We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse to your Saves list
Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse
12/66 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 83 Hue B&B and Inns
Shanghai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really nice stay at this guesthouse and would recommend it to anyone wanting a comfortable stay, in a quiet location with the nicest people you will find in Hue! The hotel is on a small side street/alley off of Le Loi about 45 min walk or 10 min taxi from the train station. I arrived late at night without a reservation having mixed up the dates but they were very helpful and let me right in. The room includes a nice breakfast with fresh fruit jams and choice of eggs, bread and drinks. The wifi worked fine, they helped me arrange a bike for seeing the city and generally made me feel right at home. A very nice stay indeed.

Room Tip: The room towards the front of the hotel are probably a little quieter as my room on the backside had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    34
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
87
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, and with construction going on besides a lot of other hotels in the area as of June 2013, this hotel's quieter location is a bonus. Our double bed room was clean but very small although it did have a balcony. I felt the price ($12 no breakfast) was still a little expensive for the size of the room. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I only stayed here two nights but the owners were incredibly friendly and helpful and it felt like home for the short time I was there. The guesthouse is located a short distance up an alley off the rather busy Le Loi street. As such it is quiet but conveniently located to the citadel in Hue, as well as the local backpacker bars and restaurants. The room was very large and came with a spacious balcony with a great view of the bustling alley below as well as some partial city views. The owners were very helpful in suggesting places to see and arranging a taxi for me. They even gave me small present when I departed which was sweet. The room it self was basic but comfortable and I would have no hesitations in recommending this guesthouse as a base for exploring Hue. My only suggestions would be to bring your own towel (as the towels they provide have seen better days) and ask for a room with a fridge if you want cold drinks. But these were very minor detractions for an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Overall value for money score: 7/10

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high with a balcony - and a refrigerator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here! It was short, but very sweet!
They first have all 6 of us drinks when we arrived, and when we left they have each of us presents!
They were kind and sweet, we loved our stay at phong lan!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Travelling with a1 year old and a 3 year old is a challenge. The family that runs this guesthouse makes life easier. Very very friendly! Their family room was more than sufficient for the four of us. Location is ok. About 15 minutes walk to the citadel and about a 10 minute walk to the market. The guesthouse lies in an area with a lot of restaurants.

Staff: thanks for a great time!

Would stay here anytime!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were really impressed by the kindness and generosity of the staff. When we arrived they gave us some strawberry juice and a map with all the sites of Hue on it. They recommended places to eat which were great, and when we left the owner gave us both a bracelet! The rooms were quite small but really nice and clean and the breakfast was yummy with homemade jam. I'd definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 1 night as we were passing through Hue to Hanoi. We chose this guesthouse based on tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed at all! We got a free upgrade because our room was not ready when we arrived. The stuff is very helpful and really go an extra mile to make their guests feel very welcome! They always greet you with a smile :) Great location, easy walk to Imperial City. Many good places to eat nearby.
And yes, jams are amazing!!! Thank you, Wild Orchid!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse

Address: 12/66 Le Loi Street, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse Hotel Hue

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phong Lan (Wild Orchid) Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.