We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name is quite fitting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel to your Saves list
Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Hue 84054, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The name is quite fitting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

As said by many before me - and hopefully many after me - the staff is one of the friendliest you will ever meet. Easy with a joke or to and always helpful.
But what good does a smile do you, when your room isn't nice or the breakfast bad?
Here,all comes together really nicely: the rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast is more than adequate, with the usual fares in a very good quality. What more could you want in a hotel? Oh, yeah, the price is very good to, you feel like you made the bargain of the century: five-star digs, with five star service for two star prices.

Room Tip: If you like natural light in your room, ask for one with a window to the outside, otherwise you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    140
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
293
67
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Da Nang, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel was clean and modern, friendly staff, and an average breakfast. I've lived in Vietnam for 3 years, and I must say this hotel was good, but not worth 400,000 VND. I think if they improved the buffet it would be worth it, or try and get a room without the breakfast, and go out and eat Bun Bo Hue instead.

Room Tip: The first floor is noisy from the traffic at reception, the breakfast buffet, and the maids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel on agoda for the only available room left, with twin beds. When we got there, the staff welcomed us warmly and gave us a very large room with balcony free of charge. Without doubt this was the best value room we stayed in during our entire time in Southeast Asia. The staff were very helpful with travel plans and directions, the drinks in the fridge were well priced, and our room was spotless. Buffet breakfast was accommodating, although does not change from day to day. Also, the location was great and within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our room was clean and very large for only 2 people. The bed was very comfortable and the wifi was very quick. The staff are very friendly and helpful, some of the best I've seen in Vietnam. One drawback was the aircon which cut out in the middle of the night resulting in a stifilingly hot room.

The location is pretty good, you will not struggle to find a good restaurant within a 10 minute walk of the front doors.

Would recommend to anyone, the rooms are far more luxurious than expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Really friendly staff!

Nice rooms, switched us to a double from the booked twin, as online it had said only twin available. Clean, fridge, new tv etc.

Staff were helpful with leaving bags and valuables, cut a baguette or us ready for dinner on the night train - and just always chatting and smiling!

Breakfast was nice but not quite as amazing as some seem to have quoted, but for sure its nice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wow! For 15$ we had our best stay in Vietnam! Everything looks like new there, and in your room you feel like you paid 50$! This was the most comfortable bed in south east asia! You can't find more kind and helpful staff in Vietnam. There is a buffet breakfast included in the price wich was good.

Room Tip: Ask a room with window (bigger) for only 1 ou 2 $ more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watervietnam, Owner at Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear globetrotterasie2013,

Thank you for staying at the Than Thien Friendly Hotel, Hue, and we very much appreciate your words of praise and would thank you for taking time to share them on TripAdvisor.
It is heartening to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were pleased with our facilities, ambiance and services offered. Wow you were lucky with 15$ price, as you know some times we have good deal for guests to discount 15%. At that time we said OK with cheap price but keep every thing well such as Buffet Breakfast has more than 20 dishes of foods and drinks...and also have upgrade package to give guest the chance to pay 2-4$ more to stay in better room.
Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we look forward to seeing you to indulge you with more of our Than Thien Friendly Hotel, when you visit us again in the near future. Please write to me at xthuy64@gmail.com. Have a nice trip, good health and happy.
Mr. THUY - Hotel Manager/ Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

we came off the overnight bus from Hanoi and arrived early. They checked us in early and we were greeted with a juice drink.
Reception staff are very friendly and most speak good english. They also booked us into a hotel on Hoi an, which turned out to be a good choice.
Room in the friendly hotel was clean with aircon.
Would recommend it.
Breakfast average but did the trick given the price of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel

Address: 10 Nguyen Cong Tru Street, Hue 84054, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in Hue City center, Friendly Hotel offers best service for your stay. Than Thien means Friendly, it is also the Character of our Hotel. Distance to famous places in province:- Dragon Boat on Huong Rive Port: 100m.- Truong Tien Bridge: 700m. Hue Railway Station: 1,5Km- Dong Ba Market: 1,2Km. Hue Citadel: 1,5Km.- Thien Mu Pagoda: 4,0 Km. Tu Duc King Tomb: 8Km- Thuan An Beach: 12Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Than Thien Hotel - Friendly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.