We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly, helpful & welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canh Tien Guest house

Canh Tien Guest house
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canh Tien Guest house
Save
You added Canh Tien Guest house to your Saves list
9/66 Le Loi, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 83 Hue B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very friendly, helpful & welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights here. Really friendly, welcoming family.
Good value rooms (although prices had increased to 15usd from our 2012 guidebook and no longer include breakfast- additional 2usd each)
To get there, many other nearby guesthouses tried to get us to stay with them, but we were glad to have stuck with canh tien.
Room a little small, but clean & hot water shower. Had breakfast there one morning, delicious, but still slightly hungry (next day tried nearby restaurant instead).
Very friendly, polite and helpful family-run guesthouse; tended to be quite "pushy" with their own, services and tours but not to the point of harassment, which happened elsewhere in Vietnam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
33
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This guest house is located in the Hue city center. It is very convenient. Room is quiet and clean. The staff offers bike tours although we did not take it as we rented a bike to go around.

Hue attractions are quite spread out, so having a bike certainly helped in visiting the various UNESCO sites. Canh Tien is nicely located with many amenities nearby. In fact, the Vietnam Airlines office is just across the main road. Just nice to confirm your tickets if you fly VA.

Good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our time there and could recommend it. The location is perfect and the rooms were spotless and sizeable. You can also hire bicycles and motorbikes from the guesthouse at reasonable prices. The family who run the place are lovely and always willing to assist with anything you need. They were more than happy to arrange pick up from the station and also the bus onto Da Nang at very small fees.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely family who runs this. They are very friendly and so are the staff. I did not find them eager to sell me trips which was good. Rather, if I wanted to go somewhere, I would just ask them and they would help me with it. There is always someone around who speaks English so no worries there.
I caught the flue while staying in Hue and the staff would bring me warm tea the days I was sick and didn't even charge for it. They also asked me every day how I was feeling and actually looked like they cared. So the staff was extremely nice but at the same time professional.
Our room was nice and clean. Good value because we paid ten dollars per night. Just watch out not to leave anything sweet or edible on the floor because then, as in everywhere in Vietnam, you'll have loads of ants coming to the room.
The only negative thing I can say about the room is that the sink in the bathroom was leaking. Út that did not bother us. They also come and clean the room every day and change the sheets... That doesn't happen too often in southeast Asia when staying at a place like this.
Didn't try the food there so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I called them from the train short before (late) arrival in Hué and Mr. Nguyên picked me straight at the station.. The hotel is very well kept, clean and fresh. If you like, Mr. Nguyên can either arrange for you or take you to excursions around. Truth be said, he is quite punctual and precise on timings, but the he has a good experience planning the visits around.. and with his help it goes .. precisely! I stayed 2 nights and it was an excellent location. I would recommend this guest house for a simple and gentle experience.

Room Tip: Le Routard mentions room 205 but actually it is another room number.. can't remember if 101 or 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We don't understand why Cahn Tien isn't in lonely planet. The staff was very friendly and they helped us a lot. The prices are very reasonsble and the breakfast ( not included in the price, but it was only 2 dollars) was good. They speak french and english. We really recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel offers central, great value spacious ensuite rooms, with air con and tv.
Its really clean, pleasantly decorated and well maintained. They pick you up from the station too.
Its all spoilt however by pushy, insistent staff wanting to sell you tours, trips and activities.
I had booked for three nights but left after 2 because of their sell sell sell manner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canh Tien Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canh Tien Guest house

Address: 9/66 Le Loi, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Canh Tien Guest House Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canh Tien Guest house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.