We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canh Tien Guest house

Canh Tien Guest house
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canh Tien Guest house
9/66 Le Loi, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 76 Hue B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great service, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Canh Tien is on a back street that contains loads of guesthouses. On the strength of the trip advisor rating we stuck with this one. The room was really nice, air con, fan, tv, hot water, everything we needed. Only downside in the room was patchy wifi.

Location good for evening, but a little walk to the imperial city etc...however it looks like that's the standard.

Service was really nice and friendly, particularly helpful booking transport and motorcycle hire.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
29
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This place was a little hard to find as it is deep down an alleyway. But this ends up being a positive thing since it allows you to stay at a good location without being right in the middle of the action. There was some noise in the room from the rest of the hotel coming through an open grate, but it quieted down by bedtime. Everything was clean and comfortable.
We were offered a motorbike tour by Nguyen but wanted to go out on bicycles instead, so Nguyen then offered to take us out to the Tu Duc tombs. We were glad to get him out doing some exercise, and he was a big help in showing us the way and helping us get over the fear of riding in the middle of the Hue traffic. He was also helpful in recommending a good vegetarian lunch nearby, eager to show off his English (good) and French (not so good, but trying hard!) and to help us with some Vietnamese phrases.
Compared to other places we stayed in Vietnam, the folks at Canh Tien were a little quiet and seemed set on providing set tours. Don't be afraid to ask them for alternatives for food, tours, etc. because they are very helpful once aware of what you like. Hue was the one place we wished we could have stayed for a couple more days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

This place was so clean you could eat off the floor! The room was pretty big and the bathroom was super clean as well. Several English movie channels on the tele. Bed was very comfortable. There was air con and the hot water worked very well. Great water pressure too, I have very long very curly hair lol. The staff was fantastic, they really went above and beyond. Would absolutely stay here again, and all for 13$!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

my view of hue was tainted anyway so the whole experience was affected, but the rooms were good value even though small, and the blankets were very small and made it hard to share a bed

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on 29 and 30 December 2011. I booked a double room a few weeks beforehand for US$12 a night and didn't have to pay a deposit.

The guesthouse is a 20-25 minute walk from the train station. It is down a wide alleyway close to DMZ bar (if you need to tell a taxi driver where it is).

Our room on the second floor was a good size and clean, with a screened window that looked over the neighbour's pool. The bathroom was clean and had that style of shower that isn't in a cubicle or tub and doesn't have a shower curtain or anything so it's easy to get water all over the bathroom if you're not careful. We found this to be the norm in almost every place we stayed in Vietnam and Cambodia. Wi-fi in the room was patchy but there is a computer downstairs if you need to use it.

The family were helpful and friendly, though they were happy to leave us to ourselves which was fine with us. They did encourage us to purchase a tour when we arrived, but we didn't find them to be pushy about it. They were always available and happy to help us with whatever questions we had, and the owner and his daughter/niece spoke good English so there were no communicaton problems.

We rented two of their bicycles for the day - no helmets, lights or bells which is pretty standard for bikes there. They were a good fit for me (5 ft 3) and a bit small for husband (6 ft 2) but they were fun and a good way to explore the town and the citadel. The owner even helpfully told us how much we should expect to pay when leaving bikes with an attendant.

We also rented their large scooter for one day to explore the pagodas and royal mausoleums a bit further away, which was a great way to get around independently. However make sure that you shop around if you want to do this as I think you can rent a motorbike/scooter cheaper elsewhere. Also, check if you will need to fill up at the gas station as we had to do this but didn't get a discount for returning it with a lot more gas than when we started.

It was raining on our second day there and they offered to lend us rain ponchos. When we came back from being out in the rain we made us of their laundry service (US$1.50/kg). Later that night we discovered they had stuffed newspaper in the shoes we'd left downstairs to help them dry out so that was nice.

In terms of location we found it to be a sufficiently quiet neighbourhood. Yes, sometimes you can hear the tv from downstairs but they didn't watch it until late at night. The location was also convenient - there are quite a few places to eat nearby and they are close to the main road by the river so it's easy to walk/bike/taxi to where you might want to go.

Overall we found this to be good value and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The room was very good: very clean with toilet, shower (with hot water), big windows, big bed and a good and quick service of laundry.
The staff doesn't interfer with the very good impressive. All the hotel staff is very kind, helpful and willing us to have the most pleasant stay in Hué.
Nguyen and his step brother propose to do a tour with their motorbike for a very interesting price. With this tour,we had the possibility to see almost every points of interests.
Mr. Dung (I'm not sure about his name...) was also very helpful and give us some good adress and indication for the rest of our trip in Vietnam.
Thanks to everyone in Canh Tien guest house, or stay in Hué was really very pleasant.

Canh Tien Guesthouse has been better than almost every hotels that we have been to while we were in Vietnam.

Thank you,

Julien and Elise
Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were disappointed by Canh Tien guesthouse. We were there for only one night as our previous hotel was full and we wanted to stay one more night in Hue.

The owner welcome us with a smile and then ignore us, expect to insist on going to a "friend" restaurant for dinner. The rooms were very basic which is ok but not for that price.The breakfast is not included. It is light and expensive (one pancake and tea for 40 000 VND).

Our rooms on the second floor were noisy. We could hear the two loud TV's on the first floor and the music from back buildings. We slept with earplugs.

We didn't have the feeling to be in a guesthouse. Minimum talk with the family and staff. Not good value anymore. We can find so much better adresses in Hue!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canh Tien Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canh Tien Guest house

Address: 9/66 Le Loi, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Also Known As:
Canh Tien Guest House Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canh Tien Guest house, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Canh Tien Guest house to your Saves list