We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a bit isolated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone 1, Phu Loc Town, Phu Loc District, Hue 8454, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location but a bit isolated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Well our time at Vedana has sadly come to an end. As we leave I have mixed feelings about the place...
The staff are an absolute joy, they can't do enough to help you. Lan, our villa host was wonderful, she always had a smile and always made sure we were ok. One evening we needed ice as Helen had banged her knee, they couldn't get the ice to us fast enough, the next morning at breakfast several staff asked again how she was. Being a fairly small place the staff get to know you quite well, there are only 28 villas in total at the resort. This can mean that at times you feel you are the only one there, several times at breakfast we were all alone.
The location is idyllic, perched on the end of a promontory pointing into the Dam Cau Hai lagoon, you get the sun both rising and setting depending on where you are. The views are amazing! This also though was one of the downsides of the place, it is somewhat spread out along the point. Our villa was probably the furtherest from the restaurant, but then the closest to the entrance. We had a 10 to 15 minute walk to get to breakfast etc, a few night we actually had room service as our view was great and we were just not feeling like walking or riding the bikes to eat.
You can feel isolated as there is not a lot around the the resort in terms of local shops, restaurants etc. We did walk into the local town one night to eat but couldn't find a pace where we could actually be understood easily, this was a little disappointing as we really enjoy eating the local foods when we are away.
Overall I think 6 days at Vedana was probably a little too many, maybe 3 would have been a better option combined with a few days elsewhere to see more of the country.
We will head back to Vietnam as we found the people and the place just captivating, will just do it differently next time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    44
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
154
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is the best room I have ever stayed in. The aqua bungalow is massive and the bathroom is as big as the room itself. It is like having your own private house on top of the water. The balcony is lovely to sit out on and watch boats pass by.

The staff were lovely and each night come and turn down your bed linen and leave abed time story for you to read. We loved staying here. Get a bike from reception and ride to the pool or dinner. The first night we had dinner on our balcony which was delicious.

The pool is amazing. Overall the best hotel I've ever stayed at.

Morning yoga over the water is lovely! Challenging in the heat but feels great after. Oh and amazing buffet breakfast!

Room Tip: Must stay in an Aqua Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had an over water bungalow which is perhaps the most beautiful room I've ever stayed in. Amazing uninterrupted views over the lagoon. The room is big as is the bathroom. Maybe the only design issue i thought odd was that along with the shower outside in your private garden area was also the toilet which means that its hot and humid when you go and at night you may have insects flying around. Apart from this the staff come in the evening, turn back your bed and put mosquito coils outside for you.
The service was not brilliant and language was definitely a barrier. We did mention this to reception and the next day the manager was very prompt in having a meeting with us and rectifying any issues.
The restaurant was ok but the food is on the expensive side and if your there for awhile like us can get a little monotonous .

Room Tip: Get an over water bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I think both my boyfriend and I would agree that this is the best resort we've stayed in for value for money, beautiful aqua bungalow facilities and setting. We got a car arranged from our hotel in Hoi An to drop us off there, which worked out well, and Vedana drove us to Danang airport when we left, which was also very smooth. When we arrived, we didn't really know what to expect as had just come from the Vinh Hung Emerald resort in Hoi An, which we loved and hadn't wanted to leave. however, we were blown away when the resort's golf buggy dropped us off at our bungalow (number 10). It was absolutely breathtaking! The bungalow on stilts was the size of my flat in London! The four poster bed complete with a delicate mosquito net around it was ENORMOUS, with a sort of entrance hallway, large terrace looking out into the lagoon and an out-of-this-world bathroom with a huge bath tub looking out to the view, his and hers sinks, and an outdoor shower and toilet (obviously private though!) I was in love at first sight and desperately trying to work out if I could change our flights to stay longer... Alas to no avail, and so we had to make do with our two nights in heaven! I got involved in the spa activities of morning yoga and tai chi on a beautiful decking as well as having a lovely relaxing massage and treatment (q reasonably priced), followed by hot tub in the sunset. I also tried the gym which just had some basic cardio machinery (all I really needed as i didn't last long there as it was so hot!) and we spent some time by the lovely infinity pool. The restaurant was really gorgeous and had an amazing spread for breakfast. The staff, especially Thong and Hue, were so lovely and accommodating. Because they are mostly local residents (which we thought was wonderful for local jobs), many of them were still learning English but it was lovely chatting to them and hearing about their local life there. Where it perhaps lacked in the ultimate 'finesse' (arguably more soulless) of more expensive and established resorts in terms of English speaking, the staff more than made up for in character and warmth, and we would not have changed that for anything. On the last night for my birthday, we splashed out and had dinner brought to us and served in our villa, which was magical. The team came round and set up the villa while we were out with candles and a lovely table and we had a seafood feast which was delicious and so memorable! We loved this resort so much we didn't even make it into Hue, although the resort offered some great day trips and cookery courses which we would have loved to have done. All in all, this is an absolutely stunning resort which we can't wait to come back to and an only encourage people to splash out the relative expense by Vietnamese standards (but still fairly reasonable pricing by western standards). All we would have changed would be to stay longer next time!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The place is a good hour From Hue and you will need a vehicle to take you back and forth. The hotel has a drop and pick up service so it's cool. The rooms on the water are so amazing, i would recommend not staying there if those are not available. The food is good and Wi-Fi is great. nights in the open loos are a little bit creepy as you can see the mountains and hope no one from the mountains can see you :)
Their spa is a must try. In hoi an and hue i was kind of pissed off with the massage Services. The massage itself is good but if you're a couple and getting it done together then the talking and giggling just won't stop and it's annoying. it's better to tell them upfront that you would like a little quiet.
The hotel has a golf cart service and you can borrow bikes too.
you could spend one day just hanging around by the pool. A cycling trip to the nearest village is also very refreshing

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and had a great time there. Staff are friendly and helpful. And the scenery is totally amazing. The mountains and the lagoon reminded me of Switzerland but I must say it's even better as it's less commercial. I enjoyed every moment in the resort.

The only bad point to me is the toilet outside... as the insects flying around can be quite annoying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

What an amazing resort. We were needing some R & R after a crazy 3 weeks in Vietnam. It was the highlight of the trip! The Aqua bungalow was very spacious and nicely decorated and private. The living area was comfortable and had the biggest king size bed and the mattress was softer compared to other hard hotel beds in Vietnam. Unfortunately it was too hot to make use of the sporting facilities at the resort but the large pool was frequently used. All the resort staff were very friendly and welcoming and even made a beautiful birthday cake for my husband and made the night special for him. I enjoyed using the outdoor shower and was fortunate to watch a thunderstorm. The gigantic bath was very luxurious and a vantage point to watch the fishermen chug past in their boats every afternoon. The meals were consistently of a high quality and with extensive choices. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Waiting staff were very attentive and friendly. Overall a lovely experience!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: Zone 1, Phu Loc Town, Phu Loc District, Hue 8454, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hue
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hue
#7 Family Hotel in Hue
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedana Lagoon Resort And Spa
Vedana Lagoon Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vedana Lagoon Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.