We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine except that there is no electricity” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vina Hotel Hue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vina Hotel Hue to your Saves list
Vina Hotel Hue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57/3 Nguyen Cong Tru Str., Hue 8454, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fine except that there is no electricity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed in this little cheap hotel our last night in Hue. At that price you can not really complain. Even the fact that half of the day the electricity does not work (one day the afternoon, the other day the morning), should not be a problem. Except for the fact that there is no bell boy and that I had to carry 4 suitcases to the 5th floor. Surprise surprise, the elevator also works on electricity. And the next day 5 floors down for check out. No safe in the room. For the rest, the hotel is in the city center and very conveniently located near shops and pubs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    125
    31
    6
    7
See reviews for
57
197
52
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I have just come back from Hue and stayed at Vina Hotel which was great. It is on a small side street on the edge of the main tourist district so no more than a 10 minute walk to most bars and restaurants. It is not on the river. Rooms are modern, comfortable and clean. Staff are unusually polite and proactive – when I came back to pick up my bag on the way to the airport after a day tour they offered me a room to shower and change in – that took me by surprise. Prices on Agoda at the moment go from $25 for standard to $45 for a suite. You could also consider the new Mercure which has a very good location on the river. River view rooms there are about $65. Many of the more expensive hotels had worse locations and/or were not on the river.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falklands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

The hotel was clean, with a large modern (and virtually new) room, well located (near the restaurant/tourist area), and down a little road, which means you do not get overwhelmed by street noise. The room was on the 6th floor, and had a great view of the river (the door to the roof is also unlocked, so you can get a city panorama). Breakfast was good, if not great - you can request Pho or an omelette, and fresh fruit is available. The price I got online was extremely good, given the size and quality of the room - the cheapest room I had in Vietnam, yet the one with the best furnishings and view!

The worst problem was the frequent power cuts: out of control of the hotel, but this meant the rooms became quite hot and stuffy. The hotel had a generator to power fans, but not the air conditioning. The staff did not replace the tropical fruit in my room every day, as they said they would. The bathroom was a bit dark, and crowded with the wall-mounted hot water tank. Apart from this, everything worked as expected. The wireless internet had a strong signal and good speed. No in-room safe, but I had no problems.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed in Hue for 3 nights (1 night extra than planned and accommodated for very easily by the very efficient staff), landing just before a bucket full of tropical rain landed. We recommend that you take the bus that you can organise from the airport for US$4 each, which will take you directly to the hotel.

As we walked towards the hotel, which is down a lane, the staff came out to meet us with a very friendly welcome, helped us with our bags and sat us down and gave us a juice while they checked us in. Every time you go out and come back (in the evening) they tend to give you a juice.

We'd booked this hotel prior to leaving the UK, using Expedia.co.uk and were charged £16 per night for a deluxe room. The room, much to our delight, was a suite. It had x2 36 inch Samsung flatscreen tv's - the Vietnamese love their tv's! Seperate living room to bedroom and proper air conditioning!! It also had one of the best showers!!

Breakfast was very good; simple fayre, including some of the best Pho (Asian beef broth) you will come across in Vietnam. The coffee is also very good in Vietnam. :-) Fruit, juice, toast etc

The hotel is located approximately 5 mins walk (or 10mins if you take your time) from the River. It is a very easy place to get around but treat yourself to a cyclo - try and find an older driver as they will not try and charge you extra - however, it all adds to the experience!!

Hue itself is a great little town, with some really good shops and fab food. It's not as touristy as Hoi An and is a great base for the DMZ and to make your way to Da Nang. I would also recommend a visit to the Citadel (use cyclo or walk) - it's about 2km's. However, be mindful of the time of year you go as it was phenomenally hot and humid.

Hue was one of the best places we went to in Vietnam, don't leave it out of your trip.

NB: Remember that Vietnam is a developing country and they do not have the infrastructure or power to supply the country with electricity. Therefore, we did have power cuts - waking up to them, so not in the heat of the mid day sun. However, that's how it is and it didn't put us off - we have power cuts in Peterborough!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Vina Hotel's deluxe room is very big,clean with modern interior. As it was low season, management happily upgraded us to deluxe room and it was definitely value-for-money. Breakfast was nice and fair number of selections. The bun bo hue is also very tasty! Location is pretty good, inside a small alley not far from the river. We booked private car with the hotel to go to the tombs as well as to Danang. Of course its slightly more expensive but we feel the price is reasonable and we had a more comfortable time touring as the weather in mid June was a very humid 38 degree or so!Would definitely recommend Vina Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We arrived in Hue expecting a fairly average room as the price was really cheap. We were so surprised on arrival. We were greeted very warmly with a cold juice, the service was excellent. Our room was immaculately clean, everything was new. A large comfy bed, complimentary water, great bathroom and a view (the best room we had throughout our travels in Vietnam). Brekky was included and was great. Hue had a lot of power cuts were there, but the staff still managed to keep us cool with generator run fans, they were very helpful. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We were moved to this hotel since the other hotel that we originally had booked was full. The hotel was generally clean and the staff was receptive.

The problem was the manager (Nguen Dang Nhan)!!! My first impression was "wow, this manager really goes above and beyond." He booked a total of 3 tour arrangements for us, all of which we soon found out were overpriced. We were able to cancel 2 of the arrangements since it has been less than 2 hours and there was no immeidate payment required.

On the second day we were at the hotel, we were trying to change our flight itenaray, which he offered to arrange for us without hesitation. He was on the phone with the airline agency writing some information. He then explained to me the next available flight, the service fee, and the difference in the price. But since we were in a hurry (our tour was at the door picking us up for an excursion), we agreed and left him the money. When we returned from our excursion, the reception gave us our flight confirmation, which had the receipt. We were not happy with the time of the flight as we wanted to leave earlier from another airport, so we called the airline to make the necessary changes and confirm price differences. Turned out, that the time he changed the reservation, there was an earlier flight for the price that we paid. But he booked us on a much later flight for a cheaper price, but charged us the $30 difference anyway!! Furthermore, the itenarary the reception handed us had the receipt, which shows how much he paid ($30 less!!)

We later confronted him about this that evening and he tried to give some reasons about "different booking levels". I called the airline again to confirm this, which they denied such thing. I demanded he give me back my money, so he gave me back $25 due to what he called "an error." At check out, he tried to make us feel guilty by saying he did us a favor by not charging us for the 2 tours that we cancelled (that he tried to overcharge us on) even though I had already signed the agreement. Well, the agreement just said I reserved it, it did not specify that I had to pay for it.

If you really like the hotel, stay here, but do not make any arrangements through them, especially the manager!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danynhankl, Manager at Vina Hotel Hue, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
I hope this response to make you and other readers can understand the situation and
listen in 2 sides:
- All the airlines booking offices in VN always charge you for the ticket
cancellation fee and itinerary change fee. You have purchased the ticket from Hue to
HCMC but you changed from Da Nang to HCMC later. It means that you have to pay the
above mentioned fee to airlines agent ( The hotel did not charge you the service
fee), 30usd for 2 tickets is right. In this case, the hotel refunded you the amount
while the airlines office still charge us.However " Our slogan is always to make our
guests happy when they leave" . So you get free all because the hotel has paid for
you.
- The flight time we have re-booked for you is as your schedule. We did not change
to later flight as you said.
- You booked tours in our hotel with a signed agreement, but you canceled in last
minutes so that we had to pay the compensation fee to the suppliers ( Car to Hoi An
and Boat trip). Please understand that all the hotels in the world always get the
service charge when they do the service. If you find it is overprice, why did you
still decide to book ? It is not an obligation in our hotel.
The life is short, please open your heart to share the love and the sympathy to
others in the world. It is not a good way to make people harmful when they are
trying to help you.
We trust that with all good reviews about us from other guests on Tripadvisor will
prove that we are not wrong.

I wish you have luck in your life.
Best regards,

Nguyen Dang Nhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vina Hotel Hue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vina Hotel Hue

Address: 57/3 Nguyen Cong Tru Str., Hue 8454, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vina Hotel Hue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vina hotel Hue is located in the heart of the city, in the tourist spot of foreigners. From our hotel, you can take a walk along Huong River and Nhu Y River, and enjoy your time in art galleries or silk shops and bars on the way. When tired of walking, you are invited to taste Hue food in many local restaurants near by Vina hotel. All rooms with river view will give you one of the best hotel you've stayed in Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vina Hotel Hue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vina Hotel Hue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.