We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, location and rooftop bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duc Vuong Hotel to your Saves list
Duc Vuong Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent value, location and rooftop bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at Duc Vuong for 3 nights and would absolutely recommend it!

This is the first place we have stayed in Vietnam and it was a brilliant start to our trip.

From the moment of our arrival the staff were so welcoming and friendly. They were always happy to help and always we're keen to make sure everything was ok.

This review is given in the context of the price we paid for is hotel - about £18 per night which includes breakfast - and also the rating of the hotel - if you want 5* then stay in a 5* hotel!

The room was great. It had everything we needed - comfy double bed, couch, hair dryer, tv, fridge with minibar. The room size was fine - not massive but not cramped either.

The location of this hotel is excellent! It is right in the heart of the backpacker district so very lively indeed. There are loads of cafés, restaurants, bars, shops and travel companies on the street. There are also lots of locals around so it doesn't feel just like a tourist street although it is obviously aimed at tourists quite a lot.

The rooftop bar was the best! Good selection of drinks and super cheap too!

Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
To our lovely guest,
Thank you so much for recommended our hotel service on this site. As any hospitality, we would always love to make absolutely certain about your inspiration as well your happiness due staying with us. it is brilliant and honor to know that you do like our service and to hear that we were the first hotel you have chosen to begin the trip.
It is lovely to hear that you did like the location of our hotel (tourist district is also sort of convenient for anybody, as well, it is great because this is adaptable city of Vietnam, you would see more mixed culture in this backpacker area since a lot of tourists become expats who are staying in Saigon for working, but still really Vietnamese traditional culture and cuisine around the location)
As you have mentioned, it is definitely appreciated also really right that for the value you have paid, it is 100% reasonable or even higher for the service that you have been gotten/ accepted from Duc Vuong family. However, we are always keep trying to reach higher star and do not stop improving day by day for becoming a best family hospitality in Saigon.
Warmly hug and best regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    413
    118
    27
    8
See reviews for
115
362
111
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed a total of 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are small but clean and tidy. We were worried about the nose but being on the 6th floor, we didn't notice it as much. The service was great, the staff were lovely and the food and drinks from the rooftop bar/restaurant were delicious and good value for money. One of the staff members, Jade was delightful, funny and very helpful. Duc Vuong was located in the middle of all the action. Less than a 5 min walk to many of the shops, restaurants and bars and 10 minutes to the markets. Good value for money. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Director of Sales at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
To our dearest guest,
It is so great to hear from you guys and thank you so much for raising our professional service on this review. There are heaps of worries from customers when they make decision choosing the room in higher floors in our hotel, because of the noise (there is connection from the bar restaurant on 8th floor to the hallway of the consistent floors through whole building, thus it is always the worries to a lot of guests who have been to our hospitality). However, we have prepared a great anti noise glass in front of any room doors, plus in front of the area that is divided by hallway and hotel rooms, so it is partly stop the noise efficiently. Anyway, some of earlier reviews which mentioned about the noise were just mistaken by leaving the door opened during the staying time. Anyway, thanks so much for your comment about this major matter. Besides, our staffs are always trying their best to learn day by day to perfect the service in anyways. It is appreciated to your contribution big time in our hospitality. We wish you guys a lots of best wishes and hope to see your next reservation soon.
Many thanks and kindest regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

From jenny on reception through to all the other staff we were treated so well by the friendly staff. They were so helpful with information and tips on how to make the most of the city. Room adequate, bathroom slightly dated. Has a great roof top bar on 8th floor with reasonable drinks and great view of the city.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear friendly guest,
Thanks a lot for your lovely review about our hospitality today. Our service is always in the ready mode. Also as you could see, our family is serving guests fairly and welcoming all. Not only about service, we bring our heart into what we have made and serve, to please all the guest in highest satisfaction. It is great to hear that you love our 8th floor rooftop bar restaurant as well. We have ever stopped improving both hardware from the building to the decoration, software from staff professional skills and customer system. For your next staying, we certainly promise to serve you even better. Wish all the best to you and family.
Great greeting,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Point
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Rooms on the small side but very clean and comfortable. Wear your ear plugs as sound travels inside the hotel. Staff warm, friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast is great and changes each day. Central location with great bars and restaurants all around. Rooftop bar is fabulous and a great way to watch the sunset. Give or regards to Jade who made our stay memorable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear brilliant guest,
It is fantastic to hear from you. Thank you for your concerning us earlier since decided to stay in Duc Vuong Hotel to giving us a right recommendation. There is just a little noise from the road, the most thing in this backpacker area, thus earplug is always a brilliant idea for this, for next staying, we will produce earplug and eyes-cover to reduce inconvenient stay for you and all the guests here. There is lovely about your raising about our breakfast, staff attitude and concernable comment to our brilliantly beautiful rooftop restaurant. By the way, we will miss your contribution here and wish all the best to you all. Best wishes.
Best regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed for four nights and can't say really enjoyed it. Certainly clean, but our room was below the rooftop bar and the sound of tables being moved (or something) after hours was annoying. Anyway Bui Vien is noisy ordinarily (we added to it) so that wasn't the major problem and the 7th floor is noisy in all rooms I believe. What really annoyed was the extremely in-your-face Americanised friendliness of the staff (just didn't feel genuine). Maybe it's a British thing, but I don't want over-friendliness from hotel staff (especially first thing in the morning), just efficiency and pleasantness. After another 6 hotels in SE Asia where that was exactly what we got - efficiency and pleasantness - Duc Vuong was just too much. Because of a late flight we had to shift to the Bali hotel nearby for the last day (rather than stay hours at the airport) and that was excellent. Also final annoyance at Duc Vuong - asked to fill in review card on checking out, I did and folded it over, handing it back, at which point the receptionist proceeded to read it. This is not on; I've never been anywhere they did that. It's rude. Cannot recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hello Paul,
Thank you so much for your lovely honest review about our service on the tripadvisor. Thanks for your lovely contributing in our hotel lately. Firstly, we apologize for the inconvenience that you have been stayed in our hotel. We are so sorry that you have the room next to the elevator at that time, anyway we tried to reduce the noise from the elevator by organizing the anti noise door and anti noise glasses in front of your room. Normally, it could help pretty much about the noise, perhaps that time there is a mistake of leaving it open. Second, for the friendliness, to this business, we are really welcoming people, as well we just desire to show respect, plus our Vietnamese culture into our hospitality. As Vietnamese, we are friendly and really close to people around us to make contact and kindliness. If it caused annoying during your stay, we would be sincerely apologizing for that. We hope it was just a misunderstanding by culture and contacting between customs. Thirdly, direct review paper is just a form that we could illustrate to extremely show how much we care about you and your happiness for staying at our family. However, when you filled that review, it was just no complains about the staff, nothings were trouble, just only evaluated our star by 4 and 5 stars on the paper (somehow, it is sort of really kind to us, since we received this review without noticing in advance that you were not really happy). One more time, this is really sorry to hear that you do not like this kind of service, if there is next staying, we hope to please you more and we will give you another type of room in the middle floor of the building, as well in quieter area. We would love to see you and your wife back again to our hotel and have a better stay with us. Best wishes.
Many thanks and lovely regards,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I was here for five nights. The hotel is beautiful and in a peaceful part of town. The lobby was tastefully decorated and not eye jarring. The breakfast is great and the neighborhood it's pretty nice. The staff here can speak English very well so we did not have any problem communicating. The staff is hence quite kind and very cooperative people. The hotel also consists of a roof top restaurant complete with a bar. The view of the entire city from the roof top restaurant was a treat for the eyes. Also the bar was well stocked. The room was fine. The bed was comfortable though a bit hard for me. The sheets clean and fresh smelled. Our room was quite airy and we enjoyed staying indoors as well when we’re not out exploring the streets of Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear lovely guest,
Thank you so much for getting sometimes to cross us a great review. It is so fantastic to know that you love our lobby decoration and the construct of whole building. Also, this is totally lovely to see you came in our buffet breakfast every single morning during your stay with our family. As our work always to try best for making you happy, thus the staffs are putting their heart into the service which can show you the cooperation. Thanks for raising our staff’s knowledge and experience, also English is really essential in any kind of business in this international moment. We are often trying the best to get improvement in service and make you happier staying with us again and again. We wish you all the best and welcoming back in next trip to Saigon.
Welcomed smile,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

A highlight of a month in Vietnam - great location & facilities, comfortable beds and excellent service. This hotel will meet expectations. At Duc Vuong the motto of "We are Family" is more than a slogan - the staff live the vision and provide wonderful service to their "family"

Room Tip: Get up high for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Allan,
It is so lovely to hear from you. Thanks a lot for your staying in our hotel during such a long time and thanks to become one of our family member. It is so great to get the raising 5 stars from your side and to know that we were a process making your happiness through the trip. We will not stop improve to get better in service and in whole hospitality. We wish to see you soon for next staying. Wish all the best to you and family back home.
All the best lucks,
Jade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duc Vuong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.