We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpfull staff,breakfast and simple dinner included...good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madam Cuc 64

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Madam Cuc 64 to your Saves list
Madam Cuc 64
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   64 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, helpfull staff,breakfast and simple dinner included...good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and felt like at home. Very helpful staff and very clean rooms. Anything you need just ask at the reception and they won't hesitate to help. The best location you could have in Ho Chi Minh and prices are reasonable. I would definitely recomend it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
11
51
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Good location, but our room wasn't that great, really thin mattresses that are rock hard and very old.. As was the air-con that was really noisy and blew warm air, so not the best night sleep Iv had by a long shot.. And at $20 you can get a lot better..

We were meant to stay for 3 nights but left after the first and moved to vinh chung, around the corner, this one isn't on trip advisor.. But it's $15 far quieter as its in an ally way, far cleaner and comfortable beds. Would recommend..

Just got the feeling that madam cuc are living on a false reputation for being lonely planets top pick... Not the worst stay in the work but definatly not the best.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms here were clean and spacious with hot showers and all the amenities you need. Staff was friendly and accommodating, and most of them could speak relatively good English.

Rooms go for $20 to $25 which isn't bad. You could get cheaper rooms elsewhere but it's nice that they provide breakfast and dinners, as well as unlimited coffee and tea. Breakfast consists of bahn mi and scrambled eggs while dinner was what seemed like instant noodles and vegetarian spring rolls.

The location is right in the center of the backpackers district and surrounded by bars and restaurants, so it's good if partying and being able to crawl home is what you're after, but it's quite noisy at night.

I preferred staying at Madam Cuc 127 which is just a street away. It's close enough to the action but farther away from the noise.

Room Tip: get a room that's not on the street side as it can get pretty noisy until quite late
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Clean, basic rooms, really nice staff. The girl who worked the front desk, though she seemed a little cold at first, we realized she's got a great sense of humor and a great attitude once you start getting to know her. She was really helpful in booking buses etc.

You get a small breakfast and dinner included, which never really sustained us but the breakfast was a great get-you-out-the-door kind of thing and the dinner we used as an afternoon or late night snack. We took advantage of this most days and really liked having it since we were on a pretty tight budget.

As others have said, if you want to be in the backpacker area this hotel is perfect. If that's not your scene, you may not enjoy this as much since it is in the busy thick of it.

Room Tip: Get a room lower down if you can because the stairs to the top can be pretty exhausting after a long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Madame Cuc has three Hotels and we had previously stayed at Hotel 127, with absolutely excellent, friendly service and a small market place down the road.

However we found that staying at Hotel 64 the music in the neighboring nightclub pounded through the walls. Although I would not usually by bothered by noise, this went till about 4 in the morning and I could listen to the words of the pop songs. We had booked for four nights but left the following morning because we had had such a bad nights sleep.

Again I would like to stress that I recommend checking out Madam Cucs 127 Guesthouse, as they have the friendly service without the noise. They also have a tiny pet chihauha there which walks around the foyer. It's so tiny it can't climb up the stairs. I suppose if you don't like animals that might be a problem but we love them so it wasn't a bother :).

Breakfast is basic (bread rolls, butter jam and some watermelon) + tea. So I'd recommend going out and getting some fresh and zingy street food for $1 instead :).
I can't remember exactly what was on offer for dinner but we came in late (10pm) one night and they happily fried us up some little spring rolls which were filled with rice or something. Plus there was also instant noodles on offer with broth. Simple but filling if that's all you need.

With the breakfast/dinner... we actually found that most cheap hotels provided very simple meals for foriegners... Don't bother with them if you're on a culinary adventure ;)

Room Tip: Stay in the back rooms and on the higher up levels... We stayed at level 3 but could still hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I think the header says it all!
the rooms are basic and clean, when we were there they offered complimentry lemon juices and brakfeast + dinner. the food was nice and the service was very welcoming and helpfull.
the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very satisfied with our experience at Madam Cuc's 127 in HCMC/Saigon. Extremely friendly and helpful staff who spoke good English, clean spacious rooms and free yummy breakfast. Great location too. Excellent value for the price. Our room for the two of us was very decent, had a fridge and A/C and was a bargain (like most of Vietnam) at US$25/night. Located in the heart of the tourist and nightlife district and easy to walk from there to other sights and experiences.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madam Cuc 64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madam Cuc 64

Address: 64 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madam Cuc 64 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Madam Cuc 64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madam Cuc 64 Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madam Cuc 64, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.