We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duc Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duc Vuong Hotel to your Saves list
Duc Vuong Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Duc Vuong twice over the last couple of weeks, once on our way in to Vietnam and then again on our way out.

Each time the hotel's driver has been waiting for us outside Saigon airport, holding a sign with my name clearly marked. The vehicle used to transfer guests is very clean and comfortable.

On the first visit I stayed in a Superior Room and on the second I was given a free upgrade to a DV suite.

Each room was excellent, both in terms of cleanliness and quality of fit out. Minor maintenance issues (battery running out in room safe, etc.) were attended too immediately once reported.

The rooftop restaurant/cafe/bar is a great place for a morning ca phe sua da, looking out over the city below. It's also pretty lively in the evenings.

The staff at Duc Vuong are superlative, and seem really willing to go out of their way to help you.

I could go on about this place for ever, but suffice to say I will be returning on my next trip to Saigon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
We appreciate you took time to share your experience during your stay with us by highlighting our transfer service, excellent room,our service and The View rooftop bar.We have shared your positive feedback with our team members to strive further for excellence.
Thank you once more for patronizing Hotel Nikko Saigon and we certainly look forward to be of service to you again.
Best wish to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    470
    132
    30
    13
See reviews for
137
429
124
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, clean tidy friendly helpful staff, the breakfast is varied and plentiful as well as buffet they will make fresh ommlettes or eggs to your liking. They have a very whizzy toaster which i loved as i love toast.

The room was a good size very clean with a comfortable bed, there is a bar and restaurant on 7th floor with amazing city views it is more expensive than surrounding bars but worth it for the view. Exchange rate was 31,713 vietnam dong to £1 pound it takes a bit of getting used too but all part of the experience.

Hotel is on a busy, very lively street which is fun to sit and watch at night, the street sellers are a pain in the neck but you get used to it. vietnam beer is 12,000 dong and food is very good and very cheap. We would thoroughly reccommed this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 202 it was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
We are very thankful for your valuable remarks on our products such as our bedroom and service staff. It is because of supportive guest like you that we managed to improve our products and services over the year.It has been our pleasure serving you during your stay with us so we hope to see you soon in our hotel in your next trip to Sai Gon
Best wish to you and your family
Thanks and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just checked-out this morning, so this is as fresh as it gets.
We'd allocated 4 nights to 'do' HCMC. First night we had a drink in the roofterrace bar. Very cool place with great views. No entrance fee for non residents, unlike some sky-bars, and the drinks are well priced. Also ate here same night and found the food to be really good. Breakfasts have good selections that change daily. The French baguette is really nice, crispy crust with soft interior. Great with a coffee.

Rooms are a good size for the downtown area. Remember HCMC used to be a capital city, so these rooms bear up really well against London,Paris,Amsterdam,NYC. Especially when you consider how much you are paying.

As said previously, the service is fantastic. They demonstrate a real desire to look after their guests. Going out one night we mentioned to Reception that our shower had lost power. We were promised an immediate fix, or a change of room. By the time we got back two hours later the shower had been fixed. Nice one.

The Duc Vuong was instrumental in our decision to stay an extra two nights in HCMC without breaking the bank.

We booked a trip to the Cu Chi tunnels through them, and undoubtedly got the best tour guide on the circuit. Can't remember his Vietnamese name, but he is ok with the western name "John Wayne". Get him if you can.

The room we had was the cheapest, without a window. However, our bathroom had three small windows that gave us more than enough natural light.

Our Mekong Express bus from Phnom Penh stopped just around the corner from the hotel so you can ignore the pushy taxi/cyclo drivers. Get off the bus, cross the street, walk to the right until you hit traffic lights, then turn left and then right on Bui Vien. Dead easy.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms say they don't have a window. We had a bathroom window that gave us loads of natur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
We would like to express our gratitude to you for your words of appreciation on our facilities and services. It’s great to know that you love our The View restaurant which offered wonderful views of Saigon. Your positive comments regarding excellent service at the receptionist and the travel agent were shared to our Team members. The development we have gained over the year is because of supportive guests like you.
Thank you once more for patronizing Duc Vuong hotel Saigon and we certainly look forward to be of service to you again.
Best wish to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Duc Vuong Hotel offered a solid mid level option in the heart of HCMC. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout the stay, the rooms were large & clean though rather dated, affordability was reasonable and breakfast was reasonable though more fresh & less fried options would be recommended. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
Thanks you for sharing your experience at Duc Vuong hotel Saigon. It's great to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will try my best to improve our service to make you and our guest feel more comfortable when you comeback. We hope to see you soon in our hotel on your next trip to Saigon
Best wish to you and your family
Thanks and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We actually stayed here twice in April 2013, 3 days in early April and again for 2 nights prior to leaving Vietnam. We made our selection on the basis of other reviews, and we were not disappointed! The motto of this place is "We are Family", and they definitely make the effort to implement this.

The rooms are small, yet very cosy. The main point is that they are extremely clean, and great value for money! Service is great with a doorman always there to great you upon arrival. The staff behind the reception desk are always keen to help and quiz you on how your day is.

As for location, it is conveniently located smack bang in Bui Vien Street in the middle of Saigon's backpacker district. Great assortment of restaurants and bars all within easy walking distance.

We loved the rooftop bar, with nice and cheap Saigon greens and a shot of banana liquor (if you're game) and some snacks (chips or nuts). Great to sit down and watch the sun go down with a nice ice cold beer :)

The free breakfast was a nice inclusion. We loved turning up to breakfast and having the door opened, with a cheery (and if 2 people there, in unison) "Good Morning!". Eggs prepared for you how you like them, we preferred the omelette option, and a wide variety of hot food and fruit. A different selection of Asian foods for breakfast, but all excellent.

A welcome addition is the provision of water coolers throughout the hotel. Very handy if you forgot to purchase a bottle of water before bed, simply go and top one up!

On our last stop here they were able to provide us with scales to ensure that our backpacks were within our limit after purchasing the mandatory duty free alcohol.

Something I managed to miss on our first stay is the welcome board out the front which lists all the guests arriving that day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
Thanks you so much for taking time to share your feeling about your stay at Duc Vuong hotel. We are very glad when you feel comfortable and enjoy with us. Our team always try my best to improve our facilities and our service be better day by day . We hope we can see you soon on your next trip to Viet Nam
Best wish to you and your family
Thanks and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Chose this hotel based on the great reviews and attentive comments of the owner. It didn't disappoint. Great location, friendly staff and gorgeous rooftop terrace. On arriving from Australia we asked where we could buy adapters. Without flinching a staff member offered to buy us two for $2 and deliver them to the room. Staff provide helpful tips and maps for confused travellers! Will definitely stay there again on the way home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
Thanks for your wonderful comment and for choosing Duc Vuong hotel as your hotel choice in Ho Chi Minh city. We are delighted that you have such an enjoyable stay at our hotel, including the location,rooftop garden and our service. We hope to see you soon in your next trip to Viet Nam. Best wish to you
Thanks and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently stayed here for one night, and then left for a week while traveling. I informed the staff that I would come back after one week, on the same day that was also my 27th birthday. At the time I also mentioned I would be alone, due to some flight issues. When I returned after one week, alone, not only did the staff remember it was my birthday, they greeted me with a gorgeous cake with my name on it! It was so so sweet. They also told me to be at the roof top bar and restaurant where they planned to have a party. In addition, they secretly upgraded my room with no extra charge. Everyone was so nice and really made me feel like family. I had a great evening because of the way people treated me and I really recommend anyone who is looking for this price range hotel to stay here. They have a slogan, which is really true: "we are family."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duc Vuong H, Guest Relations Manager at Duc Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
Thanks you for taking time to share your feeling about your stay at Duc Vuong hotel. We feel so happy when you enjoy with us. We always try to make you and another guest feel like " We are family" as our slogan. We hope next time you can stay longer with us and we will have more wonderful time at Duc Vuong hotel
Best wish to you
Thanks and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duc Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Vuong Hotel

Address: 195 Bui Vien St, Pham Ngu Lao ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#30 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duc Vuong Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duc Vuong Hotel Situated on Bui Vien Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam Duc Vuong Hotel is one of the busiest tourists place where thousands of people from all over the world visit each year. Duc Vuong Hotel has easy access to many tourists attraction around the City. Duc Vuong Hotel was established in 2006 with 20 rooms, and thanks to our wonderful guests and excellent attentive staff, we have now proudly expanded our family friendly Hotel to 51 beautiful rooms. We also have added an additional location in District 10.Duc Vuong Hotel's goal is to ensure our guests always have a memorable and enjoyable travel experience. Our friendly and caring staff is here to serve you and we are more then happy to assist and arrange additional requests for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, celebrations and also any other group meetings or parties. We are family! Duc Vuong's unique, charming and peaceful Garden Terrace restaurant & Lounge, offers a serene place to relax in comfort, after a long day of site seeing and enjoying your experience in our exciting and busy city. Duc Vuong's Garden Terrace restaurant & lounge is a quiet place for you to enjoy a relaxing and delicious, fresh and memorable meal, hors d'oeuvres and delectable unique drinks, all prepared with care by our phenomenal bartender and chef. This is also a brilliant place to view the sunrise, sunset and of course the very radiant moonlight! You will be amazed at the stunning view from high above the busy streets while experiencing the city lights and radiant moonlight The spacious, inviting visitors lounge always has fresh flowers, fruit and hot tea for you and your guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Duc Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duc Vuong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duc Vuong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.