We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of two famous vegi restaurants in Hue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lien Hoa

Lien Hoa
3 Le Quy Don, Hue, Vietnam
(054) 816884
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 173 Restaurants in Hue
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Tokyo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“One of two famous vegi restaurants in Hue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you want to go for vegi food in Hue, you would probably have two major options: Lien Hoa and Thien Tam. There are of course more vegi restaurants (for instance Bode on Le Loi, but I do not recommend it).

Lien Hoa is located within downtown, near the stadium. So the accessibility is good for those who does not travel too far to eat. This restaurant has been famous among locals for a quite long time, and recently expanded to accommodate more customers - so you see how many locals like this restaurant. The food at this restaurant has stronger and saltier taste as compared to other vegi restaurants in Hue. If you prefer lighter taste, Thien Tam would be better option for you. In terms of space, Lien Hoa is more congested with less space between tables. Everything is pretty good, but go for hot pot, fried rice, fried tofu, etc. that are standards at this restaurant.

Thien Tam is located outside downtown, some 10-15 min taxi ride from the city center. As it is located outside the city center, it has a lot of space with some nice gardens and provides half open-air atmosphere, where you can relax and eat. This is relatively new restaurant, but it was filled soon after its opening because of its atmosphere and good quality of food. The food here is much lighter as compared to Lien Hoa. If you prefer punchy flavor, Lien Hoa would be better option for you. Go for some local dishes such as banh beo, banh nam, nem lui etc. that are usually not vegi dishes, but here, they prepare it with 100% vegi of course. They also have wide variety of dishes on the menu. Weekend lunch is also relaxing and pretty nice here.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    32
    6
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Cheap, but not that good...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm shocked at the positive reviews for this restaurant. Yes, the prices are very inexpensive, but the food we had was not good at all. Perhaps this is because we came at the end of the night and they were tired of cooking...The fried tofu with tomato sauce was served at room temperature (even a little cold). The Canh chua - one of my favorite vietnamese soups - was bland, lukewarm, and lacked any of the characteristics of the soup (sweet and tangy). They actually forgot to bring out one of the dishes we ordered (at least they didn't charge for it). The banh beo was really unappealing, but maybe that's just because without using shrimp you just can't do that dish any justice. We did have a fake chicken dish with ginger that was okay, nothing I'd return for or even order again, but it was more edible than the others.

If you really want to try vegetarian food, I'd recommend Bo De at 11 Le Loi Street - it may be a little more expensive but we found the food to be much better (and freshly prepared). But, really, we didn't see a big need to seek out vegetarian food in Hue. The fake meat is unique, but not necessarily all that tasty...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Loved it! A GENUINEBVietnamese experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tired of eating at restaurants for tourists? Bored with seeing only the faces of Westerners? Then---dine here. There are maybe 20 tables, and they were all filled with your local Vietnamese, except us. The food is very good. Make sure you order the soup, which cooks over a fire on your table, The place is clean but very informal. The menus have English translations, although some are rather funny and totally opaque. No matter---order away. Whatever you get will be good, and how can you go wrong, when all the dishes are in the $1-2 range? We ate a lot, and had drinks (they do have beer), and our total bill came to $5 per person. This is a fun, genuine cultural experience, and an excellent meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian restaurant in Hue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not being vegitarian myself, I still have great pleasure eating at Lien Hoa. The restaurant is owned by buddist munks, and serves a great variety of dishes at a very low cost. Healthy, fresh and cheap, in terrific surroundings. A must when in Hue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Middlesex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Brilliant, amazing, don't miss are all words I'd use to describe this restaurant. It has a wide choice, some great tastes and good service. All that for a veggie restaurant written by a passionate meat eater.... it's that good.

They don't speak English (though the menus have been translated) so ordering can be a bit hairy, but that just adds to the fun. As for value for money... simply amazing, it's soooooo cheap

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lien Hoa also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Lien Hoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lien Hoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.