager at Ana Mandara Hue, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, we are pleased you did enjoy it, and especially the up grade to the Beach Villa

it is un fortunate that the sea this time of the year is just not safe for swimming, however in the summer months it is calm and enjoyable

We all hope to see you back sometime soon

And thank you for your Generous support

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here in May 2012 (yes a little slack on the review writing!) and had an absolutely lovely time. The staff were delightfully friendly, and my room was well appointed, kept very clean, and had a glorious view of the sunset over the beach each night. The spa was offering 20% discounts on treatments and I made the most of it - relaxed with a massage each night! The cooking class was excellent and I've made the recipes again at home. The resort is out of the main town, but I liked that. The nearby village was really interesting to wander around and the fishing boats on the beach were fascinating to observe as they came in and out each day. I was a solo traveller and felt safe and well attended to. Perfect place to come and relax.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSSIETONY, General Manager at Ana Mandara Hue, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for talking the time to comment on Trip Advisor after all this time I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is a slice of heaven . The staff all speak good English , and they will go out of there way to do what ever it is you need . The rooms are awesome and large . I felt right at home , oh well I didn't want to leave . The restaurant has great food , and the buffet breakfast has everything you could want for breakfast . The rooms get serviced daily,they have an onsite day spa. The have bicycles for your use at no charge . I will be returning again . This place is a 20 out of 10 .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSSIETONY, General Manager at Ana Mandara Hue, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very Much for your Generous comments on your recent stay with us,The staff here will be very pleased to read your comments on their Skills at English So will Our English Teacher, In Hue it is Country and most of our Staff are born here so their English may not be as good as say in Saigon but I give them 100% for trying, their English is much better than my Vietnamese!

We all hope to see you back again, and again I do thank you for your great support

Kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am so pleased that I choose here to stay for my relaxing break. The rooms and grounds are beautifully appointed and on a stunning beach. My bed is very comfortable and waking to the sound of the ocean is so soothing.

The staff appear very happy are friendly, attentive and caring...It seems that most of them grew up in the local village which is great for the local employment and makes them very proud.

The crab, prawn and mushroom soup I had for dinner was divine and the breakfast buffet is plentiful, fresh and has attention to detail.

This is a great place to come and relax and feel pampered away from the every day pace of Vietnam..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSSIETONY, General Manager at Ana Mandara Hue, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Michelle

thank you for your comments on your recent stay with u, I am very pleased you had the restfull break you desired
The Staff here all all mainly locally born and bred, with families here, and they are very proud of their city and are eager to please guests

Hope to see you back here again soon

kind Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for a night, the room was really nice, well stocked, clean, with a view of the beach (blocked by coconut trees, stayed only one night so didn't matter).
However when we first entered the room there was this thick smell of rice wine, like the previous occupants had broken a bottle or something. Needed to open the doors to let the smell out, but apart from that it was great.

They have a nice breakfast spread.

The resort is a little out of the way, but worth it. We would have liked to have stayed longer, our choice for the next time around.

Room Tip: Choose one where you can see the sea and not coconut trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSSIETONY, General Manager at Ana Mandara Hue, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Suro,

Thank You for your comments on your stay here at Ana Mandara, we are all happy you enjoyed your Brief stay with us, I am sorry about the rice Wine Smell, That room should not have been put back into service until the smell was well gone, I will do a double check that house keeping are following SOP, so thank you for mentioning that

For an un restricted View of the beach may i suggest a Beach Villa next stay, Thanks for Supporting Us with this review

Kind Regards

Tony

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Beautiful place! We were upgraded to a villa and it was fabulous!! Right next to the beach..a little away from hue city but they provide with shuttle service daily!
The room was amazing..the hotel premise was beautiful..food was fabulous!!
Overall a great experience !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSSIETONY, General Manager at Ana Mandara Hue, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for Writing Favourably, regarding your Recent Stay with Us, I am pleased That we lived up to your Expectations

Thank you for your Custom

Regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ana Mandara Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Mandara Hue

Address: Thuan An Beach, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#17 Family Hotel in Hue
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Mandara Hue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ana Mandara Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Mandara Hue Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ana Mandara Hue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.