We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luan Vu Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luan Vu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Luan Vu Hotel
35/2 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were really pleased with the service we received. We arrived at 5.30 am after getting off of the night train and were given a warm welcome. We had to pay for an extra half a day to go straight to a room and have a nap but we didn't mind doing this after a bad night on the train. The Luan Vu is off a little side street which makes it nice and quiet at night and easy to get to the bars and restaurants nearby. You get wifi in the rooms although it is pretty slow at times. The rooms are spacious and very clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    80
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
74
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The manager gave very fast and helpful responses when you inquire online. She attends to clients really good via email.

I asked for early check in because would arrive from siem riep at about 9-10 am. 11 o'clock we arrived at the hotel and the room was ready. It's just that they gave us the second floor while the previous agreement we will be given a room on the 1st floor, as we requested early check in and seem that this is the ready one so no problem for us.

What surprised is not like the other places we stay when they tread us like family it seem there is a gap between the staff and us. Men staffs are friendlier than a female staff that no smile and always looked away when she saw us and make us uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at Luan Vu hotel for two nights and would definitely come back. Service at the reception is super friendly and helpful. We loved our room which was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in the midst of crowded backpacker area, but because it's in a small alley you don't hear the noise from the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you have problems walking stairs, because there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here last Nov. 23-27, 2012: We were 19 (colleagues and I).

These are the things I love about Luan Vu hotel and Nhat Thao Guesthouse:
1. Mr. Cam Thi (the owner) is very responsive to emails. He gives assurance that all of the things you communicated with him are met. Like the pick-up service from the airport. We arrived there at around 1:00 AM and he never failed to provide a taxi service for us.
2. The staffs are very accomodating especially Thao (the beautiful receptionist). She speaks English fluently and always happy to answer our questions.
3. Since our group was too big, Mr. Cam Thi had to transfer 6 people (including me) to Nhat Thao Guesthouse which is right beside his hotel. It was OK with us since we received the same service and price for the rooms.
4. Though we were in different hotel, we were still allowed to have breakfast at Luan Vu. My favorite is sausage+egg+coffee+unlimited toasted bread.
5. The rooms (both Luan Vu and Nhat Thao) are clean. They give new towels everyday. The a/c works well. Excellent wifi connection (yes even when you're inside your room). Most importantly, the bathroom is clean with hot&cold shower ^_^
6. You need to pass through an alley before getting to their hotel. For me, it's an excellent location because you won't be disturbed by the "busyness" of the street. It's quiet and comfortable.
7. All in all, Your USD10 per night is so worth it. I think it's already a great deal.
8. You can also book tours. We availed these tours.
HO CHI MINH CITY TOUR - US$10.00
CAO DAI TEMPLE-CU CHI TUNNELS - US$8.00
ONE DAY MEKONG DELTA
(SAI GON – MY THO – BEN TRE – SAI GON) - US$10.00
CU CHI HALF DAY - US$6.00
9. They have this policy (which surprised me at first but it's a good policy, believe me) that you have to leave your passport to them when you check in and will get it back before checking out. It's good because there are pickpocketing in Saigon and you wouldn't know if you could be a victim.
10. After checking out (our flight going back to Philippines was at 1:00 AM), we were allowed to leave our bags in their hotel while we're roaming around the city for free. We were able to take a shower too.

We really enjoyed our stay at Luan Vu and Nhat Thao. I will definitely choose this hotel again and of course I will surely recommend this to anyone I know.

Room Tip: There's no elevator/lift but it's not really a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were good and clean. Wifi is available and the staff were very kind, professional, could also help book tours, give information about the city and ensured you were well taken care of. I would stay in it the next time I return to Saigon

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled as two couples and found the hotel very accommodating by arranging for us to be on the same floor. We were on the upper level, and yes there were stairs, but we didn't find it a bother. The manager was very helpful, we decided to stay an extra night but as they were booked out, it was arranged that we could stay in a nearby hotel. The hotel itself was very central, clean, comfortable, and we would recommend it and definately return again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Don't stay in this hotel! The cleaning staff stole our money even if we didn't ask to have our room cleaned. I have an extra $100 bill inside a pocket in my bag for emergencies and when we came back one afternoon, it was gone. When we asked the manager, she insisted that it has never happened before so they didn't do anything about it at all. Also, they don't have any elevators and they put us in the fifth floor so we had to carry our luggage all the way up. It was also really tiring to return to our room
after a day of walking around the city. When we checked in, there was hair in the shower drain and one of the complimentary soaps was already open. That was really gross! I'll never stay in this guesthouse ever again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luanvuhotel, Owner at Luan Vu Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Sir and Madam,

As I explained to you already. You said you lost 100usd in your room. Why you leave 100usd out in your room instead of deposit at reception or keep it at locker?. Besides that in your room have Regulation said hotel will not responsibility about money or precious things. You must to know it because that is Regulation for all hotels in the world.

I ask you with me come to your room to check and find out you lost money at my hotel or other place but you refused it, why you don't help me to check your luggages, under bed..... with you?

I am so sorry if you lost money but please help me to check again your luggages or remember where you spend the money because at Luan Vu hotel since 12 years no one stay here lost anything. Thank you very much and hope you understand it.

Bese Regards,

Cam Thi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luan Vu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luan Vu Hotel

Address: 35/2 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 189 Specialty lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms with LCD screen, cable TV, desk, coffee/tea maker in each room. Luan Vu hotel has room service daily, business center, wifi at lounge and room, airport transfer. With a full range of popular amenities and a friendly, caring staff, it's no wonder guests keep returning to Luan Vu hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Luan Vu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luan Vu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.