We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - probably could do better for same price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue River Hotel to your Saves list
Blue River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average - probably could do better for same price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location is great, and the room was reasonably quiet, down an alley off the main street. And the staff were kind, helpful, and pleasant. However, my room #303 was quite shoddy, the walls were filthy, dirty and in desperate need of a scrub and new paint. Faucet was completely loose, shower faucet barely worked, towel bar almost ready to come off the wall, and mirror shelf barely attached. Computers were very slow. The breakfast area only 2 tables, and the food not so great. I think you could get much better place for this money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    197
    55
    16
    18
See reviews for
70
223
87
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We made our original booking online before leaving Australia. It was for 3 nights. Upon arrival we were advised that we would have an upgraded room the first night then have to move. Hard to understand with a confirmed booking but we went along with it. Hotel obviously recently done up and slightly unfinished. Nice enough - no elevator but plenty of help with luggage. Friendly staff and reasonable breakfast.
When we checked out to go to Hanoi for a few days we booked for a further 2 nights upon our return. We left one bag in storage there while away. When we returned the booking had not been made and the motel was fully booked except for a room on the first floor - not sure why this room is not usually used but it was perfect (only 1 flight of stairs).
The day we left to come home, we checked out and left our luggage. We then returned, showered and headed for the airport.
So, all in all, the rooms in this hotel are about average for this area and price, great staff but booking system unreliable confirming some of the feedback from other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great hotel. The hotel is located in relative silent and small road quiet.!the room is so clean
with bathroom .has good air condition,safe box in the room.

Staff is helpful.breakfast is so cool and change day by day with nice banana pancake.fried rice.fried egg.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Have had 4 holidays in Vietnam, and have stayed at the Blue River Hotel at start and finish of each holiday (8 stays in all)..Have found the hotel ideally located in District 1 (most sights within easy walking distance)..Hotel is quiet,clean,comfortable,and well run by friendly staff..Highly recommended for relatively short stays.

Room Tip: Worth the extra few dollars for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked prior to arriving in HCMC. A confirmation email apparently isn't a confimed confirmation?! Even though we booked a week before and they told us they would email back if they had any problems with the room we booked.

We arrived a week later and reception staff made us wait 15 minutes saying they were getting the room ready. After 25 minutes we left the reception staff kept changing their story as to whether our room was free which turned out to be taken and the hotel was fully booked. We moved to a hotel 2 doors to the right (as you walk out) v friendly staff and free wifi clean rooms.

When returning to Blue River Hotel that evening to ask if we could book for 2 nights time the receptionist said yes (double checking it was a CONFIRMED booking, he said it was). When we arrived after a trip we were tired and after waiting again, the reception staff changing their story again, they had not reserved a room and they did not have any available.

Overall awful experience, complete waste of time and not trust worthy atall. Would never go back or book with them again. But lots of hotels along the road for cheaper prices so walk along, wouldnt waste time at Blue River Hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have been staying at the Blue River on every trip to Viet Nam. The mini hotel is tucked on the quiet alley (which is very much needed at the end of the day) and you won't have any problem to get a cab or motorbike "om". The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Miss Chi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

For 5 years I have been staying at the Blue River on my trips in and out of HCMC.The owner undated the hotel a year ago and it looks great.With breakfast included and the ever helpful staff able to work miracles on any request you have this place is a winner.Tucked into a quiet safe alley the Blue River is a step above the competition at comparable pricing and the web-site is easy to use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Address: 283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is a newly built and refurbished hotel which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international and welcome atmosphere. All room offer a choice of queen or twin beds, window with nice view, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV, free wifi, in-room safe, private bathroom, hair dryer.Whilst the room rate is budget, the facilities are clean and definitely comfortable, with a light breakfast included and friendly staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to help with tour bookings, hire cars, taxi’s and any other help you may require.Every room has a private bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV with international channels, wireless internet access, IDD telephone and in-room safe.Blue River Hotel take pride in pampering our guests with service such as safe deposit box, luggage storage, laudry, DVD players as request and airport pickup & transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.