We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muong Thanh Hue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Muong Thanh Hue Hotel to your Saves list
Muong Thanh Hue Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Le Loi Street, Hue 0, Vietnam (Formerly Mercure Hue Gerbera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We recently stayed at the Mercure for 2 nights on 3rd and 4th April. The Hotel is new with modern decor and is a lovely place to stay. It has a lovely pool which is really nice to relax in after a hot and humid day of sightseeing. The location is ideal being close to places to eat, the river and the Citadel. We even walked to the Citadel from the hotel and got a cyclo around it and back to our hotel. The cylco ride was an experience in itself and we thoroughly enjoyed it as our rider guide was a real character and full of information as he rode us to all the places of interest (this took about 2 1/2 hours). The staff at the Mercure were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Their English isn't the best but we have found this to be the same everywhere in Vietnam. However, their english is much better than my Vietnamese so I can't complain about that. The Starlight Bar upstairs is a great place to go for a drink and has a big screen TV which was great for watching the live soccer match between United and Chelsea. The only thing we were disappointed with at the Mercure was the breakfast. The selection wasn't as good as we have had at other hotels and all the hot food was cold. I don't think they lit the heaters under the food to keep it warm. But this didn't spoil our opinion of the hotel as the staff were just so willing to please. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    147
    59
    9
    0
See reviews for
45
173
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed in Mercure Hue Gerbera in March 2010 for one night

Likes
- Well appointed room
- Good central location. In fact the location is ideal because it is very close to the docks. This is useful as the day tours in Hue end with a boat cruise down the river.
- Very new hotel, just three months into its operation (I think I'm the first person to write a review on this hotel)
- Nice fluffy pillows and a very comfortable bed

Dislikes
- The walls separating the other rooms were a little too thin
- Hotel staff spoke limited English

Unless you're a light sleeper, I would recommend this hotel. I rather enjoyed my stay because everything in my room looked brand new.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in late February 10. The hotel is located looking over the perfumed river. With plenty of places to eat and drink within close proximity. The hotel had free internet usage in the lobby. The hotel had only been open a couple of months so it was quite empty. We had the pool to ourselves, nice after a day sightseeing. They had reasonable gym with a trainer on hand.
We didn’t eat in the hotel as there were so many restaurants outside, but the restaurant looked nice and the bar on the top floor was pretty cool. Apart from there was no one in it!! Lol
The hotel rooms were excellent. Very modern, with tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Nice fluffy bathrobes!
If you get a chance to stay at this hotel do it!! It’s in a great location a short taxi to everything.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

The hotel itself is pretty good, within the accord standards.
The problem actually was what it seem to us like an unprepared staff.
We bought a bus-ticket in the hotel to Hoi An, it took 4 employees almost 10 minutes, between discussing between them, start issuing the ticket, stopping, discussing - finally we only got 1 ticket wrote down, and they had forgot to wriet "2 pax" on it !
Also, this ticket we booked, the bus was supposed to pick us up at 0730hs; we we're ready in the hall at 0700hs, when we made our check-out and waited - only to be informed that the bus would only come at 0830h (!!) because there was "too many people to pick up - im sorry!".
The room itself presented some minor problems, although the staff would always be very fast to solve them - sometimes the tv would "tune out" for itself, no channels; the air conditioning turned off all alone, twice.
We would expect some more basics, for the money we paid - more than US$80,- a day, after taxes.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

We stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful time. As it only opened in January everything is sparkling and clean. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive to our every need. Two lifts make transfers from the foyer at ground floor level or the pool and restaurant at level 2 to rooms on upper floors quick and easy. The buffet breakfast (included in room rate) was excellent with quite a choice of fresh and cooked food and friendly service from restaurant staff. You can eat inside in the comfortable restaurant or outside on the large deck. There is a bar on the top floor (level 11) with amazing views down the Perfume River - a great place to relax with a drink and watch the sun set over the mountains. Location is fantastic - right opposite the riverside park and a short walk to town. The pool was very clean and refreshing - a reward for all the walking around the historic sites of Hue. Our room on level 5 had a balcony you could sit on and read or look over to take in street sights.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muong Thanh Hue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Hue Hotel

Address: 38 Le Loi Street, Hue 0, Vietnam (Formerly Mercure Hue Gerbera)
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 112 Hotels in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muong Thanh Hue Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muong Thanh Hue Hotel (former name:Gerbera Hue Hotel) is a 108 contemporary-room hotel, located conveniently in the center of the city with a superb location by the river, the hotel provides an awe-inspiring panoramic view of the city of Hue, the picturesque Perfume River and Trang Tien Bridge from the hotel’s guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Muong Thanh Hue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muong Thanh Hue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.