We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Caramel Restaurant

Le Caramel Restaurant
17- Pham Ngu Lao Str, Hue, Vietnam
(+84.54) 3830 283
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 185 Restaurants in Hue
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This restaurant was right next to our hotel and after a big day of travelling and exploring, we didn’t have the energy to walk too far, so we decided on this place. Ordered chicken skewers with French fries and eggplant with soy sauce, as well as fresh juices. The staff were friendly and the meals delicious (not huge servings like we had at other places though).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    8
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Poor value, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A nice restaurant from the outside with a good write up in Lonely Planet. Decided to splash out a bit on a nice meal but were really disappointed. Over priced food and drinks. Ordered 2 different dishes to share but both tasted exactly the same and very sweet/sickly. Good service but unfortunately the food just didn't deliver.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awful chicken...no meat only waste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Noodles were average, chicken very bad - we are offered another dish, fish is ok. Small dishes..

Service was okay.
Look for another place..

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice so we obviously enjoyed it. The service was very friendly and our meal was very good value for money.

Like all Vietnamese restaurants the serves weren't huge but quite adequate.

We shared a shrimp salad both times and it was very tasty as we our mains.

Prices were very reasonable.

Overall an enjoyable place to fine.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Main courses should be called tapas....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The staff are unfriendly and do not pay attention to detail (did not provide us with napkins, and cutlery until asked). The tablecloth had stains and holes in it. Based on my limited experience of Vietnamese food, the food was average to poor. At the table next to us, the guests refused to pay for 2 dishes, and looking at them, I could see why (a bowl of dry noodles with hardly any sauce; a fruit sald that was essentially a banana cut in 3 pieces and some decoration). My main course (duck with pinapple sauce) was so small that they should have called it tapas. There was more bones and skin to the piece of duck than meat. The french fries (I got 8 or 10 fries) I ordered instead of the bread were soggy. The rice pancake was very dry, but otherwise OK. As I was still hungry after all that I ordered the sauteed figs with shrimps and pork. They were OK, but not great. And again, the portion was small.

Overall, I am sure there are much better places in Hue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Caramel Restaurant also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Le Caramel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Caramel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.