We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterland Hotel to your Saves list
Waterland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 / 42 Nguyen Cong Tru. st, Hue 054, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Various
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Everything in the room was nice and new and we had a good view out the back window. Staff were super friendly and helped us with whatever we needed. The breakfast was good too for a budget hotel. Also stop into one of the Vietnamese garden cafes along the alley. Great coffee and cheap.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    66
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
84
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. In addition to picking me up from my bus and serving me tea and watermelon when I arrived, the staff was always very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make me feel welcome.

For budget travelers in particular, I can't think of a better place to stay as it is also very affordable and centrally located.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

This place was great, and a fantastic value. The staff served up a delicious breakfast, and arranged all of our transportation logistics while in Hue and as we were leaving Hue for Hoi An. Great stuff!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

An excellent budget hotel experience. The free train station pickup saved us the cost of a taxi to the city centre, quoted 60,000/80,000 VND by the touts on arrival, and the friendly Waterlands Hotel staff made us feel very welcome upon our arrival. This continued throughout our stay and the rooms were clean, of a good size and with decent bathroom facilities. The location is excellent, a short walk to all the decent bars and restaurants, whilst being positioned down a side street away from any noise. Overall a very decent option for the money and with good aircon, so no hot and sleepless nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff is friendly and and breakfast is nice enough.
We rent bicycles which are nice and new, not expensive.

We booked a tour from Hue to Paradise Cave (in Dong Hoi) and I think the price is acceptable ($35/pax).

The tour guide is cute and full of energy, and of course she is very easy going.
After the tour, the driver is kind enough to take us to the hostel we planned to stay in Dong hoi without any extra charge.

The rooms are fine and I recommend this hotel. (It's located in an alley, don't be confused!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Good aircon, lots of hot water, well priced minibar, clean, cable tv, spacious, very sweet staff, decent enough breakfast, no bugs, quiet.

Generally things are starting to get a little tatty.. Door handles falling off, broken lamps, can feel the springs through the matterest etc but nothing too serious and this is a budget hotel so you can't have everything.

Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

It was far good enough for us to have 2 nights stay at Waterland Hotel. Spacious and clean room. Helpful staff with good transportation service offers.

Just one thing that there is no elevator. It was no problem for us to walk to the 3rd floor. Thanks to the staff, our luggage was carried promptly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterland Hotel

Address: 35 / 42 Nguyen Cong Tru. st, Hue 054, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hue, the city on the Perfume River, bears Vietnam's most ancient culture and has always been a tourist draw card. It attracts both domestic and foreign tourists to the untouched temples, pagodas, vast rice fields and beautiful villas hidden in bonsai gardens. Hue's variety of food can satisfy people with the most discerning tastes. People of Hue are always gentle, polite and friendly to tourists. In Hue, Waterland Hotel will be the best choice for your stay, food, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.