We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people watching spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Tuna Bar & Restaurant

Hot Tuna Bar & Restaurant
37 Vo Thi Sau, Hue, Vietnam
+84 54 3616 464
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 185 Restaurants in Hue
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: European, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice people watching spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Sat outside and had a couple of beers. Great to watch all of the commotion around rush hour. The menu is vast and serves a lot of western dishes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    72
    57
    16
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Terrible tourist trap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Picked this restaurant as it was round the corner from our hotel and as we walked past seemed to have food that looked decent. Unfortunately this was not the case. The staff weren't attentive and service was slow. I order the Chicken Pho, but the broth had been cooked in beef and there were beef bits floating around (I don't eat beef) and then to top things off I found a piece of plastic in it! Also ordered a steamed rice pancake but it came out fried, would have complained but staff were scarce and disinterested. As we were eating most of the other patrons were tourists and they seemed to order western dishes like burgers, etc.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Just about ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Busy restaurant with tourists, but I have no idea why. Food is very mediocre and service is difficult to get. Pancakes however were quite good!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Distinctly average at best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Not a great deal to say about this place apart from it's run of the mill! I've had much better while even in hue and worse in and around Vietnam!

The price is what you'd expect so it's not like they are overcharging for total garbage but all in all it could just better!

Service was average!

All in all I wouldn't go back, much better places close by, looks the part at night but wouldn't recommend!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had dinner here twice - had to go back for the Tuna with Rosemary and mango salsa! Great prices for the quality of food, not all dishes we tried were as good as the fish but still of a good standard. Staff were all very friendly and create a nice atmosphere. I would recommend trying it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Tuna Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
Hue, Thua Thien - Hue Province
 

Been to Hot Tuna Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Tuna Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.